Ratings based on 208 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The hotel is OK

Posted Nov 9, 2016
This is a beautiful hotel in the middle of Toledo close to everything. Even the train station is walkable. The staff is very nice and professional. The interiors are very historic. I felt like i was in a musiaum. However, the bed is really hard. I couldn't sleep and it was really noisy.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

“Everything and more! Luxury, history ...

Posted Nov 1, 2016 on Hotels
We spent 2 nights at Hotel Alfonso VI (after making the mistake of staying at another place with noise and drunks shouting till past 4 a.m.) We made our reservations online, walked up the hill, checked-in, left our bags till our room was ready (at 1, as promised). When we returned, we were ecstatic about our room: corner room on the third floor (second floor European counting) with our own terrace and views to die for. [Note: the Cathedral turns its lights out at midnight:) ] Huge soaking tub, fine water pressure; exposed timbers, marble and luxury everywhere -- at a steal of a price compared to US 4 star hotels. Spacious: desk and sitting area, plus extra bench. Historically grand but tastefully modernized. Great breezes from the terrace door and windows. Comfortable bed! And at night, it's quiet!! The hotel is at the top of a hill. As Toledo is a hilly town, one can't avoid going up and down. That's part of its charm. Management was gracious and spoke English. What more could one ask for? Staying here was a privilege!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location but noisy!

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Noisy. I'm a light sleeper.
Location: Close to Alcazar and cathedral.
It was a great stay and very close to most must see sites. However, it was noisy. You can hear furnitur noisy movements.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 8, 2016 on Hotels
Great one night stay, wished we had booked 2 nights
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not recomended

Posted Oct 7, 2016 on Hotels
Very difficult to get to the hotel . Streets blocked
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Far from all attractions very outdated rooms, not nice people and terrible breakfast
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean and pleasant hotel in a great location

Posted Oct 3, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was everything we expected and would have been easily accessible under normal circumstances. However, there were road works in the road leading to the hotel and there were insufficient directions to compensate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Canberra

Very central and plenty of space in room.

Posted Oct 1, 2016
Pros: Location. location, location
Cons: Put a map in the room or give to guests at check in.
Location: Magnificent old town.
We found the older style wood work and tiny balcony over the back lane really charming. Big wardrobe and plenty of space for luggage. Maps available at reception, but you had to ask. We were impressed that wood work in the rooms was being restored through a local skills and employment program for people with intellectual disabilities. Extensive and reasonably priced souvenir shop downstairs if you want gifts with minimal hassle. Comfortable big double bed and quiet location. (We found getting double beds a bit of an issue, with twin beds being common throughout Spanish hotels).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Excellent Historic Experience

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Pros: Historic relevance, location
Cons: Sound proofing... we could hear our neighbours clearly early in the morning
Location: In the center of it all. perfect location, except all the steps to the top :)
The -1 level (down one from the lobby) was a museum in itself! Our room huge, two twin beds, nice modern bathroom, and balcony.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to restaurants, shop and tour bus

Posted Jul 24, 2016
It was just amazing! Unforgettable. Great, hotel was excellent.