Ratings based on 66 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not bad.

Posted Dec 4, 2017
decent enough budget hotel. only hotel i've ever stayed in though that doesn't even have a bar of soap in the bathroom. Room clean and reasonable enough but a getting a bit shabby. well located and decent breakfast. get what you pay for, fine for a cheap stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Nice accommodation close to Edinbough Castle

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Pros: Great location
Stand in the family room with ensuite. Clean and tide. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Would totally recommend this little place when visiting Edinbough.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

You get what you pay for.

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Bathroom plumbing. Better beds, carpet. Could be cleaner.
Location: Near the city center and the Royal Mile.
Not overly clean, but acceptable. Cheap rug on the floor. All new fixtures in the bathroom, but it was like putting lipstick on a pig. Shower would not drain. Pipes underneath the shower leaked (shower was raised above floor level, with the front piece pulled away from the shower, so you could look underneath, which we did when the floor flooded). Drywall visible in some places. The bathroom smelled bad, as well, like there was mold. Location was good. Definitely scruffy.
3 out of 5
by John

Lower price and lower quality

Posted Sep 8, 2017 on Hotels
Location pretty convenient - short walk to main bus routes; Haymarket and Waverley Stations and Royal Mile also close enough for us to walk to. Manager/staff helpful. Ful breakfast fine. Room not serviced during our 3 night stay. Not well maintained especially grounds. Few other BnBs in same row look better from outside.
2 out of 5
by Andrea

NO cleaning service, NO hairdryer

Posted May 31, 2017 on Hotels
Spent 3 nights here and towels have never been changed and room never cleaned (only one of the two bins was emptied). We asked for a hairdryer (since it was not in the room) and we have been told that all rooms must have one and they do not have a spare one: according to them, if it was not there, most probably it was stolen by someone staying in the room before...at the end, they were not helpful at all.
4 out of 5
by Gary

Welcome to Braveheart

Posted May 10, 2017 on Hotels
We had a lovely stay at Braveheart. The owners were so very accommodating and helpful and made us feel very welcome. Breakfast was really good every morning and a great selection of foods to choose from.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NZ

Easy walk to Grassmarket

Posted May 4, 2017
Pros: Staff friendly close to city centre price was good
Location: Easy walk to Waverly Bridge and Grassmarket as well as Edinbrugh Castle
Found Brave heart was pretty central to most things easy to get transport bus ran along street
5 out of 5
by Louise

Posted May 3, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely room and a very nice breakfast!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Bathroom: 10/10 Bed: 9/10 Towels: had stains, and one was pink. Staff: very friendly and eager to help. Location: 10/10 Breakfast: 9/10
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stag do

Posted Apr 13, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed here on an 8 person stag do, for the price paid I was surprised, the hotel was clean and the rooms were basic but comfortable. Staff were friendly. Only downside was 1 key per room which could be an issue if returning at different times. Short cab ride to the mains pubs / bars.