Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nz

Nice

Posted Dec 15, 2015
Pros: Great spot, quiet location.
Cons: lick of paint on the walls and ceilings,
Location: Foot of the mountain, close to town.
Nice hotel, good location, warm rooms slightly tired but still pleasant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 4, 2015
go through the hotel sight not here. good place to stray close to mountain
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Blenheim

Backpacker style hotel.

Posted Oct 5, 2015
Pros: Stuff friendliness, warm
Cons: Bathrooms, rooms facility.
One night was ok. hotel has no proper bathroom just little toilet and shower cubicle so brush your tooth in little toilet sink or I was just to blind and didn't find normal size sink. Our room was without any sofa, hooks for jackets or wet towels, very little space for luggage and without any wardrobe. Bedding and mattress were disgusting so many thin layers of oldschool style blankets on very soft cheapest spring mattress. We were only two of us so we can fit to room no worry. I think in case of emergency stay1 night for 110$ 2adults and 2 kids that's not to bad, hotel was quiet warm. Also have communal kitchen that's great. Unfortunately we had no choice because every each hotel and lodge for reasonable price in Tongariro was sold out. I stayed in Ohakune before so I know there are places where is possible to get full equipped studio for similar or even cheaper price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Nice hotel for a weekend at the snow

Posted Sep 21, 2015
Pros: Flexibility with arrival time and cleanliness
Cons: The bed was a double so a bit small and a bit creaky but I still had a good sleep.
Location: There are restaurants maybe 100-200m away and it is a short drive to the township.
The hotel was very flexible around our late arrival. The hotel was quiet, had a nice kitchen and shared area for making our own meals. Lovely warm shower and nice clean room. There was a good sized drying room for wet ski gear and parking was near the building. The spa was very relaxing and its close to restaurants. I would stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good budget accomodation

Posted Jul 23, 2015
what you would expect for the price, all good, excellent location, friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Just fine

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Nice restaurant. Small, tidy, comfortable room. We got in late and left early, so little was actually memorable for us.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Wellington

Location and functional comfort

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Nice place to stay close to Ohakune junction - for skiing, mountian biking the Old Coach Rd or, as in our case, two friends running and climbing Ruapehu from Turoa skifield. No complaints. Good service. Fairly priced (we were off season). Nothing fancy but exactly what we needed. Very short walk to the café and pub.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Just an 'overnighter'. Well suited for this purpos

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Pros: the price and location.
Cons: nothing that i can think of.
Location: went for bike ride through ohakune and car trip up to turoa skifields for sight seeing.
As above. Enjoyed our stay. Great bike trails and walks in the area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

ok

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Pros: locations good, cheap, comfortable bed
Cons: upstairs kitchen needs more cups etc, complimentary milk
Location: not many places to eat in Ohakune late at night
average place, not much in room. was hard to find a cup to have a cup of tea with. heard some weird noises during the night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2015 by Lee, Hotel Management
Hi - Brent stayed in one of our Economy Rooms. Comfortable budget friendly rooms with all bed linen provided, Towels and TV. There is a fully contained communal kitchen in the lodge - with about 30 cups :) - and a guest dining and lounge area. Our en suite rooms have, as extra, there own bathrooms and fridge. These are nice recently renovated rooms. The motel units are all fully self contained. Thus we have a wide range of accommodation which is great as you can choose what suits your own personal needs and budget.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane, Australia

Great place

Posted Jan 14, 2015
Very clean and well layed out unit. Close to attractions. Parking right next to accommodation which was great.