Ratings based on 1,653 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet location in walking distance of city centre.

Posted Dec 13, 2017
The hotel is located a ten minute walk from Princes Street and five minutes from Grassmarket and the historic old town. The room was clean and comfortable if a little bland in decor. The reception team were extremely helpful and polite.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel great.

Posted Nov 26, 2017
Hotel great staff great.only thing was car park full so had to drive to NCP car park the walk back to Hotel was a 10 min walk i pick this hotel because of car parkas i have back problems so the walk was not good for me.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Yes of course!

Posted Nov 1, 2017
I decided to book Novotel because I wanted some luxury and pampering - I wasn’t disappointed. The staff are exceptional. Everything I asked for was possible and done promptly. The mantra seems to be ‘Yes of course!’ We arrived earlier than planned but were checked in promptly, the room was impeccable and all the sights were within walking distance of our hotel. Breakfast was beautiful with so much choice. I will definitely be returning and also looking out for other Novotel in the course of my journeys. Well done !!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Expensive and characterless

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Adequate. We were all efficiently evacuated during the night but no explanation as to why was offered.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Pros: It welcomed our dog, which was a crucial factor for booking this hotel
very pleasant and convenient location, near to the park
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Great hotel

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Friendly, helpful staff. Clean rooms! Great breakfast
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia and Orlando

Food

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Pros: Decent location , clean
Cons: Food
Location: 3 to 5 block walk to town center
Breakfast quality was poor and eggs rubbery . No porridge/oatmeal. Service at dinner was mediocre . Overpriced in September after Festival
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Upon checking in, noticed there was no towels in the room. Mentioned to reception on my way out at 4pm. I returned hours later at 10pm and still no towels in my room. Called up reception and had to wait for them to bring them up. Service was lacking to say the least.
4 out of 5
by Kathryn

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 7, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mexico, MX

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Location: You are on Edinburgh Centre, so you can do visit everything you want and most things are within walking distance. The Castle, The National Museum, etc
I stayed there for a weekend of exploring Edinburgh. The hotel has an incredible location to explore all of Edinburgh. The staff were so friendly and helpful, the room clean and with everything I might need. The breakfast was really good, and you can choose between a full English or a Continental. I mixed a bit of both and was really happy to have done so.