Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Wonderful room with lots of space, friendly owner and delicious food. Affordable price and a cute dog too
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Place OK, but Basil Fawlty not far away...

Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Shared lounge was really promising.
Cons: Landlord could leave guests alone in peace. Rooms on one level better than mezzanine layout. Nothing can be done but a rebuild for that...
The facilities are okay though my room had a mezzanine bedroom which is a slightly weird and uncomfortable layout. Would have preferred a single level room at the ground floor where I could park my car directly outside, with good light and indoor/outdoor flow - perhaps a deck/balcony. The shared lounge was welcoming. I arrived very late after a long drive and was greeted by a nice fire, comfy couches, an old friend who had been waiting for a few hours and a lovely bottle of wine on the coffee table. The landlords (husband and wife team) were enjoying the wine and chatting with my friend. First sign of things being a little awry was the landlord (him) telling me he'd upgraded my room. I hadn't asked for it and didn't really care and I found it an unusual thing to say. Or maybe the way he said it was off. He mentioned it again before too long. I was looking forward to a catch up with my old friend in that lovely lounge but it wasn't to be. A loud sports game was on the TV right over the fire. We couldn't get away from it. I asked if we needed the sports game on and he, the husband, said it wouldn't be much longer and said he'd turn it down. We didn't notice a difference and he clearly was going to continue to watch this intrusive game in the shared facility which we, as guests, had paid to use. Surely he had his own TV? The lounge in the room was tiny and uncomfortable. The landlord mentioned the room upgrade AGAIN in the morning. I would not stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hot and unconfortablble

Posted Mar 4, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Not much..
Cons: Stop the deceptive advertising, tell it for what it really is.... a low cost hotel with limited and aging facilities.
Location: Trip to the snow fields even in summer is a treat., fantastic scenery.
Barking dog to great you, dirty entrance with old sneakers lying in the entrance. We got upgraded to the executive suite, would have hated to see what we would have had if not upgraded. Downstairs was a pokey area and upstairs was hot, had broken windows and HOT, no air conditioning.
4 out of 5
by Philip from Leicestershire

Posted Jan 10, 2016 on Hotels
Very comfortable good friendly service, nice comfy room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly and Helpful

Posted Oct 3, 2015 on Wotif
Arrived too late for dinner at about 8pm and left too early for breakfast 6.50am which was a shame because we were hungry! Couldn't connect to the internet on our ipads despite several tries. Friendly and helpful - we left my daughters bed toy and they made sure it was safe till we collected it - they even brought it out to the car.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ohakune - ski accommodation

Posted Sep 29, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: warm, easy, big shared lounge, breakfast service
Cons: not sure free wifi maybe? better beds, not sure if there was a drying facility for ski clothing.
Location: handy to town, perfect, easy 2 min drive.
Tussock is well located, parking is easy, close to the accommodation unit. Rooms were functional, but you can't really cook in them, forgot to take togs for using the spa, next time . Single beds were not as comfortable as I was hoping, but functional all the same. Overall, a very warm, safe, place to stay, would recommend to friends and family
3 out of 5
by daniel from Hong kong

Posted Jul 26, 2015 on Hotels
Good location to ski field
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from auckland

Posted Jul 11, 2015
Great trully boutique hotel, conveniently located for those skiing at Toroa, less than a minute drive from Ohakune. The best hotel owners we have ever met. My 6 year old son befriended with the owners' dog so we definitely be back.
5 out of 5
by peter from Granby

A warm welcome after the Gentle Annie

Posted Jun 29, 2015 on Hotels
We received a warm NZ welcome after quite the drive in the pouring rain. What a treat, the owners were so nice to our family and helped us feel at home. The hotel was quiet and well suited for a night during our travels in the North Island. The room was wonderful and had two levels for extra comfort and privacy. It was a perfect stop and we learned a bit about Rugby from the owners watching a little TV by their warm fire.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from auckland

Great location with a warm welcome

Posted Jun 22, 2015 on Wotif
Great location and the spa Pool is great this was my second visit and I will definitely be back. Massive thanks to the hosts and the pup for making us feel so welcome. I rate this place ten plus 😊