Ratings based on 315 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Nice comfortable hotel suite. Kitchen was nice. Location is good.price was great! A couple of things kept me from giving it a higher rating. The hair dryer was not functioning,there was a hole in the carpeting that went down to the concrete and the gap under the door let in too much cold outside air.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Decent hotel for the price

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Pros: Location, fireplace, price
Cons: Room cleanliness and decor/furniture. Kitchen stove burners need replacing as well.
The room was pleasing to the eye and it was quite comfortable. However it is in desperate need of some new furnishings (the couch was very nice) and a deep clean. Behind the tv stand was awful and the bathroom didn't look as though it had been mopped. The front desk person also assigned our already occupied room to another guest that we met coming up the stairs to our room with their luggage as we were leaving for dinner! The fireplace was a big bonus and the room was very comfortable. An ok hotel for the money.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh

Posted Jan 7, 2017
Pros: not a thing
Cons: Night time quietness and disturbances General competence Front desk friendliness, speed
We were driving from Pittsburgh to Chicago when we found ourselves in the middle of a blizzard around 11:30 PM, so we booked a hotel through Expedia and went to check in. When we arrived, the check-in process was slow and unfriendly. Then, we were given a dirty room that was an outside walk to the door. After getting two sleeping children out of the car and into the room, we learned it had not been cleaned from the last guests. I trudged back to the check-in counter, who again, took at least 20 minutes to get us a new room. We transported our sleepy children and all of our luggage in the snow to the new room - which had been cleaned, but was equally unacceptable. There was visible dirt on the floor, holes in the walls, and mold on the ceilings (in addition to not having been updated since the 80s). We settled in, expecting to at least get some sleep... At 2:30 AM, a car alarm went off repeatedly. At 3:30 AM, someone pounded on our door looking for someone, and kept yelling and pounding. We got up and left as early as we could. Later, I received a call if I wanted the copy machine and tubs of clothes that we left in the room. ( this was the wrong room). This tells me that between the middle of the night door pounding and copy machine, something very unsavory was occurring in the room next to ours. Lastly, they have charged an extra $58 (not the room rate) to our credit card and promise it will be credited at some point, but it has been 9 days
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charlotte NC

This place was terrible.

Posted Dec 17, 2016
The floor and bed was unsanitary. I was uncomfortable walking on the dirty floor. The door could not be secured. You could lock it but push on it hard enough and it would open. This place was for transient dwellers. It was the worst place I ever lodged at. Take my advice.... Don't stay here!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2017 by CrystalO, Hotel Management
We understand that standards vary among guests and we apologize that your stay did not meet your expectations.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ft Myers, FL

Better than a lot of $42 a night lodging.

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Pros: Reasonable rates, good location, nice breakfast.
Cons: Housekeeping staff was rude, desk personnel weren't very helpful or friendly seemed always either on phones or staff standing around.
Location: Nice location near lots of eating and shopping. Traffic can get busy about a block away but it's manageable.
It was quiet, clean and mostly comfort. They are updating rooms so it's a bit like staying at a "work in progress" like they do renovations when there isn't a guest staying in that room. We found the staff to be mostly not very friendly and housekeeping simply curt and rude. For the price it was a good place to stay just don't expect resort style accommodations.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 12, 2017 by CrystalO, Hotel Management
Thank you Chris for taking time to review your stay. We are saddened to hear that your experience did not meet or exceed your expectations and our staff fell short on the customer service provided to you. We will use your comments as a continuous improvement tool to ensure that this does not happen in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago

Close to shopping mall

Posted Nov 30, 2016
The room i was in 614 phone didn't work no toilet paper 2 towels couldn't call for room service i walk to the office to let them know had to ask them for towels and toilet paper
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2017 by CrystalO, Hotel Management
Thank Willie for reviewing your stay with us. We apologize that our towel exchange policy was inconvenient for you during your stay. In an effort to keep our cost down and offer the best value possible we do ask that our guests exchange their used towels for new ones.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Really dirty

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Room was really dirty. Bathroom was covered in hair and had someone else's toiletries left in it. Bed was comfortable, but I wouldn't stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2017 by CrystalO, Hotel Management
We understand that every guest's expectations are unique and standards vary. We apologize that our hotel did not meet your standards. Thank you for sharing your opinion.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Old and not well lit

Posted Nov 29, 2016
If you arrive in the evening the location to the office is not well lit and its hard to find. Struggled to get into the door...had to really put some force into it opening. Bathroom is very dated which made it seem dirty. Pull out sofa sleeper had crumbs on the mattress, sheets and blankets in 2 diff locations. King bed was comfy and had lots of comfortable pillows.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2016 by CrystalO, Hotel Management
Thank you Jessica for taking time to review your stay. We appreciate your feedback and apologize about the inconveniences you experienced. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed a good night's rest on our comfortable mattress and hope you were able to enjoy the hot breakfast buffet prior to your departure.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Mostly ok, except no breakfast due to lack of staf

Posted Nov 25, 2016
No breakfast as the staff wasn't available. Otherwise everything else was mostly acceptable
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 11, 2017 by CrystalO, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to review your stay. Unfortunately our staff does encounter emergency situations that would result in an unexpected call off. We do apologize that we were not able to replace our breakfast staff for the day prior to your arrival for breakfast. We are pleased that other than that your overall stay met your expectations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from US

Comfortable and Affordable

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Pros: I especially liked the layout and how much space we had.
Cons: I would love a bit more variety with breakfast. I don't eat pork, so while I love a good savory breakfast, some eggs without sausage would be great.
Location: I imagine that one would want to head into Toledo, but there are enough stores and restaurants near the hotel that you could post up there if need be!
The hotel was very comfortable, and a great place to stay in the midst of a long road trip. The staff was very nice, and we ended up getting an upgrade because they were full. So, the two of us had 2bed/ 2bath lodgings. It was a reasonable price before the upgrade! We wished we were staying longer than just one night! We hope to return next time we're passing through.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2016 by CrystalO, Hotel Management
Thank you Shelley for taking time to share your positive experience with others concerning your stay with us at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Toledo/Holland. We are pleased that you enjoyed your Two Bedroom, Two Bathroom King Suite. We will definitely take in consideration alternative breakfast items to offer a better variety for all our guest.