Ratings based on 116 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Utah

Return visit before flying out of New Chitose!

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, nice breakfast (western and Japanese options), clean rooms, comfortable beds, and a fabulous onsen!!!
Cons: More availability of soft pillows. The Japanese seem to be accustomed to much firmer pillows!
Location: Large shopping mall at the train station. Good Italian restaurant across the street, though the menu is in Japanese!
We also stayed at this property when we arrived on Hokkaido 10 days prior to this stay, and had also booked it for this stay--just one night prior to flying out of New Chitose on our return to the US. We chose to stay here because the moderately priced airport hotels available for our dates would not guarantee a non-smoking room, and we were finding it challenging to find a hotel in Sapporo that we could easily get to by train. Though Tomakomai is an industrial/port city, it was only about 30 minutes by train from New Chitose--with a brief transfer at Chitose Minami station--and we were only at the hotel for a few hours. Of note is that you can take the "local" train between New Chitose Airport and Tomakomai at about half the price of the express trains, just 680 yen per person each way, with very little difference in travel time. Dormy Inn Tomakomai offers free shuttle service to/from the station, at specific times of day in the morning and afternoon; but the taxis can't accommodate a snowboard bag. Fortunately, it wasn't an issue for us to make the 10 minute walk from the station to the hotel; but this could be an issue for some folks. There is a luggage storage service at the airport, but the business hours are limited. As has generally been our experience, Dormy Inns offer a comfortable stay at a reasonable price. If you can opt for breakfast to be included in your room rate, go for it! Look out for the softer pillows by the elevators that are put out in the afternoon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Domy Inn Rocks, staff and facilities. The hot bath is a plus, only wish they had Dormy Inn in other countries.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Utah

Another comfortable Dormy Inn stay!

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: Comfortable, clean, secure, priced fairly, with nice breakfast/comfortable bed. Don't forget to look for the softer pillows on a rack by elevators!
Cons: There is free shuttle between Tomakomai station and hotel in morning and afternoon/evening, but our snowboard bag was too long so hubby had to walk.
Location: Tomakomai is a port/industrial area, so sightseeing is limited. Worked out great for us, as we were eating/sleeping/walking to get over jet lag.
We wanted to stay in the vicinity of New Chitose Airport/Sapporo, on arrival in Japan from the continental US, to partially recover from jet lag before heading to the ski resort at Niseko. Because the airport hotels in our price range with reasonable reviews/ratings couldn't guarantee a non-smoking room, we looked for a property accessible by bus/train and happened upon the Dormy Inn Tomakomai. Having stayed at other Dormy Inn properties, we had a good feeling of their quality and fair pricing. Though we were exhausted after our 18+ hours of travel time by the time we reached Sapporo area, we were able to catch a local Donna bus from the airport to within a couple of blocks of the hotel--for just 620 yen each! As the top of the hotel has the name in bright lights, we were able to get off before we reached Tomakomai Station which would have been about an 8 block walk. The hotel was clean and comfortable, despite the room being on the small side. The breakfast was fresh and filling, with both Japanese and American style food. The onsen, on the top floor, was delightful. We even used the free washer/detergent to do a small load of wash. And the free ramen was greatly appreciated on our first night, when we were hungry for a snack but too tired to go out to look for food. As few of the staff speak English, this might not be a comfortable stay for some people. But the Japanese are so kind and hospitable that we felt right at home. A smile, on either side, goes a long way!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room clean&comfortable

Posted Oct 29, 2016 on Hotels
Enjoy the natural hot spring
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice and clean hotel

Posted Oct 6, 2016 on Hotels
Generally a good place to come for one night. Very clean and the staff was great and helpful, even ordered a place for us in sushi resturants. The room was very small.
4 out of 5
by Jay from Chiba

Non Japanese bring a passport!!

Posted Aug 11, 2016 on Hotels
You get what you pay for. It is a law in Japan that non Japabese are supposed to show a 'passport ' when checking in. This is quite ridiculous as I'm a very long term resident. After telling her twice I'd show my license she accepted. Most places never ask for a passport nor ID for that matter. Breakfast wasn't anything special. No egg cooks or anything else memorable about it. The staff were quite nice although I don' t think there are many English speakers there. Hotel is close to the station and about a fifteen minute walk from the happening area of town. Great bath in the basement very well stocked with razors, combs, toothbrushes etc. I would stay there again as I'm used to small Japanese rooms. I did not like paying for parking but they seem to look for any way to get that extra bit. Free coffee in the lobby was nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

1N overnight stay.

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Room very small so glad i left my lugg in the car. Onsen is really nice and clean with some rock decor so do feel like i'm in a ryokan instead. The night free ramen is great too, will come back to stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Aberdeenshire, Scotland

Stopover before flying homw

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Pleasantly surprised by the Dormy Inn. Comfortable room and really nic espa with an outdoor bath. Easy to find and easy to get to the airport. Didn't have breakfast but appreciated the free coffee and computers in the lobby in the evening.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 5, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Alan from Sapporo

An Entry Level Dormy

Posted Apr 4, 2016 on Hotels
A quiet getaway. About a fifteen minute walk to the shore. The room is a business style, but not as utilitarian as you usually find. Compared to other Dormy Inn's....I'd have to say it's pretty much at the bottom. That is not a bad thing. Just, don't expect the amazing breakfast you may have gotten used to. As it's a smallish place, the choices were about half that of the Sapporo Dormy. Staff was friendly. Room was clean. I'll go back again.