Ratings based on 629 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Guam

Very nice hotel in a very nice neighborhood

Posted May 11, 2017
Near subway, family mart, 7-11 and plenty of restaurants. Friendly staff, free breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great hotel

Posted May 10, 2017
Pros: English speaking staff, climate control worked well, nice cafe/outdoor seating area, great location
Cons: wifi could be better
Location: There's quite a few nice restaurants close by and the Japan Post office is literally next door for cash withdrawals. Train station super close
I stayed two weeks. This place is an excellent budget option. The front staff speaks fluent English. That's so great because it just makes everything go much smoother and efficiently. The climate control actually worked. I've found a lot of Japanese hotels do not have great climate control. I liked the restaurant and outdoor seating area. Also a pretty good location close to central Tokyo. Although I will say the train system is a little messed up and getting back to Hatagaya Station can be a bit tricky. There was washer/dryer available for use. Tradeoffs for the budget accommodation: The room was super tiny but I got used to it. Wasn't a problem. The toilet has no bidet. Had to use toilet paper like back home. The wifi was a bit spotty. But you should be renting a pocket wifi anyway.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alaska

Traveller's hotel

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Pros: 3 beds in a room available.
Cons: food.
Location: 2 stations from Shinjuku. A visit to ShinjukuGoen park is worthwhile.
This is definately a traveller's hotel, with the feel of a hostel. Cheap for Tokyo. The staff was pleasant and the room was clean. Breakfast is included...drinks and toast with jam. The food was only mediocre, so I suggest eating out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bangkok

Posted Apr 24, 2017
close to subway station and only 2 stations far from Shinjuku. Sakura public park at front of hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Clean bedroom and bathroom. Friendly and helpful staffs. Simple but adequate breakfast buffet. Short walk to train station and grocery shops. Quiet neighborhood away from tourist traps. Nearby restaurants used by locals.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tokyo

The goods and the bads of affordable hostels

Posted Apr 10, 2017
The hotel is easy to find and close to the station. There are shops, restaurants, and parks nearby which makes it convenient. Also, the 24 hour cafe offers good variety of food which includes halal food (the descriptions in the menu are funny!) but the room smells a bit funky and feels a bit dirty. In addition, it was a bit noisy specifically the guests, cars, and surprisingly even the AC.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tokyo

The goods and the bads of affordable hostels

Posted Apr 10, 2017
The hotel is easy to find and close to the station. There are shops, restaurants, and parks nearby which makes it convenient. Also, the 24 hour cafe offers good variety of food which includes halal food (the descriptions in the menu are funny!) but the room smells a bit funky and feels a bit dirty. In addition, it was a bit noisy specifically the guests, cars, and surprisingly even the AC.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Tremendous Bargain

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Pros: Comfort, convenience, service, neighborhood, breakfast.
Cons: None.
Location: Area is full of cheap but tasty eateries - noodles, rice bowls, sushi, Indian, Thai, etc., even McD's. Also 300 yards from metro station.
Am hesitant to even write a review because true gems of bargains are worth keeping to one's self, but here goes... If you think Tokyo is over-priced, this is the hotel for you. You can't beat the price/performance ratio of the Sakura hotel in Hatagaya. It's very conveniently located with easy access to tasty local eateries and transportation, rooms are very clean and comfortable (just don't expect the spaciousness of a U.S. hotel in Japan), and though the included breakfast is bare bones (coffee and toast), every morning they also serve an excellent soup which is a treat in itself. Very highly recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bkk

Love it.

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Every thing about the hotel is very good. There is a many restaurants around the hotel. The one I love is Thai restaurant (Spice Market).
2 out of 5
by Howard

Not many positives..

Posted Dec 27, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is conveniently close to Shinjuku and the rooms are not extremely expensive (although not cheap either) but that's about its only saving quality. The building seems run down, there's no locals staying here (at least I didn't see any during the two days I was there), the breakfast is very basic, and the room is extremely dirty. I woke up with a sore throat the two days I was here as did my friend. On our second day we found bugs crawling on the bed and on our clothes in the room. I've got video of the bugs although I'm not able to upload that here at hotels.com (maybe youtube is a better venue). There were stains all over the hall ways and the laundry machines were unusable the day I needed to use them. I was sneezing, coughing, tearing up and having allergic reactions during the next week while I was on business in Tokyo after staying here. Not a good experience.