Ratings based on 357 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Affordable stay close to KU

Posted Sep 24, 2016
This motel was very close to KU and walking distance to many restaurants and shops. The bed was comfortable and room overall fairly clean, but in much need of updating. Bathtub drain was plugged. Complimentary breakfast was nice.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from AR

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Pros: Staff very friendly and helpful. Everything appeared to be very clean. Breakfast excellent.
Cons: Air conditioner cooled but fan made sound like wind was blowing outside including variation in wind sound. Didn't bother me but might some people.
Excellent location. Everything top notch. Truly customer oriented.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Juneau, AK

It wasn't too bad.

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Pros: convenience
Cons: get the bugs out.
I didn't like to have to kill cockroaches in the bathroom.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Good hotel, good area

Posted Sep 10, 2016
This was a perfectly fine hotel in a decent area. The hotel was clean, staff was friendly. Everything met expectations. I thought the continental breakfast was disappointing. There are some restaurants within walking distance and some fast food places within a short car drive. This hotel is about a 5 minute drive from downtown Lawrence.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wyoming

close to KU

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Have stayed here twice now. Will stay again when we visit.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to KU

Posted Aug 23, 2016
2nd time here but this time not so great. Here for 4 nights, one day room was not made up, I had a bad light in bathroom which I asked to be fixed on first day - it was never fixed, jacuzzi did not work for two days. For a semi- large motel there was only one washer/dryer which was always in use. I love the location but they need a little more attention to their guests.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly, clean, central

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: Room, breakfast, pool
Location: Great location near KU with shopping and food in walking distance.
We enjoyed our stay at the Best Western in Lawrence. The staff was very friendly and helpful, particularly when we couldn't get our remote to work. The pool facility is spa-like. Good breakfast (love the sausage gravy and biscuits. Competitive rate.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Inconvienient

Posted Aug 21, 2016
I travel all the time and stay at Best Western alot. Usually can get in when i get there. If they had a full night from before they always make sure they can get me in asap. I had meetings that day that started at 2:45 and i needed to take a shower and etc. I could not check into 3 and noone seem to speed the processs up. They had no water like hotels usually do in lobby either. I finally got into my room the AC had problems with coolness and the next morning my boyfriend came over and the maid walked in on us while we were in bed!!!!! Their was a "no disturb sign" on door but she came in with no knock or anything. Ive never been so embarrassed . I will never stay at this location again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYC and Florida

Clean, helpful staff, comparable to a Hampton Inn

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Pros: There is also a small gym and workout area and free computers and free WI-Fi.
Cons: Maybe free weights in the gym.
Location: Its also close, walking distance to a CVS and numerous restaurants.
Clean, helpful staff, comparable to a Hampton Inn...but the buffet was even better than a Hampton. Its also close, walking distance to a CVS and numerous restaurants. The price changes depending on day of the week but hovers around $100 a night as of summer 2016. There is also a small gym and workout area and free computers Highly recommended.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Greensburg, KS

Close to KU

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Clean quiet rooms. Lots of eating and shopping optiobs