Ratings based on 1,021 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kalamazoo, MI

Plenty of Space for the money

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Pros: The spaciousness of the suite. It felt like an apartment rather than a motel.
Cons: The furniture could be upgraded as could the mattress.
Location: There was a shopping center next to and across from the Suties and a good steak house next door.
Traveling for business, it was nice to have the space available at the Hawthorne Suites. While the furnishings were older, the suite was very clean. The bed was a little uncomfortable, but that could just be my preference for a softer bed. It was more than adequate for my needs and a great value at the cost.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Richmond, Virginia

Near my family

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: Close to family
Cons: Appliances were very old
Facility has no ice machine. When I called the front desk, they said to use the ice-maker in the freezer of the room's refrigerator. My refrigerator didn't have an ice-maker.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2017 by Crystal O, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced relating to the ice machine however we do provide ice-makers or ice trays in each of our full refrigerators. We hope the rest of our amenities met or exceeded your expectations.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Always have issues

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Pros: Convenient location, price is good
Cons: Rooms need refurbished and the kitchen amenities need to be replaced desperately
Location: Plenty of shopping and restaurants
This is my 3rd stay here and I have issues every time. The 1st time they assigned our room to someone while we were already checked into it! The second time I had to be reassigned a room 3 times because we wanted a fireplace and the guy kept saying the rooms had them when they didn't. Ended up with a suite the 3rd time which was nice. But had to wait for 15 minutes for someone to come to the front desk the 3rd time. The 3rd stay the room keys didn't work and had to get new. We've encountered fireplaces without the glass doors, dirty bathrooms, full dishwashers, full trash cans, unusable kitchen pots and pans because they were so gross. The rooms are in desperate need of renovations and cleanings. It's a good location and the rooms are comfortable and homey. But the front desk clerks need some training and more professionalism and the room amenities need replaced desperately.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2017 by Crystal O, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us. We apologize for the inconvenience but are pleased to see that you were happy with the room you settled in and found our hotel of great value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cincinnati

Home away from home

Posted Jan 28, 2017
We stay here every time we visit Family in Toledo
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2017 by Crystal O, Hotel Management
Thank you and we appreciate you as a customer. We are pleased that you enjoy your stays when you stop by and visit us at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Toledo Holland. Hope to see you again soon.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a reliable place to stay

Posted Jan 27, 2017
Upon entering my room, I found the bed stripped, unmade with no fresh linens. When I went to call the front desk, the phone by the bed did not work. The bathroom had no toilet paper roll and no bath mat and only one set of towels for a suite that was to sleep 2 people. There was a Sheriff's Dept car cruising the parking lot with a flood light on, looking for a suspect. I did not feel safe there. The front desk staff were nice and apologetic, but the place is a disaster.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2017 by Crystal O, Hotel Management
We apologize that our night security which is hired to ensure the safety of our parking lot made you feel unsafe. We apologize for any inconveniences you experienced and thank you for reviewing your stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, canada

Close to interstate

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Great little hotel right off the interstate and incredibly affordable. Bed was super comfortable. Breakfast was amazing. Staff was fantastic. I would definitely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2017 by Crystal O, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to share your positive opinion regarding your stay at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Toledo Holland with others. We are pleased that you were able to get a comfortable nights rest and enjoy our hot breakfast buffet prior to your departure.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dont Do It

Posted Jan 21, 2017
Room number was taped to outside wall with fluorescent green duct tape. Refrigerator was filthy. Bathroom door would not properly close shut. Leaves and two fly swatters on floor of closet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2017 by Crystal O, Hotel Management
We apologize that your stay did not meet your expectations. Thank you for taking time to review your stay as we will use your comments as part of our continuous improvement.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from oklahoma

NOT CLEAN, BUGS, and sketchy!

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Pros: Young man at front desk was very pleasant. Not Knowledgeable but pleasant. They leave small bottles of dish soap which is incredibly helpful. Thank y
Cons: CLEANLINESS!!!!! Vacuum PLEASE! Fix stove top burners so they can be used. SPRAY for bugs. Provide trash bags for trash cans.
Location: Tons of shopping and restaurants. EASY access to highway and turn pike. I was here for business so I am not sure about leisure activities.
Before I get into my experience I want to talk about the BUGS! I came back to a long day at work to find a cockroach next to the bed on the wall and in the kitchen. I called the front desk and had him send someone to kill them. he came and did it. He said they were stink beetles. Maybe. Either way they shouldn't be in my room. I travel often for work and always try to stay at this chain of hotels when I travel. I prefer to cook then eat out and LOVE that this chain provides a FULL kitchen. However, this particular one was VERY disappointing. The room was filthy. It clearly has NOT been vacuumed in several weeks or the people before me were pigs and house keeping did not clean in between us. The room smelt of mold. The have signs placed everywhere that they conduct daily house keeping but I'm not sure what qualifies as "daily housekeeping" to them. I stayed for 4 nights. The second day "daily housekeeping" took my towels and didn't replace them with new ones. UGH annoying after a LONG day at work and all you have looked forward to is a hot shower. Speaking of shower. When I turned the water on to take a shower; the water would not fully switch to the shower head. So I had water coming out of the tub faucet and water trickling out of the shower head. So the rest of my stay I showered at planet fitness in Perrysburg. (What in the world). Like I previously mentioned I choose this chain because of the kitchen. The stove top was very sketchy. I only was able to use one burner.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2017 by Crystal O, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to review your stay. We are pleased to see that you found our staff friendly and helpful. As an exterior property with outside entrances, we do at times find seasonal insects however we can assure you it is a rare instance. We are happy that you found our location convenient to the major highways and central to tons of shopping.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Nice comfortable hotel suite. Kitchen was nice. Location is good.price was great! A couple of things kept me from giving it a higher rating. The hair dryer was not functioning,there was a hole in the carpeting that went down to the concrete and the gap under the door let in too much cold outside air.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2017 by Crystal O, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us here at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham. We appreciate your feedback and value your opinion. We are happy to see that you were pleased with your accommodations and hope to see you again if you are ever in the area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Decent hotel for the price

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Pros: Location, fireplace, price
Cons: Room cleanliness and decor/furniture. Kitchen stove burners need replacing as well.
The room was pleasing to the eye and it was quite comfortable. However it is in desperate need of some new furnishings (the couch was very nice) and a deep clean. Behind the tv stand was awful and the bathroom didn't look as though it had been mopped. The front desk person also assigned our already occupied room to another guest that we met coming up the stairs to our room with their luggage as we were leaving for dinner! The fireplace was a big bonus and the room was very comfortable. An ok hotel for the money.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2017 by Crystal O, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us. We are pleased to see that you were happy with our room features and location and apologize for any inconveniences you experienced during your stay.