Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Delightful Local Hotel in Tonga

Posted Aug 9, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: The Staff, brilliant!!
Cons: Bathroom facilities are a little tried and need an update.
Location: Very close to town and the Royal Palace. Typical island experiences. A hike to get to a nice beach though. photo that show scene at low tide
Overlooking the North Pacific Coast Black Pearl is run by a great team of locals. Whilst accommodation is not Sydney 5 star it is a a great experience Dinner is a must! The Fish is caught locally and is very fresh and well prepared, goes well with excellent New Zealand wines. I had swordfish twice both were memorable. I will stay again next time i am in Tonga.
4 out of 5
by Yvonne

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 30, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Honolulu

Quiet and Comfortable

Posted Mar 4, 2016
Pros: The breakfast is a good way to start your day
Location: The location is a bit out of town but it provides a very local feeling
The hotel is away from the center of town yet without walking distance. The location across from the ocean is very lovely and quiet. The staff is friendly and go out of their way to make you feel comfortable. The rooms are large with ample storage space.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 12, 2017 by rubs, Hotel Management
Malo e lelei Bob, Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again in our little Kingdom. 'Ofa atu from Management and Staffs of The Black Pearl Suite
3 out of 5
by Saul from Auckland

Posted Oct 7, 2015 on Hotels
Good comfortable rooms, friendly staff, good aircon. The wifi was hopeless but this was a network issue rather than hotel issue and was the same throughout Nukualofa.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Hospitality

Posted Sep 11, 2015
Pros: Away from the main town but not too far to walk. The owners and staff are very happy and friendly. Free WiFi.
Location: Hire a car to travel whole island to see all the main sights and beaches.
Our stay at The Black Pearl Suits was wonderful. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Food was very fresh and tasty. Big, clean room. Not too far from town. Lovely views of the sea.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 12, 2017 by rubs, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a feedback Dana. We hope to see you again in the Kingdom. 'Ofa atu
4 out of 5
by David from Wellington

Posted Jun 21, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel is in an old wooden building. It was nice and the people extra friendly. Nothing is too much trouble. The shower was like standing under a waterfall.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N.Z.

Rooms comfortable. Staff friendly and helpful.

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: Reasonably handy. Just a short taxi ride to town and markets etc
Location: Nice outlook to sea.. A lot of the sightseeing out of town a bit. Trips to nearby islands worthwhile.
Enjoyable stay at this hotel. Rooms comfortable and clean and staff friendly. But the neighbouring roosters need to be reprogrammed to start their communications as a civilized hour ! ! !
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 12, 2017 by Rubs, Hotel Management
Thank you Marion for your feedback and staying with you. Will try to talk to the Town Officer about neighbouring roosters. 'Ofa atu
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland, NZ

Not really what I expected :(

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: The staff were lovely & accommodating, they even allowed us to stay & have coffee using wifi after check out & were helpful when we needing something.
Cons: The bathrooms
Location: It was only a 5 minute drive from the main city so was handy & the beach was across the road (not generally a swimming beach but an ok beach)
Although the room was a good size I was a little disappointed with a few things. 1) The bathroom was not ventilated well (fan didn't work, no windows) so it had a strong musty/damp smell. The little bathroom shampoos/soaps were a little moldy indicating they had been there a while or were old. The air conditioning unit was noisy while running but with the heat this was essential.
3 out of 5
by Jerome from Perth

Black Pearl

Posted Jul 18, 2014 on Hotels
Good clean rooms for overnight stay. Nice food. A little far from the airport
3 out of 5
by SJ from Brisbane

Wonderful service

Posted Oct 9, 2013 on Hotels
Rooms are comfortable, but hilariously ugly and small. The quality of the service and food, though, are excellent. Location is a fair walk from the centre of town or a quick taxi ride.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 10, 2015
We have upgraded the rooms since April 2015, including our rooms at our first floor. Grateful that this feedback really made a difference for us to improve the standard and quality the room were during the time of our previous owners.