Ratings based on 504 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Ok hotel. Desk staff very friendly and eager to please.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bullhead City,AZ

Lot's of renovation going on

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Pros: Location. room size, rate( this stay),clean.
There's a lot of renovation going on but they have to do it sometime. They did drop their rates during the construction. A little noise but not bad at all. This is generally a nice hotel and not fully sure what's occurred over the last few years. Change of ownership? Management lost track? Not sure. Will have to check back in a year and see where they are at then.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from KS

Center of Topeka

Posted Jul 10, 2017
I stayed at Capitol Plaza for a convention. Hotel is lovely and comfortable. Pool and fitness center are great. Since it's connected to Maner Conference Center, it's roomy enough for a good sized convention. Only drawback is it is not located near restaurants.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kansas City

Don't Stay Here

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Most the S taff particularly the bar staff where just rude. Booked a room for my niece and two small children the AC did not work, TV did not work, and toilet would not flush. Instead of moving them to another room they said they had no other in same category. Most hotels would have apologized and upgrade them to another room, it caused my niece and family late at night to drive 75 miles home. They did refund money but this poor service poor maintained hotel just should not be on anyone's list to stay. I travel business almost every week one of my worst experiences in many years- book else where
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Nice rooms and beds

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Nice rooms and beds, but the set-up is all rooms are in a circle around an open, central courtyard with a bar on the ground floor. We were on the 4th floor and even though people in the bar weren't being overly loud on a Saturday night, we could hear all the lyrics to the music downstairs and hear conversation. The facilities are nice. Not sure how or if management can fix the sound tube issue. Rock meet hard place. Again, other than that, great place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Barrington, IL

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Convenient location. Spacious, comfortable rooms. Friendly staff.
5 out of 5
by David

A great weekend at the Capitol Plaza

Posted May 16, 2017 on Hotels
I thoroughly enjoyed my weekend at the Capitol Plaza Hotel. Your staff was accommodating and very friendly. The room was great and the bed very comparable the next time I'm in that part of the country I will make it up A point to stay at your hotel again. Thanks for a great weekend!
4 out of 5
by Rori

Posted May 15, 2017 on Hotels
They couldn't find my reservation. Then they had me in a kind instead of 2 double beds. It was an inconvenience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Uncooperative

Posted May 13, 2017 on Hotels
Booked reservation through Hotels.com & therefore pre-paid. Capital Plaza however put a hold on our account for 6 days for the full amount even though we called the hotel inquiring of such hold. They agreed that the reservation had been pre-paid but left the hold on for another 4 days. Unacceptable since room had been pre-paid well over a month prior to the stay.
3 out of 5
by D'Ana

Will find alternate lodgings next time

Posted May 11, 2017 on Hotels
The rooms we stayed in looked very outdated. The worst part was that a staff member came into my room while I was in the bathroom. Was obviously shocked and said, "I thought this room was vacant", and left.