Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Cozy Hotel in the mountains. Great breakfast!

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Stayed there for a night while traversing Italy on my honeymoon. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Enjoyed a nice dinner but best of all was the breakfast the next morning. Scrambled eggs and bacon plus a full spread. That wasn't common throughout Italy. Also our room had 2 bathrooms which was very convenient.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 14, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Michael from Buckinghamshire, UK

An excellent hotel

Posted Jun 12, 2016 on Hotels
We had a really comfortable stay at this hotel. Our room and bathroom were spacious, bed linen were crisp, extra pillows in the wardrobe, plenty of storage space and excellent wifi coverage. There is also a PC and a printer available free of charge near the front desk. There are plenty of comfortable public areas indoors and the garden is welcoming and well maintained. The breakfast buffet is by far the best we had on our recent holiday in Italy, with plenty of choice including scrambled eggs, fried pancetta, sausages, fresh fruit, cheese, home made cakes, croissants and lots more. We also had dinner in the restaurant twice and found the food really tasty and reasonably priced. Last but not least, we wish to mention the staff, who were all very helpful and pleasant. We highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Albany

Great value if a bit out of the way

Posted May 18, 2016
Pros: Excellent value. Superb restaurant. In the middle of Tuscany permitting daily excursions, assuming you have a car.
Cons: Staff could address loud guests without being asked to.
Location: Local mountain environs quite restful, with excellent hiking/biking routes. Bologna is a 75-minute bus/train ride away.
Excellent value for a very low price. Also has a superb restaurant with tasty local and regional dishes, superior wines, and attentive service. Breakfast buffet is generous. Interior slightly outdated but very clean and comfortable. A bit out of the way, up in a mountain meadowland, but easy public access to Bologna; will need a car for further excursions. The only negative was a shower stall that is rather small and had a broken shower head; however, the staff replaced the faulty head promptly while we were out. During our second day a group of Japanese visitors in nearby rooms were quite noisy, both late at night and early morning, disturbing our otherwise restful stay; a word to the staff remedied that.
4 out of 5
by Alireza

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 6, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Alan from Sydney

A Hotel Gem in the Italian hills

Posted Nov 23, 2015 on Hotels
A perfect hotel to have a break, car is a must but well worth the effort. Cannot fault this hotel it is a gem !!!
5 out of 5
by Heather from Pennsylvania

Relaxing place, quiet, fantastic breakfast.

Posted Oct 17, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed in this hotel during our travel from the Parma region to Tuscany. It was in a peaceful, remote location in the mountains. The town of Tole is quite small with not much to do, but it is great if you are getting weary from the big cities! The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Hotel restaurant is really the only one in town we could find, but the food was great and locals were also dining with us. The breakfast was the best we had in Italy with many offerings, complete with eggs and sausage.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best food ever

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Simple hôtel but great food. It is one of those places where you could find peaces and confort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Taste of rural Italy

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Pros: Good food, comfortable, free wifi, good service
Cons: I might have missed it but I couldn't find an email when trying to contact the hotel to check arrnangements for getting there.
Location: Savigno truffle festival in November. Scenic drives
Nice hotel in a small picturesque mountain village. Staff were very helpful especially the charming waitress who was very welcoming. The hotel dining room features regional food and was excellent with very generous servings- the homemade tortellini were amazing! The breakfast buffet was also very good. It would be a great place to stay if touring around in a car but otherwise there is a train/bus connection that gets you right to the hotel in Tole from Bologna although you would need to check the timetable as this is definitely rural and so not that frequent.The bus ride is incredibly scenic Tole is in the Vergato commune (district) but don't confuse it with the town of Vergato which is about 30 mins of windy mountain road away. I hired a taxi to get me to the Savigno truffle festival (25 Euros each way) and so a good option if you can't stay in Savigno itself for the Sagra del tartufi In November each year.The bar seems to be the centre of the community so a nice option if you want to meet local people.
5 out of 5
by Allan

The Falcon was truly Golden

Posted May 28, 2012 on Hotels
Falco d'Oro is a family owned hotel and it shows. The greatest care is taken to each detail and this makes a stay here very comfortable and enjoyable. The hotel is located in the little town of Tolé in beautiful Italian countryside. The town is the terminus for the bus to Bologna. The terminus is next to the hotel and the bus takes around 80 minutes or so to reach the main station of Bologna (read the timetable carefully as one of the buses only goes part way and it is complicated to then go from where you are dropped off to the centre). Back to the hotel. There's ample parking in front of the hotel and next to the bus terminus if needed. The breakfast is superb and much more choice than in other hotels we've stayed in, in Italy. The staff are very helpful indeed and have at least one Brit on reception although all speak enough English for most things. All in all we had a great stay and enjoyed touring round the breathtaking scenery locally. We can certainly recommend this well-run hotel to anyone wishing to be within range of Bologna but who enjoys the wonderful peace and tranquility of the countryside.