Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from staffs

Revenge of the Feral Pigeons

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: The room was clean & the bathroom shower pressure good.
Cons: Pest Control. The Bar should be staffed constantly & the staff could smile.
Location: Lots of decent Restaurants
The R&C is a quaint rickety Olde Worlde Hotel with a more recent modern annexe. I would not advise guests stay in the original building as you risk having your slumber spoilt by the incumbent family of feral pigeons who roost on the window ledges of the Hotel. The R&C would appeal most to Foreign Tourists & Pigeon Fanciers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

It was central to a family celebration.

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Pros: The food and convenience to local facilities.
Cons: Nothing really as it is a very old building but quite sensitively decorated for the Georgian era.
Location: As above good location and we went to local church and rugby club and shop.
We have stayed before at the Rose and Crown. It is right in the high street and the parking is good. We stayed for the 1 night after a family church service and celebration. We had a very good meal in the restaurant in the evening and the breakfast next morning was excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southampton, UK

Beautiful hotel in the city center

Posted Jan 20, 2017
The place is really fascinating. The building is a typical British building. The room was tidy and warm.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

location great and friendly,

Posted Nov 30, 2016 on Hotels
Great location, plenty of local eating places and friendly staff
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Warm and comfortable

Posted Nov 26, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was convenient for my brief visit to Tonbridge. It was warm and comfortable. However the front room was a bit noisy as it overlooks the high street. The floors were very squeaky, which I didn't mind but may annoy some people.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok stay

Posted Nov 26, 2016 on Hotels
Negatives - Poor shower - Dated décor Positives - Good location in town centre. Good choice of bars / restaurants - Good size bedroom - Good size TV in room
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient hotel

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
If you need to be in Tonbridge, this is a good place to stay - but do ask for a quiet room if you don't want noise from the High Street
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norfolk, UK

Convenient

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Pros: Convenient as nearby to our relatives who live in the town.
Cons: Some areas were looking a little 'tired'. Replacing hooks on back of door etc where they had obviously broken off.
Location: Tonbridge is a lovely town and with Tunbridge Wells nearby along with lots of N.T. Properties.
Found this hotel met our needs. Centred in the town centre, castle etc and also to relatives. Lots of National Trust properties in the area and parking on site at the Rose and Crown was also very useful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ksty TX USA

Very nice....Great food ....staff very helpful...

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Last came here 6 years ago...glad to see it still there as much of the history of the town has disappeared.....