Ratings based on 172 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, WA

Luxury Hotel close to Tokyo Station

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Pros: Close to Tokyo Station, thus lots of travel options available to areas around Tokyo.
We stayed here twice during our week trip to Japan. Enjoyed every moment of our stay. Very up to date rooms, attentive staff. Would go back to this hotel again and try others within the chain.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Perfect hotel, great location.

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Pros: See above
Wonderful Hotel. The gorgeous lobby has a distinct perfumed smell. Our room was large -- huge King bed. Much wider than an American King. They think of everything: Terry cloth robes and kimonos to lounge in. USB port by the bed to charge your phone. The lights and the curtains are easy to control from the bed. The desk has a "technology kit" to hook your computer to the TV. A stationery kit with scissors, stapler and tape. Instead of a useless mint on the pillow, they leave you comfy pajamas, slippers and a bottle of water and a glass on the night stand. The bathroom is amazing - smart toilet, soaking tub (with bath salts and a scrubby sponge) a shower with a huge rainfall head as well as hand shower. The best room service breakfast I've ever had. The eggs are so fresh the yolks are orange. The toast, croissants, homemade yogurt incredibly fresh and delicious. Literally next door to the Tokyo train station. If you let them know the train (car number and seat) on which you are arriving, they send someone to escort you to the hotel when you arrive. I recommend doing this because the train station itself is vast and confusing. But once you figure out how to get outside (and remember which exit to use!) you are a minute's walk to your wonderful hotel. We lost our way a few times but it was always easy to find the train back to Tokyo Station and our perfect room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kauai

Perfection!!!

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Pros: Staff and location!!!
Cons: Maybe the linens be checked before using on a new guest. ice on each floor for quest to use without having to call.
Location: Perfect location, plenty of restaurants and shopping if you didn't want to take a train or taxi, within walking distance!!
We had stayed at 2 other nice hotels during our trip to Tokyo. I wish we had stayed at the Shangri La hotel the whole 10 nights. The staff from the bell services, front desk and housekeeping, very professional, friendly and warm at the same time ( perfect combination) for service oriented business. The room ( deluxe city view) was perfect, the bathroom was my favorite!!! Shower and tub separate with both rain shower and regular shower heads! I will miss the tub as I made sure I took a tub bath using the bath salts. So relaxing!! The TV actually had English language shows (granted I did watch the same episodes for 2 nights) I did like the fact that it was in English!! As other reviewers has mentioned the amenities (soap, shampoo, etc) top notch!! The last reason I would stay here again is the perfect location! Right next to Tokyo station and a Daimaru dept store ( 5 mins walk)! The best hotel experience I've had in my life!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from monterey, california

Posted Dec 10, 2016
Great hotel great location. Large rooms and friendly staff.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 19, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

beautiful property and location, absolute gem

Posted Oct 18, 2016 on Orbitz
Location: The palace is a stone's throw, and the main tokyo station right below so you can easily access anywhere you can think of.
The hotel is simply put, stunning. Easily one of the top 3 I've ever been able to stay at, it radiates both tradition and decadence from the moment you walk through the lobby doors. The hotel is in a fantastic location just a few blocks from the imperial palace and right above tokyo station. The hotel room is amazing with a spectacular view of the skyline, spacious, modern and articulate but also traditional somehow. The service was unparalleled and our brief stay was just as memorable as any longer stretch at any other hotel, I'd absolutely recommend this for even just a single night to experience what I'd consider one of Japan's premiere hotels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 21, 2016 on Orbitz
The concierge was less than 5 star; all else 5 star
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Incredible hotel, first class ervice

Posted Sep 20, 2016 on Hotels
Breakfast buffet was delicious. The hotel room view was unlike almost any hotel we've been too - huge windows with downtown Tokyo view. The service was first class. We rented a pocket-wifi from the front desk for about $10 per day, which was very helpful while we were out sightseeing. This hotel was very impressive and worth every penny.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Great Hotel

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Fantastic hotel in central Tokyo with a great cocktail bar with views.
5 out of 5
by On Nai from Hong Kong

It's a very nice hotel in the most convenient area

Posted Aug 9, 2016 on Hotels
First time to stay at Shangri-la hotel in Tokyo. I usually stay at Andaz Hotel on business trip. Location wise: it's the most convenient for family and even business visit as it's in the center to everywhere. I came on business but also brought my husband and son (6 years old) as this is his summer vacation time. I went to work in the morning and returned to them after 3pm. The hotel has a nice swimming pool. So my son was satisfied. We didn't eat at the hotel's restaurants as there are million choices at Tokyo station which is just next door of the hotel. Also, we managed to rent a car at Tokyo station to go to a water park at Chiba. Apparently driving on your own is much more fun and cheaper than train. After returning the car, it's just 5 minutes walk back to the hotel. Perfect ne!!!