Ratings based on 93 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Continental Inn stay

Posted Jul 18, 2016
This is a small, but quaint, old-fashioned hotel. Room was very clean and had an early 1900s feel, along with modern amenities (cable TV, alarm clock, small fridge, etc.). They also had breakfast items like fruit, cereal and milk (from an unknown source). Very hospitable hotel that was the cheapest of the very expensive hotels in the this area. It's about 25 minutes from Bodega Bay (nearest ocean) and 20 minutes from Tomales bay (nearest bay). There's nothing to do in area this hotel is located in, except eat at a deli and a decent-looking restaurant down the street. Strange thing was that you can't check-in until 4 PM. This could disrupt many peoples' travel plans. I've never heard of a check-in this late. And then they require you to check out at 11 am.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northern CA

Mixed Emotions!

Posted Jun 5, 2016
Hotel on main street. Unwelcoming and unhelpful staff at front desk. Was to include a Continental Breakfast; the breakfast bar had several packets of instant oatmeal, coffee and water; nothing else. Ticket for $5.00 off was slid under our door for bakery across the street; it covered $4.00 for one scone, there were two of us. Unacceptable. Hotel itself was nicely renovated and room was charming; comfortable bed.
4 out of 5
by Gregory from Santa Cruz

Posted Apr 8, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely small hotel in the very quiet and quaint town of Tomales. Very attractive room nicely decorated although a bit small. We very much enjoyed our stay
5 out of 5
by Kirsten

Fabulous weeked get-away

Posted Feb 16, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed at the Continental Inn for 1 night. It was even nicer than it looked online. Had lunch at Nick's Cove on the bay just a few miles away. Spent the afternoon at Dillon Beach. Parking was $8 but it was well worth it. Had dinner at William Tell House next door to the Continental Inn. Good pizza and salad. Sunday morning we hung out by the bakery with all the locals, their dogs and a little 5 week old lamb. Fabulous weekend get-away!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 3, 2016
Divided experience. It took a while to warm up the room.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 3, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Placerville, CA

Charming Historical Hotel

Posted Oct 29, 2015
Pros: The room was beautiful and clean. Fairly quiet especially at night.
Cons: The bed in our room would be improved by a cushy mattress cover.
Location: Near beaches & Tamales Bay, Hog Island Oyster Co.,
Located in the town of Tomales, this hotel has old-fashioned charm. The room was beautiful and clean. Fairly quiet especially at night. Lots of things to do nearby.
4 out of 5
by Susan from Los Altos, CA

Posted Oct 6, 2015 on Hotels
very nice well kept old hotel. rooms were small. need to be able to climb stairs. beds very comfortable. slept well there. very clean. right on Main Street but not too busy in this small town.
5 out of 5
by Cheryl

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 4, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pictures don't do it justice

Posted Sep 24, 2015
Great room Clean Reception was great too Comfy bed