Ratings based on 163 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Posted Dec 4, 2017
This place was a absolute jewel! The night there highlighted our vacation. Topanga is charming village and to get to the inn you drove this beautiful country road. The house itself stand on the hill and was charming inside. We enjoyed the fireplace in the living room and didn’t want to leave the place so we picked up delicious dinner from local restaurant. Catherine and her sister made delicious breakfast in the morning. If you like peace and quiet and nature you won’t be disappointed to stay there!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great touches!

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Pros: Charming and quiet. Completely out of the way of city anything.
Cons: Parking was atrocious!
Location: The Inn at the Seventh Ray was divine for Sunday brunch.
I stayed in the Rhett and Scarlett suite. It had ornate, beautiful amenities to match the era of the movie. Great tub and shower. Very clean.
5 out of 5
by Patrick

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 21, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Raleigh

Decent location, but needs an update

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Pros: Bed
Cons: Noted above
Location: Close to Santa Monica area
I suppose we are not B+B people, so that is part of it - but very disappointing for the price. Bedroom carpet was heavily stained and looks like my last college rental. I can't understand why it wouldn't be replaced yet, that would cost less than one nights fee in the place. Doesn't make sense. Bathroom is old, shower head covered in hard water stains. Toothbrush holder has years of old toothpaste runoff. Towels had soured / smelled awful. No TV in room. WiFi is using old routers, can't handle two devices - big deal with other renters, and no TV. Bed was new and very comfortable, at least. Parking is ok. Disappointing. Worst of all places I rented all week, and also the most expensive.
5 out of 5
by Paul

Perfect stay at Topanga Canyon Inn

Posted Sep 25, 2017 on Hotels
The hospitality of the hostesses was outstanding & definately recommend! The ambiance is perfect, it's a quiet location & was ideal spot for us based upon what we wanted to see/where we were going. Was not aware previously of the artistic talents of the hostess so wish we had more time to enjoy the beautiful paintings!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 13, 2017
Thank you Paul, you are the best. Elena
5 out of 5
by Margaret

Posted Aug 24, 2017 on Hotels
Wonderful place in a beautiful setting. Owners were delightful and very helpful. Will definitely stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 13, 2017
Thank you Margaret, you are a wonderful guest.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Serenity!!!

Posted Aug 6, 2017 on Hotels
What a delightful place! It is in an extraordinary setting with beautiful views of Topanga Canyon. The inn was spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated. I brought snacks in case I didn't find the breakfast appealing. Didn't need the snacks! The breakfast was elegant! One thing tourists should be aware of is that the roads in Topanga Canyon are treacherous -- narrow, steep, and winding. The locals can navigate the roads with their eyes closed and at breath-taking speeds. They tend to tailgate slower drivers. If you're driving, give yourself plenty of time, pull over to let the crazy locals pass, and do the driving in the daylight -- if possible. The Inn is hard to find, but the owners emailed excellent, detailed directions. It's worth the trip!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Heavenly

Posted Jul 31, 2017 on Hotels
Wonderful family. Dignity + good manners Delicious breakfasts Romantic tranquil getaway fro it sll
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 6, 2017
Thank you, we appreciate your kind review very much.
1 out of 5
by Maryam

Disappointed!

Posted Jun 17, 2017 on Hotels
Bed and Breakfast venues usually remind us of charming, romantic, quaint places that are cozy and comfortable to settle in while you're away from home! They're sort of a "home away from home" kind of a place. Not this one! This place, although in a very quiet and beautiful corner of beautiful canyon, reminded me more of a hostel than a B&B. We were first greeted by a very young girl (probably 15 or 16) who awkwardly introduced herself as "one of the managers". While she was going over the rules of our stay, the only other adult In the room (I assumed she was her mother), sat quietly behind her computer monitor and barely made eye contact with us, although we were sitting at the same desk! So the reception was very cold and awkward! The place as a whole was grossly misrepresented as there was no "view of the mountains" from our room and our "private" bathroom was located outside of the room in the common area! Also the "charming patio" consisted of a small couch placed in front of the garage, in the driveway, which its view was unfortunately blocked by the parked cars! My partner and I stayed about 3 hours and decided not to spend the night there and we left! It was a waste of our money and our time and I wish the place had not been misrepresented so!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2017
When the majority of our reviews paint a different picture, one could clearly see that the issue lies elsewhere. While we don't claim to be perfect and we strive to improve our Inn, we find this review grossly unfair. We do have rooms with en suite (inside) bathrooms such as the Rhett and Scarlet room that offers unobstructed mountain views, two balconies, fireplace, Jacuzzi spa, skylights and a walk-in closet. However these guests chose the least expensive Nick and Nora room, the detailed description of which is clearly stated online and was emailed to them with their confirmation. Despite its low price the Nick and Nora room offers antique Stickley furniture and original watercolor paintings by your hostess Elena Roche. At the time these guests booked this room there were several others available, the choice was theirs. The manager, our daughter, is not 15, she is an adult and is far from being awkward. She grew up in this business, catering to guests and can sense hostility. The area in front of the garage is not the "charming patio" we advertise. This is an area for guests to sit while waiting for Uber/car service pick up. If you ask us about the patio/deck we will be more than happy to show you the way; we have two of them with unobstructed views. We try to keep the check-in process short, as not everyone wants the grand tour of the house. Breakfast is when we, your hosts, and guests get to socialize. Had these guests stayed for breakfast they would have had a chance to meet wonderful and interesting people from England, Latvia, Mexico, Arizona, California and New York as well as enjoy our French press coffee, orange juice, fresh baked muffins, fried potatoes with veggies, sunny-side eggs and sausage for meat eaters. We cooked this breakfast with these guests' vegetarian diet in mind. The least they could do is have the decency to tell us they would not be coming instead of leaving without an official check-out and let their portions go to waste.
5 out of 5
by Matthew

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 4, 2017 on Hotels