Ratings based on 211 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Seattle WA

Would Go Back

Posted Jan 28, 2017
Pros: Each night I asked for a bag of ice for cooling my hot feet. My request was fulfilled happily each time. That was above and beyond.
Location: Half a block away in either direction were JR lines. One stop to Shinjuku on either line. That was incredibly handy.
Twelve days at this hotel was bundled with airfare to Tokyo for an incredible deal. How did I do with my bargain? I got a private space with everything I needed during my stay. Nothing fancy but also nothing terrible or terrifying. I would stay there again as I now have my bearings. Note that the lobby is one set of stairs up from the street. I left my heavy suitcase at street-level and checked in. Then the desk person grabbed my luggage and brought it up the stairs. There is an elevator from the lobby level to the rooms. The bathroom was basic but the toilet was a Toto model with a heated seat and lots of water spouting options. I liked that I could control the heat in my unit. I had a remote control wand for the heater that was intuitive and worked instantly. Each morning I had breakfast at the cafe across from the lobby, that was included in my reservation—coffee or oj, fried egg, bacon, sausage and toast. It was just a fine way to start my day. Most of the guests were younger and international. It was not a business clientele.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Helpful staff and great location

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: Staff and location
Cons: I booked a double room and could only find 3 power points next to the bed. The number ofpower points should be increased and located away from the bed
Location: We found a halal kebab store very near Okubo station
Due to the peak period, I had to book 3 rooms from Expedia and one other website. I was delighted that the hotel was able to arrange the rooms such that we can stay in the same rooms for 3 days.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient & Value for the price

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Reasonably alright place to stay if don't "sleep whole day" in the room.Just 3 mins walk to Shinjuku Okubo station that convenient to most of the tourist spots. Foods around the hotel is just around & slightly cheaper than other main area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Bit small

Posted Nov 22, 2016
I've stayed at one of the Kpop and the bathroom seen a bit cramp. The picture on Expedia didn't show how small it can be. We had 3 people so the rooms was a bit small with our luggage. The bed were fine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Pros: This was 1 minute walk from the station. So conveniently close to shinjuku
Cons: Great value for the price.... will definitely consider for a return trip
Location: Very close to JR Yamanote shin-okubo station... close to everything
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Budapest, Hungary

Great Travelers' Hotel

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Pros: Staff, cleanliness, location to metro
Location: Near Yamanote Line metro, lots of small restaurants nearby.
Close to major metro line, good restaurants in area, hotel staff helpful and welcoming, no view from window, fridge but no minibar, no room safe, linens changed daily, room cleaned daily. Very good value for the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

In Koreatown not far from Shinjuku

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: Location, nice staff, restaurant located on premises offering a reasonably priced breakfast
Well located in busy thoroughfare not too far from Shinjuku and Shibuya. Lots of shopping and restaurants plus groceries nearby. Some street noise but not too bad at night.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Richmond Hill, Ontario

Nice hotel at a convenient location

Posted Sep 8, 2016
This hotel provides all the standard supplies as other hotels in Japan. Tooth brush, toothpaste, hair brush and razor. Located in the Korean town. It's near Shinjuku, so you will hear siren almost every night. However, there is no safe in the hotel room. The room only has one electric outlet but they provides you with a power bar. No electric outlet in toilet do you will need to dry your hair in the room. It is awkward if you need to make hot water as you will need to bring the kettle close to your side table as there is no other electric outlet in the room. They only provide you with one key so it is not that convenient if someone wants to get back to the hotel first when others are still out.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Not too great...

Posted Aug 17, 2016
We stayed at a few hotels as well as some people's homes while we were in Japan. I would have to say Tokyo Plaza Hotel would be one of the more disappointing places to stay. The staff was helpful and friendly, the kind of service you would come to expect from a Japanese hotel. Unfortunately, if you are looking for a clean and comfortable place to stay, this hotel is definitely not for you. The bathroom didn't look like it had been renovated in a while, the toilet and sink were tinted with a heavy yellow and hair could be found on the floor. The towels were old and fraying, but seemed like they were washed and did not smell. The bed was neatly made, but I did find a pubic hair laying on there upon arriving. A huge cockroach was found scurrying along the ground at night. Beware if you intend to carry along heavy luggage. The elevator to our room was located in the lobby, which could only be accessed by a flight of stairs.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location but facilities limited.

Posted Aug 12, 2016
The room is small for four people but understandable for a good location. The most disappointing element is the air-con takes long time to work and in a hot Summer day we were sweating for quite a while. And the hotel staff is friendly enough so it's a 3 out of 5 experience.