Ratings based on 538 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

close to historic sites

Posted Jun 12, 2018
Good central location, relatively quiet Great breakfast service
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Nice Hotel with Amazing Terrace Rooftop Bar

Posted May 24, 2018
Our experience at Hotel Carlos V was great! The room was nice, clean and cool (May). Staff was exceptional as well. The restaurant/breakfast buffet was an unexpected treat (a lovely dining room). Most of all, we loved the rooftop bar. The view and cocktails were a great way to cap off a wonderful day of sightseeing in Toledo. The only complaint is that the twin beds were a bit small; they could have been a bit wider. I would not hesitate to visit Hotel Carlos V on my next trip to Toledo. If you do choose to visit Hotel Carlos V in Toledo, grab a cab from the train station. Do not try to walk it as it is perched atop of the hillside which makes for a significant climb. Save your energy for roaming the streets of Toledo without your luggage.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, On, Canada

Posted May 18, 2018
We enjoyed our stay at the Carlos V. The hotel was extremely clean, bright and well lit. Our room was large and as presented on Expedia, In saying that, we stayed in Room 211. This room is a corner room with a king size bed. Other rooms that we saw while walking through the hotel had 2 or 3 single beds and were considerably smaller than ours. The room has a safe, a mini fridge, ample closet space (with clothes hangers), and a blow dryer in the bathroom. Amenities provided seemed limited to soap, and a bulk shower gel. Shampoo and conditioner are not provided (not necessarily a bad thing). Breakfast at the Carlos was decent and had lots of variety. Cold cereals, yoghurt, fresh fruit, eggs, cheese, meat slices, and an assortment of pastries. Juices, milk, and coffee were also available. As a vegetarian, I felt the breakfast more than met my dietary needs. The staff at the Carlos were efficient, but generally quite cool. A “late check out” request (after a 3-night stay) was met with rolled eyes and a scowl. The request was granted, however. Transport from the Toledo train station cost 10 Euros. Presumably this was due to area zoning and luggage fees, as taxis during the remainder of our visit were typically in the 5 Euro range. It was a 5 minute ride, and in the absence of large luggage could be walked quite easily. Finally, the Carlos V is perfectly located for a visit to Toledo. A quiet street, close to the Zocodover Square,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Princeton, NJ

Posted May 1, 2018
Great hotel with modern renovations in the middle of town, close to all sights to walk to. Great stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 15, 2018 by Milan, Hotel Management
Thank you
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Leandro, CA

Nice hotel in quiet area

Posted Apr 26, 2018
Close to Plaza Zocadover with shops and restaurants nearby. Walking distance to river via escalators at Palacio Congesso.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 15, 2018 by Milan, Hotel Management
Thank you
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 25, 2018
No problems Good location Make sure you use public escalators if on foot from train station
Comment from Hotel Management
May 15, 2018 by Milan, Hotel Management
Thank you
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wyoming

I might recommend this hotel

Posted Mar 21, 2018
Pros: Location, breakfast, price
Cons: All amenities should be open
Location: Few blocks from Cathedral and one block to Alcázar
Overall this is not a bad hotel, but it did have a few problems on my visit. For starters the hotel staff was efficient, but not overly friendly. The room was very warm upon our arrival and required opening the outside door to cool down. Problem with that was all of the noise outside the hotel at night. That being said the location was very good, the breakfast buffet was excellent, and the rooms were very clean. The price is also very reasonable. It should be noted that the rooftop hot tub and the restaurant in the basement were both closed during our entire stay. If this happens on your visit try Gino’s Italian restaurant a block away. Excellent food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Victoria, BC, Canada

Great Hotel

Posted Feb 28, 2018
Pros: Great breakfast
Location: Central, great city , lots to see within walking distance
We booked Feb 14, 2018 ( off season) breakfast included in our price for the night. All neat and clean, very appealing design, great breakfast (price included), the Jamon Iberica is a "must try" , it reduces you age and is reputedly cholesterol free. Try the Migas Manchegas which is great with scrambled eggs, Spanish-style bacon and mushrooms ( Foodies, eat your hearts out). Note that parking in Toledo is expensive if you can find it, but we parked on the street after much hunting and ran to the meter three times ( 5.25 Euros for the day via the parking meter). Note that the penalty for over-extended parking meter tickets is only 3.75 euros payable at any bank, still cheaper if you miss the last visit to your parked car..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 22, 2018 on Orbitz
Pros: Location is good and hotel is very clean and comfortable!
Location: Close tobeverything!
Great place to stay! Very clean and comfortable! Very friendly staff!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 11, 2018 on Hotels
We stayed for 4 nights. Room was large and had king bed and 2 bathrooms. Lovely large bath towels. We walked to all areas of city.