Ratings based on 180 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Everything You Need Right in Shibuya!

Posted Dec 29, 2016
The Tokyu Stay Shibuya Shin-minamiguchi is an easy walk from the Shibuya Station minamiguchi (South entrance) gate. Shibuya Station is massive and complicated. You should get a good map of it before you arrive. It serves several train lines and underground lines and there are many gates on several levels. The Shin-minamiguchi side of the station has more office towers than shops. That’s o.k., though, as it is relatively quiet at night. You will feel very safe and surrounded with like-minded people if you find yourself walking back to the hotel late in the evening. Our room had a kitchenette that included a small fridge, a microwave, one burner (a hob), a large basin (sink) and its own washing machine! There are pots and pans, plates and tea cups, electric kettle, etc. All you need for some light cooking, or at least warming up some takeaway food. Our room had plenty of closet space and drawers to put everything away. The flat screen TV was large (and gets CNN), the bed was comfortable. Best of all, we had our own balcony! It wasn’t large, but we could step out in the evening and look over the Shin-Minamiguchi side of Shibuya, see and hear the trains going by, see the office workers head home and get a sense of what it’s like (sort of) to live in Tokyo. The hotel is just past a Family Mart. This will prove very useful if you stay awhile. The convenience store is open 24 hours and sells a bit of everything at reasonable prices (particularly handy for well-priced beer and wine!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South East England

Excellent hotel, recommended.

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Would definitely recommend this hotel. Nicely positioned just 5 minutes walk from the hustle and bustle of Shibuya but on a fairly quiet business-district side street. Has several excellent convenience stores right on the doorstep. Really helpful and friendly staff, understandably compact but very comfortable room, free wi-fi was fantastic, only one English-language TV channel (but then who goes to Tokyo to sit in and watch TV?), great facilities in the room. Loved my stay in Tokyo, and in this hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Would stay again

Posted Sep 13, 2016 on Hotels
A good no-frills option near shibuya but in a quiet neighborhood halfway to Ebisu. A nice location for exploring Shibuya, Harajuku, Shinjuku etc. If you're on a budget the kitchenette and the big family mart nearby are really nice to have. No-hassle trip to Narita as it's just a one minute walk to the New South Gate of Shibuya JR station where the Narita Express stops.
3 out of 5
by Ramon

Posted Aug 8, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is ideally located in Shibuya, a very short 2 minute walk from the JR New South exit which also happens to be one of the stops for the Airport Express service. The rooms are simple (if a bit dated), but are clean and unusually large as far as Tokyo hotel rooms go. A washing machine inside the room was quite a useful feature as well. Decent (though inconsistent) breakfast is served in the restaurant out front. This could very well be my go-to hotel for budget friendly lodging in Tokyo from hereon.
5 out of 5
by Melody from Philadelphia

Great stay!

Posted Jul 10, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed here for the first two nights of our honeymoon in Japan and it was great. The location is perfect and the room was larger than typical Japanese hotels. It's really convenient to have a washer/dryer in the room and the balcony was nice also. You can purchase breakfast in the morning for Jonathan's at a discount from the front desk. Shibuya is such a fun area and the hotel is extremely close to the new south exit of the JR station.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Pros: Proximity to important areas, and transportation services.
Cons: Language on the washer, and AC remote control, it is difficult for someone that does not speak Japanese, but it is not a big deal.
Location: Shibuya was very close by, restaurants and subway
It is small room compare to most of hotels in America, however, the proximity to Shibuya, restaurants and subways and JR rails, makes the different.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SG

Location is near JR exit New South

Posted Jun 29, 2016
The location is good, which is nesr the JR exit "New South exit". To take narita express to airport, just take enter from "new south exit" and platform 4 is there. I'm not sure about the alighting frm airport direction as i took the bus and walked quite a distance, yet still have to take the stairs of overhead bridge. In total i stayed 5 nights, i love their breakfast. There are choices of western and jap style. Surroundings are mainly offices building, so there will be office staffs around the area standing outside of family mart smoking area. That's the con, but i usually cross the road and walk and oppsite to avoid them. There are restaurants/ cafes (mainly using vending as ordering) within walking distance from hotel. As i stayed 5 nights they didn't made the bed for me, which is fine but they will change the towels daily. The washing machine is in the room, but wash + dry can take up to about 3hrs. They gave me a small pack of laundry powder, upon checked in. Staffs are friendly. Overall i enjoyed my stay there, will stay in this hotel again, when i visit Tokyo again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from JH

Really good

Posted Jun 23, 2016
Staff really polite and helpful some speak english as well which is very helpful. 100% recommend nice rooms and clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Good location, bad breakfast

Posted Apr 3, 2016
It was overall a positive experience. The location is great and the facilities are adequate. However we did not have much options for the breakfast as we are vegetarian. Suggest including a wholesome breakfast for vegetarians.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alexandra

Very convenient

Posted Mar 24, 2016
Was a comfortable room. It was clean and not too noisy for being in such a busy place. Having the laundry was great for traveling for 2 wks as I have been