Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland

First trip to Tomar Portugal

Posted May 21, 2016
Pros: Staff and Location
Cons: The only improvement would be to add a keypad at the front door so I wouldn't wake up the staff when I would come in late nights.
Location: Parking a car is a problem, but everything you need to do or see in Tomar is within walking distance, to enjoy Tomar you need to get out and walk.
If your looking for a 5 star hotel with pools and hot tubs look some place else. But if you want to stay at a comfortable home that welcomes you with open arms, then this is the place for you. I was so happy with my stay I book a room for my next trip to Tomar.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, reasonably priced, good staff

Posted Jul 12, 2015
Old style character and charm, with rooms that are comfortable and clean and decorated with well loved furnishing. Staff were very accommodating and it's location right in the centre of the old town means the main tourist sites are within easy walking distance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Pennines

Old-fashioned Residencial in the pedestrian centre

Posted Sep 27, 2014
Pros: Old-fashioned, very good included breakfast. Very clean, comfortable and welcoming.
Cons: No tea-making facilities in my (single) room despite web site photos showing these being present!
Location: Castle, former convent with aqueduct. River and parks. Short trip to mediaeval walled town of Obidos, very touristy but well worth visiting.
A few minutes walk from the train and bus stations, on a popular pedestrianised street leading from the river to the town hall square and dominated by the Templar castle and former convent, which overlook the city centre. The staff are very welcoming (and speak good English). My room was a bit small but otherwise fine. There is a tourist road-train that offers to take you round the main sights - most of them can be visited easily on foot, but it does avoid the steep climb up to the castle gate: tickets are valid for three hours. There is a wall-walk round the old castle, but the convent buildings are also well worth a visit - I paid 3 euros as a pensioner. Toilets in two locations, cafe. Plenty of good eating and drinking places in the old town but avoid the bread and other starters if offered with a meal unless you want to pay for them.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Lovely, friendly place, very central. Good value.

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Pros: The staff, the breakfast room, the location, the sitting room.
Cons: The breakfast. It was good and varied and plentiful, but the bread and croissants could have been a bit nicer
Location: Walk around the town and the river. View point by a church on a hill behind the town. Very interesting ancient synagogue and the Convento de Christo.
Very good value. We stayed here with our 4 children and the hotel staff were really helpful. Two of our three rooms were light and airy and the third was a little dark, but still clean and comfortable so that didn't matter. The hotel has a lovely light breakfast room and a great sitting room for guests. You could really spend several days here comfortably. It is very centrally located on a pedestrianised street with a number if good cafés and restaurants. Tomar is a lovely town, great to wander round in the evening. It is worth staying there as the tour groups don't arrive until the middle if the day, so if you get to the fabulous Convento de Christo when it opens, you have the place pretty much to yourself for a couple of hours.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nancy from Toronto

Quaint lovely hotel

Posted May 19, 2014
Wonderful staff, lovely quaint hotel loved it & will go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location and friendly staff

Posted May 12, 2013
The location is excellent, being right in the centre of the town and close to all the attractions. Staff were very friendly and helpful. There is a nicely furnished residents' lounge, a free internet facility and a bar which is self service, something that I have not come across before. You serve yourself and fill in a form for anything consumed, which is then added to your bill. Rooms are just slightly dated but all in all, this is a nice place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by MeM from St Louis, MO, USA

Cute place to stay

Posted Oct 2, 2012
Pros: Great location, unique place to stay.
Cons: Internet, or lack thereof in the room. And the TV had maybe 6 channels all in Portugese. NO problem for me, but I had the impression there'd be more.
Location: Right where you want to be.
This place is very very cute. I raved about it to friends before I left. However, it is cute and quaint and might not be for everyone. My room was European sized (small) which was fine for me. I am 5'6" and my feet hung off the edge of the antique bed. Also, couldn't get the internet in my room. The location was great, the price was good, and it was a charming place to stay .
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Canberra, Australia

Very good value

Posted Nov 15, 2011
Location: Tmar s a small place but possesses the World Heritage listed Templar castle and monastery. Easy travel by bus tto Batalha and other places, or by regional train if you don' have a car (I did not) but note:service on weekends can be tricky
Situated right in the old part of town, short distance from the station (but no free car parking) friendly staff, cheerful breakfast room and satisfying breakfast ; wi-fi free but signal not strong enough in room but OK in large lounge with enough privacy. Can walk up to castle and monastery from hotel. Really good value. Note: the hotel does not have facilities to take credit cards but there is an ATM across the street.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 11, 2016
The staff are inexperienced. They are polite but can't help a lot.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Torino

Consigliatissimo!!!

Posted Sep 14, 2015
Pros: Posizione, accoglienza
Cons: colazione,da arricchire
Location: vicino a tutto ciò che vale la pena di visitare, posizione strategica, anche rispetto al parcheggio
Posizione ottima sulla via 'turistica' principale, vicino al fiume e con un'ottima vista sul castello dei templari e sulla piazza principale. Via sicura per i bambini, molti giocavano tranquilli in piazza con i genitori seduti ai tavoli dei ristoranti affacciati sulla piazza. Accoglienza dello staff STREPITOSA!!! con ottimi consigli su cosa visitare in città.