Ratings based on 1,269 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Nice hotel.

Posted Feb 17, 2018
Very pleasant stay. Will use again. Good location. Great staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 19, 2018 by sunny verma, Hotel Management
Dear Col Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Kind regards Sunny Verma General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location for your stay in Edinburgh.

Posted Jan 12, 2018
We were celebrating our engagement at this hotel and they made us feel very welcome and by leaving a bottle of Champagne in our room! The hotel is in a great location to walk to castle or to princess street and is only a £5 ride from the train station.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2018 by Sunny Verma, General manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you very much for such a kind review. I'm glad to hear that you felt very welcomed and that, the overall of your stay, was pleasant. we hope to see you back again, soon. Best regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Quaint Hotel

Posted Dec 31, 2017
Pros: Quiet and quaint.
Cons: Include fridge in the room? And a detachable shower.
Location: Supermarket. Castle of Edinburgh. University of Edinburgh. Mosque. Halal restaurants.
Nice hotel. Quaint. Quiet. Away from the city noise. A stone's throw from the Edinburgh Caste. However, quite a walk from the bus station. Be prepared to climb steep hills. Take a bus from the bus station if you are carrying heavy luggage. There is Sainsbury's Local Supermarket nearby and halal restaurants near the hotel for Muslim travellers. Also nearby a mosque and more halal restaurants situated there. Also near the Edinburgh university.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 31, 2017 by sunny.verma, Hotel Management
Dear Zann Thank you for following your kind review stay at Edinburgh City Hotel. I am delighted to read that you were impressed with the hotel, finding the central location convenient for all the tourist attraction you wanted to visit. We do not provide fridges in the room, but it is available on request for guest in the room.I have taken your point regarding detacjable shower and will discuss with Senior management as we are due to have refurbishment sometime in 2019. I will take great pleasure in sharing your compliments with my colleagues throughout the hotel. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future. Kind Regards Sunny Verma General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from high wycombe

Nice hotel at the heart of city yet very quiet

Posted Dec 9, 2017
Never knew a hotel at tge heart of city, peacefully quiet, reasonable price. Highly recommended
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2017 by Sunny Verma, Hotel Management
Dear Dr Farid Thank you for following your kind review stay at Edinburgh City Hotel. I am delighted to read that you were impressed with the hotel, finding the central location convenient. It was pleasing to read that you found the hotel offered value for money for its location. Many thanks for glowing recommendation! Hope to see in near future. Kind Regards Sunny Verma General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 26, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2017 by Sunny Verma, Hotel Management
To whom it may concern Thanks for a reviewing your stay at Edinburgh City Hotel. We are in a great location to explore everything Edinburgh has to offer 10 minutes to Edinburgh Castle & Royal Mile from our hotel. I do hope that we can welcome you back soon. Kind Regards Sunny Verma General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal QC

Posted Nov 25, 2017
Well situated and great staff! I will definitely stay there when I return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 27, 2017 by Sunny Verma, Hotel Management
Dear Raymond Thank you for following your kind review stay at Edinburgh City Hotel. I am delighted to read that you were impressed with the hotel, finding the central location convenient. Your feedback regarding the quality and attentive service you received from my team is much appreciated and I will take great pleasure in sharing your compliments with my colleagues throughout the hotel. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much that you are already looking forward to returning as that is as good a recommendation as there is! Kind Regards Sunny Verma General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hertfordshire

Nice hotel, but breakfast not great

Posted Nov 24, 2017
Nice, comfortable and clean room. Friendly staff, good location. Breakfast not great. Fry up blitzed in the microwave, not freshly cooked. No fresh coffee or pot of tea.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2017 by Sunny Verma, Hotel Management
Dear Shenel Thank you for reviewing your stay at Edinburgh City Hotel. It is wonderful to hear you found our rooms to be of excellent standard and cleanliness, this is so important to our housekeeping department and they will be thrilled to hear this. Naturally I was disappointed to read that you were not able to enjoy the breakfast and suprise to read your feedback. We usually do not get such comments for breakfast, which was not the case during your stay. Our breakfast is cooked to order and i can assure everything is prepared fresh on the day. We have a coffee machine which give gives you different slection and brewed freshly for the guest and huge slection of tea on display with hot water provide. I am sorry it felt below your expectation. I have taken your feedback anbd will dicuss with my team. Your feedback regarding the attentive and excellent customer service you received from my colleagues across the hotel is especially pleasing. Hope to see in near future Kind Regards Sunny Verma General Manager
3 out of 5
by Rosemary C

Nice spot for price

Posted Nov 22, 2017 on Hotels
Basic hotel, comfortable and great price. Staff very helpful. Convenient to the conference center, 15 minute walk. My room faced street so sound of cars going by but nothing extreme. Nice breakfast cooked to order.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 24, 2017 by Sunny Verma, Hotel Management
Dear Rosemary Thank you for your review following your recent stay at The City Hotel I am pleased to read that you found the central location of the property convenient. Naturally I was disappointed to read that you were not able to enjoy a comfortable night’s sleep and that. We do have secondary glazing in all our rooms to minimize any noise disruption and I have myself stayed in a road facing room and was not disrupted by noise. However, I appreciate that everyone has different levels of comfort and that the city is considerably busier and noisier during the festival I will take great pleasure in sharing your kind words with our team and look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Edinburgh. Kind Regards Sunny Verma General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Very nice hotel, good location, room was clean, everything comfortable and enjoyed the stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 19, 2017 by Sunny Verma, Hotel Management
Many thanks for the great review. Delighted to get 5/5. I'll be sure to congratulate the whole team.
4 out of 5
by Dinesh

Posted Nov 14, 2017 on Hotels
Great receiption staff, friendly and very helpful. Great breakfast! And well worth paying in advance for a discounted price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 18, 2017
Many thanks for the great review. I've passed your lovely comments to the reception and kitchen team. Thanks for taking the time to review us. Kindest regards, Sunny Verma General Manager