Ratings based on 468 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, close to the university.

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Pros: Location, cost and the service.
Cons: Provision of shuttle service.
Location: I was there only for the university.
The staff was pleasant and very helpful. Restaurant food was good and the staff very engaging.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 23, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

convenient and comfortable

Posted Nov 22, 2016 on Hotels
convenient and comfortable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

clean room, helpful staff

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: cleanliness, friendly staff
Cons: I was satisfied with everything. No complaints.
Location: Its was my 4th stay, because its located close to shopping areas, and many restaurants are just a couple miles away. Visted farmers and flea market.
The front desk staff are friendly and very helpful, always with a warm greeting and smile. The room was clean, the bathroom was also sparkling white. Felt very comfortable. This was my 4th stay here.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
Don't select the executive room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to rate your stay. We apologize that the stay did not meet your expectations and that you were not satisfied with the executive room. Your comments are valued and will be shared so we can continually improve our services. We hope for another chance to exceed your expectations in the future.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

False advertising, dirty rooms, rude employee

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
I booked an executive suite, drove from Michigan for a weekend away with my kids. Checked into our room and it was not the room i paid for. The hotel said that type of room doesn't exist in their hotel and there's a typo on the website that needs to be fixed. The first room we were in the bathroom had water on the floor from the toilet leaking. The next room had pubes on the loose toilet seat and pubes in the bath tube. Third room was okay but again not the room i paid for. Took my kids swimming in the heated pool but the water was freezing and temperature in the room was 60°. The hot tub was broken and the kids were very sad it was to cold to swim. So we checked out and went home. Ruined our weekend. The blast that checked us in was unfriendly and didn't let us know about the pool conditions when we checked in. No trash bags in the trash cans in any of the rooms we were in. I have screen shots of the room they advertise, it had a living area with a sofa and coffee table so we could play games. We got a room with two double beds and a chair and no room to move around. I paid for a large room with a living area with a sofa and two chairs and a coffee table. Staff said that the website needs to be updated. I lost two of my hotel reward nights that they would not refund. We had a horrible experience at this hotel and were only there a few hours. Any parent knows how much work a vacation is with two kids let alone having to handle all our luggage changing rooms several times
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We regret to hear about your disappointment in the room you received. We attempt to fulfill each of our guest’s requests to the best of our ability. Prior to your next stay, we welcome you to reach out to us so we may review your requested accommodations in detail.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth the money...

Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels
The room had black mold growing in the shower, no bathroom fan, head boards were shabby like torn up. Floors and bed were not cleaned well. And the only reason we picked the hotel the jacuzzi.. It was broke with little apologizes just a card for the manager who would be out for a few days. I feel ripped off and there was a lot of difficulties booking the room through hotels.com
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 2, 2016 on Hotels
Just wished I was told hot tub was not working
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Another Great Stay

Posted Nov 2, 2016 on Hotels
Another great stay. I've used the hotel a few times now and have never been disappointed. Convenient to the turnpike
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cleveland oh

Anniversary weekend

Posted Nov 2, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Reputation
Cons: Hire more trustworthy employees
After checking out we realized that my husband left a jacket in the room. When we called 2 hours after checking out, the front desk said she would have house keeping check when they cleaned the room and get back to us. After 4 hours with no call we called back, no one had any information on the missing jacket and still no call back. So I called again the following morning to the front desk and they have no jacket and then put me thru to a manager where another message is left only to still go unreturned. So I'm gathering the jacket now belongs to someone in housekeeping! When we chose to stay at a Raddison hotel because of their reputation, I have to say after this it's probably our last stay. This could have been easily remedied had some just taken 5 minutes to check the room. There was no question about where the jacket was left no, but noone could bother to look.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2016 by Ashley, Hotel Management
We do apologize that you have not received any information on your missing jacket. We are very sorry for the disappointing service you have also received from the hotel staff. We will make sure to reach out to the hotel management to better investigate the matter and also to make sure that we are providing our best service.