Ratings based on 125 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from El Cerrito, CA

Only hotel in an uninteresting small town.

Posted Jul 13, 2017
All rooms are located on 2nd floor with no elevator. Rooms are good size with good beds with shower-tub baths. One bed spread was soiled. The weekday breakfast offerings are stingy. The staff, unavailable, or, if present not very welcoming.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Quaint and lovingly decorated

Posted Jul 12, 2017
My family took a trip up the coast and stayed at half a dozen hotels. This one was the most memorable, in a great way. I love antiques and history, and this place had both. Even had a book cabinet. My room, ivy, had a fake fireplace that felt cozy. Although it was a weekday and no breakfast was expected, there was cereal in the morning. Only drawback was no on-site desk support late at night, just like a real house. Highly recommend!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what I expected. Thought it was a B&B

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Cons: See above
Location: Bakery and deli across the street saved the town from being useless to me. The museum was closed and so was the restaurant next door.
No breakfast on weekdays, no personal touches like a gathering room. No phone or clock in the room. No cell service. No air conditioning or even a fan.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Hidden Gem

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: CLEAN and quiet
Cons: WiFi reception.
Location: In review
If you are looking for a quiet getaway from the hustle/bustle of the Bay Area, look no further. This unassuming older establishment in the sleepy hamlet of Tomales is just what the doctor ordered. Rooms are exceedingly clean, all well appointed, newly painted, very comfortable. Little or no breakfast or on-site staff (although a small glitch in our reservation was taken care of immediately), and WiFi is iffy, but if comfort, and peace & quiet are your goal, this is your destination. My wife and I are avid sea kayakers, so the proximity to Tomales Bay launch sites is incomparable, as are the stones throw distances to the Point Reyes National Seashore, Pt. Reyes Station (and the "to die for" pizza at Cafe Reyes), Nick's Cove Restaurant, Hog Island Oysters, Inverness, Tomales Bakery, and the areas's best kept secret, the buffalo milk soft-serve ice cream in Pt. Reyes Station' Palace Market.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

lovely old hotel in little old town

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Pros: see above - like stepping into another era with all the comforts of modern life
Cons: Could use some herbal tea and a bit more breakfast.
Location: Very near Pt. Reyes Station, Dillon Beach, Bodega Bay
Lovely old hotel in the tiny town of Tamales. Very clean, very peaceful. Has TV and internet.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in Dillon Beach

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Nice hotel, but heater in room was noisy throughout the night. Light breakfast consisted only of coffee and bran flakes. Luckily, Tomales Bakery across the street was good and affordable.
3 out of 5
by Robert

Posted Apr 6, 2017 on Hotels
We were give by email the code for the front door. Our room key was in an envelope at the front desk. We never saw anyone running the hotel, with the exception of the maid attending to rooms on the first day. The promised continental breakfast never appeared, and our bed was not made during our two-day stay. We and the two guests in other rooms of the hotel were all alone, totally unsupervised.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Way overpriced with disappointing breakfast

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
In a bed and breakfast I expect a real breakfast. This was coffee and a muffin. They should not use the term B& B Not worth the price Hair in my sink and the kitchenette sink also dirty
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

cleanliness of hotel

Posted Feb 20, 2017
It looked clean when we arrived. In the morning up waking up we saw about six little black ants crawling on our sheets.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Great place in a beautiful part of Northern California.