Ratings based on 419 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Walking distance to JR

Posted Oct 22, 2017
Close to shopping streets、Lawson、Metro、cafe……centre of Ueno. Lobby smaIl with many baggages, onIy one smaII lift, staff friendIy, aircon control good.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 12, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 4, 2017 on Hotels
The room was very spacious and comfortable. Although we originally had to book a room with one double bed, the hotel staff gave us a room with two separate beds as soon as they saw that we weren't a couple. I appreciated their flexibility and consideration. Also, the room has a bunk bed, which we used to put our stuff on and hang clothes. I imagine this would be a great room for a family with two (or possibly more) kids, or a group of friends. The hotel was a little hard to find, but as long as you know which exit (of the Ueno station) to take, it's pretty straight-forward. Don't use GPS-- just call the hotel or look up the information in advance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sam francisco

Great location and friendly staff.

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Pros: location, easy to access Ueno train station and Keisei line, great staff
Cons: change linens and also comforter cover after guests checked out.
Location: Ueno park, Keisei line to Narita airport, Ueno train station, close enough to Akihabara, Ameyoko street for shopping and walking, and much more.
Touganeya hotel is always my first choice. I would check the availability whenever I have to stay in Ueno, Tokyo. I love this hotel because location, convenience, great staff and cleanliness. However I was disappointed that I found the comforter cover wasn't clean. It had an order like rotten water on it, at the edge, on the right, so I used only half of the comforter. I've never had any negative experience in the past with this hotel, so I was shocked.
4 out of 5
by Andrew

Good, no Frills Stay with Excellent service

Posted Jun 2, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent service!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Orleans, LA

Comfortable hotel near Ueno JR and subway station

Posted May 26, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: The friendly staff and the facilities.
Cons: Room spacious.
Location: Near Ueno station. Lot of shopping and eating within walking distance.
The hotel is not spacious but with all facilities guests may need. The staffs are friendly and the traffic is very convenient. You can travel directly to Ueno station from Narita airport via Skyliner. Overall, I am very pleased with the hotel.
5 out of 5
by Tjalle

Hidden Gem

Posted May 11, 2017 on Hotels
To us, a "hidden gem" close to the JP Ueno station ( a five minute walk, if that). "Hidden" because it's not easy to find (we did a "dry run" a week earlier) and a "gem" because the hotel was comfortable and very quiet.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 31, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Room is not clean enough

Posted Feb 5, 2017
There has a cockroach when I went in the room Location is quite convenient Staff are very nice Just the bad luck to see cockroach on the table!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Everything worked out well. It was good experience.