Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hotel. Great Restaurant.

Posted Sep 15, 2015
Pros: All facets. Room was charming and pleasant. Restaurant was beautiful and the food was fantastic (Botin). Location is perfect to access the city.
Cons: For us, nothing.
Location: There are escalators to the city on one side of the hotel. The other side of the hotel offers a gate into the city. Everything is within walking.
Hotel is easy to get to with very close parking (hotel discounts). There is short term parking in front, but often the lot is full. The hotel is literally just inside the city walls and is built on several levels, so bags must be taken up several short sets of stairs and across cobbled plazas and courtyards. There are no elevators or ramps. Rooms are older and very traditional, but quiet and airy. Our view was onto the courtyard. We also had an internal courtyard and fountain just outside our room. There was a very large and festive wedding party that was well managed by the hotel (or by the wedding planners). It actually added to the ambiance of the evening and our stay. Dinner at the restaurant was fantastic. The hotel is owned by Botin Group which is known for its famous restaurant in Madrid. If you want the famous cochinillo, I would recommend you eat it here in the beautiful calm garden restaurant here vs always busy Madrid location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Y

Stay in Toledo

Posted Jul 13, 2015
This hotel was very cool - part of the ancient wall and convenient to the old part of town. Comfortable and clean, good breakfast is included. However, horrible parking and no elevators, so you have to lug your suitcases up at least 1 flight of stairs!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Unique but needs updating

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Pros: Location near the gate to the old city. The courtyard.
Cons: Bathrooms, Closets, reception area, and a smooth ramp to roll the luggage up.
Location: The old city is right there.
The hotel charmingly located in the city wall, the hotel entrance is roughly 30 meters from the actual wall, and all luggage must be carried by hand (river stone set in concrete, that will break the wheels) and up many stairs. Our room full of old world atmosphere (heavy wooden doors, with heavy metal hinges and army units pictures for décor) was small, but manageable and the bed decent, the closet was impractical and the bathroom too small and rundown. We stayed two nights, and after the second night I realized that if the bidet was removed substituted by a washlet added to the toilet, renovation of the existing bathroom place could work and definitely upgrade the room. The hotel reception needs a face lift as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

We enjoyed it very much.

Posted Jun 14, 2014
Pros: It was quaint, old and beautiful.
Cons: softer matress
Location: Hard to get to with the one way streets.
some misunderstandings on room rates but otherwise it was very nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sam from Denver, CO

Lovely property...

Posted Nov 4, 2013
Pros: Hotel was clean and warmly decorated, full of character. The location afforded peace and quiet, but still close enough to walk to town.
Cons: Towels were somewhat on the thin side, and toiletries could be expanded to include things like conditioner, shower gel, and lotion.
Location: It is close enough to town center for shopping, dining, and sightseeing (Cathedral; Santa Tome; Jewish Quarter; El Greco Museum).
The hotel is beautifully and tastefully decorated. It is located just inside the wall and is a bit further from Plaza Zocodover than some of the other properties, but still a manageable 10 to 15 minute walk depending on your pace. The one huge advantage to being away from city center is the peace and quiet. We had a lovely stay. Only complaint--but a fairly minor one--is the bathroom in our room. The bidet sat directly across from the toilet, which left little room in between and made it kind of tight. Also, the toiletries provided were meager; just two little tubes of shampoo, which doubled as shower gel, and two soaps.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

lovely gardens

Posted Sep 20, 2013
a haven of tranquillity after the crowded streets of Toledo
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A peaceful corner of Toledo.

Posted Jul 20, 2013
Pros: Garden.
Cons: Breakfast.
A tranquil, green haven - a great base for a stay in Toledo. 10 minutes walk to cathedral. Lovely gardens with a quiet bar for late night drinks in the cool. Quiet location. Adequate buffet breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Henry from Caribbean

Great Location; lousy service - accessibility.

Posted Apr 1, 2013
Pros: Classic.
Cons: Service. Bags' handling.
Location: Super.
Parking OK. Handing bags is a big issue - you're on your own and many stairs to your room. Room service non-existent. Security box never worked. Location excellent - very close to electric escalators to the city. Expensive - not a good value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Toledo hotel

Posted Sep 25, 2012
Pros: It's beautiful, and convenient to old Toledo.
Excellent, lovely hotel, great location. It's quiet and the restaurant is very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Kennett Square, PA

Well kept historic hotel

Posted Sep 27, 2011
The hotel is in a great location - less than 100 yds. from the escalator up to the old city. Rooms are clean, tidy and quiet. The problem is access for older guests. We parked directly in front of the main entrance, but it turns out that is a public lot. There's no charge - we just tipped the man who watches the cars. If there's no space the hotel's lot is some distance away. And to get to the reception and rooms there are at least 25 steps - no elevator or escalator, and you have to hunt down a bellhop to help with the bags. Once you find one they are helpful and pleasant, but it seems a little too complicated. When we checked out early Sunday morning the desk clerk helped carry our bags to our car. Otherwise, a pleasant experience. We would stay there again.