Ratings based on 245 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Nice Hotel close to Shibuya Crossing

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Pros: location
Very small room. Very good location, close to the subway and in an area with lots of shops and restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 13, 2017 by the b sangenjaya / Hotel Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share the feedback regarding your stay with us. The entire team is delighted to learn your positive experience, and appreciate you highlighted our great location. This area is lively with local residents but cam and quiet at night, and convenient to access Shibuya. It was our great pleasure to have you here, we all look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
4 out of 5
by Tyler

Last minute hotel turned out nice

Posted Apr 14, 2017 on Hotels
Last minute hotel turned out to be nice
3 out of 5
by Ka Fong Gilbert

Posted Apr 9, 2017 on Hotels
The room was very tiny although all amenities were available. It's not a good bargain for the price I paid. The worst thing was that the bathroom stank badly (literally) for some reason. The cleaning staff knocked and rang my bell despite the "Do Not Disturb" sign was displayed on the door. I would have been satisfied if the price had been more modest.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Exeter

Reasonable hotel I'm a great location.

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Myself and my wife really enjoyed our stay at the B. The best part for us was the location. Sangenjaya is small enough to become familiar with after just a couple of days and became a really nice place to retreat to after long days of buzzing around Tokyo. It's also big enough to have some great little bars in the triangle. We didn't try many restaurants in Sangenjaya but the ones we did were ok. There are many 24 hr shops/super markets near the hotel, as well as the carrot tower which is worth a free visit. Sangenjaya has the charm of feeling a little bit off the beaten track for tourists and feels a bit more like real life Tokyo. The Hotel is nothing special, the rooms were small but clean and the staff were friendly. The great thing about the hotel is that it is just a short walk from Sangenjaya station, which is really convenient for a connection to the brilliant, bustling Shubuya and from there the yamanote line connects you to the rest of Tokyo on a Jr pass. The Jr pass doesn't cover the train between Shubuya and Sangenjaya so we purchased a pasmo card and paid using that (400¥ish) pp each way. Overall the hotel was good value for money and even with the extra train costs it seemed to be cheaper than staying in the more popular districts on the Yamanote line. The Brookers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, Illinois

Quiet place away from busy Tokyo

Posted Apr 6, 2017
I stayed a week in this hotel which is placed by Sangenjaya station. Overall stay was nice a bit on the right side for a tall dude like me. Convenient travel, many restaurants around, mostly locals on the streets and good necessities in close proximity. Pretty satisfied with the stay and would definitely stay again.
4 out of 5
by Ilgyu

Excellent basecamp for Tokyo traveller

Posted Mar 31, 2017 on Hotels
As like most of Japanese hotels, room is very small. But room is very comfortable.(except for little cold) You can see Skytree, Docomo tower in the room and night view is wonderful. And staffs are very kind and helpful. Many restaurants, convinience stores around here and supermarket(SEIYU) is very close. You can get all you need things around this hotel. I think this hotel is very good choice for Tokyo traveller.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco area

Close to a subway station. Very helpful staff.

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Staff was very helpful in assisting me with transportation. They gave me subway routes. They arranged my bus transportation to the airport. They have a very nice complementary breakfast. The only negative was that the room was small.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 17, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OK because of the location, but nothing special

Posted Jan 26, 2017 on Hotels
Not much to say about this place. When we arrived after midnight, rowdy group of Japanese guys were yelling in the lobby and no one seemed to want to tell them to quiet down. Then we went to the 6th floor and could still hear them in the hallway. The hotel is basic, but being that this area is cool and doesn't have many hotels it's one of the better options. I wish people would make more hotels in this area, but I think the local residents are pretty against it. Bed was comfy. I liked the free coffee and that there is no curfew (also something that other Japanese hotels could learn from!)
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 31, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay at the b sangenjaya and providing the feedback. Firstly I am sorry for the inconvenience of the noise from other guests. I understand how uncomfortable the situation was even you arrived at late night after long travel. I would feel the same if I encountered the same situation. We should have called their attention soon to be more considerate of other guests. I shared your feedback with entire team not to happen this again. Nevertheless I am grateful that you found positive aspects on location, coffee and bed. As you mentioned our location is lively but calm residential area and close to Sangenjaya station with 2 minute walking distance. Many eateries and stores are found even in back alleys around the station, and the atmosphere of the area attracts many locals and visitors. Coffee at lobby is one of complimentary service we offer and each cup of coffee is freshly brewed. I am pleased you enjoyed it. Once again, I am sorry for the inconvenience at your arrival, and we could not make your hotel stay something special overall. We continually strive to perform our best to make hotel stay comfortable and enjoyable, and thus we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future. Sincerely, J. Ito Hotel Manager the b sangenjaya
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

2 minutes from Metro & tram station

Posted Jan 21, 2017
Pros: Very close to subway & tramline.
Location: Across the road from the hotel there is a 24 hour supermarket, department store which sells everything. Great for sushi & wine!
Small room but comfortable & clean with fast wifi.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 31, 2017 by J. Ito, Hotel Management
Thank you for your stay and feedback. I am pleased to learn you recognized our great location. This area is close to Shibuya and it only takes 10minutes by train, this allows easy access to exploring inner city Tokyo. I am equally pleased to learn you found room comfortable and clean. We continually strive to perform our best for comfortable stay, and thus we all look forward to seeing you again.