Ratings based on 134 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Leandro

Strange experience

Posted Oct 22, 2017
Had a code to enter. Late. No staff on hand. Someone had gotten the key to the room assigned. Had to wait while they gathered their belongings . T V was fuzzy picture on all channels. No in room coffee.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel Good Location

Posted Oct 2, 2017
I had a wedding at Nick's Grove. The Continental Inn was only 5 miles away in the tiny little town of Tomales. It was the perfect place to stay. They accomodated my need for an early check in. The hotel is also only 5 miles from lovely DIllon Beach. I was able to spend the morning after there before heading home. Perfect!
5 out of 5
by Robert

Convenient hotel near Pt. Reyes.

Posted Jul 14, 2017 on Hotels
We were looking for a place to stay near Pt. Reyes National Reserve, and this place worked out well. It's reasonably close to the park and there's a deli/cafe across the street where we got breakfast and has sandwiches made for our hike. There's a general store also across the street. The hotel is on U.S. 1, so you can't miss it. There was some traffic on the highway that got our attention, but overall it was fairly quiet.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from El Cerrito, CA

Only hotel in an uninteresting small town.

Posted Jul 13, 2017
All rooms are located on 2nd floor with no elevator. Rooms are good size with good beds with shower-tub baths. One bed spread was soiled. The weekday breakfast offerings are stingy. The staff, unavailable, or, if present not very welcoming.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Quaint and lovingly decorated

Posted Jul 12, 2017
My family took a trip up the coast and stayed at half a dozen hotels. This one was the most memorable, in a great way. I love antiques and history, and this place had both. Even had a book cabinet. My room, ivy, had a fake fireplace that felt cozy. Although it was a weekday and no breakfast was expected, there was cereal in the morning. Only drawback was no on-site desk support late at night, just like a real house. Highly recommend!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what I expected. Thought it was a B&B

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Cons: See above
Location: Bakery and deli across the street saved the town from being useless to me. The museum was closed and so was the restaurant next door.
No breakfast on weekdays, no personal touches like a gathering room. No phone or clock in the room. No cell service. No air conditioning or even a fan.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Hidden Gem

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: CLEAN and quiet
Cons: WiFi reception.
Location: In review
If you are looking for a quiet getaway from the hustle/bustle of the Bay Area, look no further. This unassuming older establishment in the sleepy hamlet of Tomales is just what the doctor ordered. Rooms are exceedingly clean, all well appointed, newly painted, very comfortable. Little or no breakfast or on-site staff (although a small glitch in our reservation was taken care of immediately), and WiFi is iffy, but if comfort, and peace & quiet are your goal, this is your destination. My wife and I are avid sea kayakers, so the proximity to Tomales Bay launch sites is incomparable, as are the stones throw distances to the Point Reyes National Seashore, Pt. Reyes Station (and the "to die for" pizza at Cafe Reyes), Nick's Cove Restaurant, Hog Island Oysters, Inverness, Tomales Bakery, and the areas's best kept secret, the buffalo milk soft-serve ice cream in Pt. Reyes Station' Palace Market.
4 out of 5
by tu

Posted Jul 5, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is very nice with a lot of amenities, cereals, milk, yogurt and juice 24/7 in the fridge. Room is clean and cute. But the area is very tiny and boring. Not much food or activity in the area. Only has 5 businesses: 2 bakeries, one restaurant, a bank, and a convenient store. Most restaurants opens from Thursday to Sunday only
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

lovely old hotel in little old town

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Pros: see above - like stepping into another era with all the comforts of modern life
Cons: Could use some herbal tea and a bit more breakfast.
Location: Very near Pt. Reyes Station, Dillon Beach, Bodega Bay
Lovely old hotel in the tiny town of Tamales. Very clean, very peaceful. Has TV and internet.
5 out of 5
by ayrowyn

Posted Jun 24, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was lovely, cute, quaint, and the staff was helpful. We needed a wheelchair accessible room and they accommodated upon check in.