Ratings based on 267 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and clean hotel

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
My stay was amazing. Exactly what was expected and even more. New tea, toothbrushes and tooth paste, shaver, and even slippers every time i returned for the night. Not to mention the great hospitality and room service. The room was a little small, but everything one could need. Great location, literally right under Asagaya station, and it is a nice area to walk around.
2 out of 5
by Syhoon

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 5, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN USA

Convenientent location

Posted Nov 18, 2015
Pros: Location and convenience
Cons: Replace everything inside and improved daily cleaning.
Location: Right around the corner of JR Asagaya station and bus lines. Grocery stores near by and shops around it. Very good access to Shinjuku Station
This hotel needs overall update which include carpet, bathroom walls and flooring. The rooms need much better daily cleaning for the bathroom. The location of the hotel was the best!! Can't beat the convenience to JR station that Rapid Train stops during weekdays. The hotel staffs were very nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

A cheap kind of good

Posted Aug 5, 2015
Pros: Location and price. It was insanely close to a hotel, a market to get food, and was cheap for tokyo.
Cons: `Facilities? I mean some of the wood was pretty worn out but nothing that was offputting. It was just apparent that it wasn't brand new (ohhh nooo).
Location: Asagaya Station literally a minute walk from there. Nearby grocery + vendors was my favorite part.
I paid significantly less than most hotels while I was in Japan and expected a hopefully at least "Par" experience. Not sub-par and not over the top. The hotel is practically right under the Asagaya station (my gps search while there lead me elsewhere so hopefully 1 minute walking from Asagaya statino helps someone). It's about a 5-10 minute ride to Shinjuku where Tokyo, Ginza, etc on the east side are about 30 minutes or so away. As for the hotel, it was small but good if you're solo traveling like myself. It was comfortable, a little aged in that it was some wood with some scratches and whatnot in it but nothing that was deal breaking. I got what I paid for and for that to be the reason I paid so little was perfectly fine. I never heard a single train going by, but maybe I'm a heavy sleeper. There's a market just around the corner that has lots of food that was the most convenient thing for getting legit food if I got hungry late at night and didn't want food for 7/11 or Lawsons. In the end to summarize: You get what you paid for and it's still satisfactory. If you want ideal rooms, you're going to have to pay a little more.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Good hotel very close to train station

Posted Jun 5, 2015
Pros: Already said above
Cons: Sort out carpet stain and revamp decor
Location: Already said above
Situation excellent. Shopping mall meters away and nice arcade with everything. a few nice bakers nearby if you want a nice cake and coffee. A few train stops to Shinjuku. Very quiet and peaceful. Comfy beds and pillows. Linen changed every day. room a bit tired in need of revamp (horrid brown stains on floor tiles) Towels non too fluffy but this reflects in price and 2.5 rating. Plenty hot water and decent bath.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from wollongong australia

To smokey

Posted Jun 1, 2015
Not a bad hotel but room was that Smokey it was burning my eyes
4 out of 5
by Desi from Bellingham, WA, USA

Can't go wrong with this one.

Posted May 16, 2015 on Hotels
This place gives you a good bang for your buck! Great location, great service, located in an ideal place for a solo traveler. There are dozens of bars, restaurants, and shops within a minute walking distance to the hotel. Best of all is that it is located right next to the metro! Want a bike, they'll lend you a bike! You arrive early and want to leave your bags, SURE, they'll take care of you! Good price, Good location!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Excellent Location & Amenities

Posted Apr 28, 2015
Pros: Highly accessible by train, close to a wide variety of restaurants/shops. The room was clean, quiet & cozy-comfortable beds/well provided toiletries.
Cons: Would be amazing if there could be new hairdryers provided by the hotel, the head continuously fell off but it was still functional.
Location: Casual shopping for gifts, Quaint Cafes as well as Starbucks/Krispy Kreme etc. Great inexpensive local food available, Major Supermarkets around.
Picked Smile Hotel based on the numerous positive reviews from Expedia and it has certainly surpassed any doubts. Located extremely close to the Asagaya Station and easily accessible, as well as surrounded by a multitude of local cafes, supermarkets, Cosmetic & Drugs stores and even shoes and socks retailers, the location provided many opportunities for casual shopping and late night snacks. Safe at midnight to venture out nearby for convenience stores (Lawsons located less than 5 minutes away), streets are not completely empty and some local stores remain open with customers. The Hotel itself was relatively easy to locate, staff were helpful and friendly in providing transport advice and options in English. We received a non-smoking room as requested for our 7 night stay (2 female travellers). The room was quiet, clean, small but cozy, and well supplied with basic necessities, the beds were very comfortable. It was slightly warm at certain periods in the room as only the heaters were on due to the cold weather (End April Season, 15-22 degrees) but the temperature was just right for the most part. A high recommendation for individuals or small groups looking for an affordable and convenient location near Shinjuku Station (10-15 minutes ride max.) , would return to stay at Smile Hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

If all you need is a bed and a private room...

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: The price and location, coin laundry and breakfast are added bonuses for single travelers.
Cons: This is not really a family friendly hotel, it's not something that can be improved upon either, as the target is business travelers mainly.
Location: location and proximity to asagaya JR chuo line. Right next to it in fact. We barely noticed the trains, so noise is not a huge concern.
Business hotel located a few stops west out of shinjuku, It's clean, has coin laundry facilities, has a breakfast included option, and the staff know enough english to help you with most of your needs while in tokyo. Rooms are small, but don't expect north american sized hotel rooms, and especially for these kinds of prices. This is a room and a bed with a bathroom that costs slightly more than a capsule hotel or a hostel, but with privacy. As standard with japanese business hotels, body wash soap, shampoo, conditioner, toothbrush, comb, scrub sponge are all included free of charge, as is a tiny drink fridge.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Nice hotel close to Asagaya Station

Posted Apr 6, 2015
It's a generally nice hotel which is very close to asagaya station (south exit, turn right when you see Starbucks and walk along the covered walkway). There are a lot of Japanese restaurants and bars nearby. The single room is large enough for solo traveller. The vending machine on every floor is very convenient. You can take train direct to shinjuku and tokyo, just that you have to take some time as Asagaya is a bit far away from major sightseeing destinations. But it's close to 吉祥寺 which is worth a visit.