Ratings based on 340 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Nice facility, indoor pool and lounge seating. Close to highway.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2017 by Tiffany Lammon, Convention Services Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the hotel's amenities and excellent location. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas

Great Hotel great location

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: Pool on hot tub for kids
Clean comfortable room with a friendly staff. Restaurant food was excellent
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 21, 2017 by Tiffany Lammon, Convention Services Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review, Rob. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the restaurant, cleanliness of the hotel, friendliness of our staff, and our great location. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you're in the Lawrence area. Safe travels!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Exceptional Location, right off highway

Posted Mar 17, 2017
We only stayed one night and every staff member we encountered was awesome!! Our room was clean, comfortable and perfect! What more could you ask for!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 21, 2017 by Tiffany Lammon, Convention Services Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review, Lupita. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and excellent location. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in the Lawrence area!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Beautiful room, very clean and comfortable. Staff were professional and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 28, 2017 by Tiffany Lammon, Convention Services Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for your positive comments about your recent stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Lawrence. We hope to see you again soon. Safe travels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel was nice and easy location.

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Reserved through Expedia but then hotel processed an additional $25 charge when I received a statement of 0 balance due. Can't figure what that was for so most likely won't stay there again or use Expedia for reservations anymore.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 9, 2017 by Tiffany Lammon, Convention Services Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback about your stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Lawrence. I apologize that there was an issue with your bill, and we would love to review the situation with you over phone if you have the time to contact us. The next time you are in the Lawrence area we hope that you will consider staying with us again. We will have a warm chocolate chip cookie waiting for you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Central Kansas

Close to our family reunion

Posted Dec 1, 2016 on Orbitz
I made reservations 4 weeks prior and when I checked in, they didn't have the suite I requested. They made it up to me immediately and we all had a wonderful stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 9, 2017 by Tiffany Lammon, Convention Services Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review about your stay at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Lawrence. I am pleased to hear that our hotel staff rectified the situation for you. We hope to see you again soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean, updated, business-friendly Hotel

Posted Nov 27, 2016 on Hotels
While our overall stay was comfortable, we were disappointed in some of the changes made upon the change of ownership. My family looked forward to using the pool tables outside the pool, but they have been removed. The downstairs hotel staff and the staff of both the restaurant and grill were PHENOMENAL! I was hoping for a bit more from the housekeeping staff, though I am certain that part of the problem was the extra work needed for the holiday week. One day we did not receive replenished toiletries, the next, no coffee (that's kind of a big problem for us). All in all, we will weigh heavily the next time that we go to Lawrence if we really want to be in a "business" hotel, something that is more family friendly, or one of the local hotels that captures the character of Lawrence. For the price, likely we would not stay at the DoubleTree again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 15, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your honest review of your recent stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Lawrence. At DoubleTree by Hilton, we like to provide a personalized experience for each of our guests, but also look for ways to keep costs low while providing comfort and convenience. We appreciate your feedback and we'll keep it in mind as we work to make our services better. Best wishes, Tiffany Lammon, Convention Services Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful room, great staff, pet friendly

Posted Nov 8, 2016 on Hotels
They put me near an exit so I could take my dog in and out easier to potty... price was high for the room 215 wi tax, but a great room. Hot tub was great, pool was broke Sunday am for awhile, but they got it fixed and didn't complain we checked out almost an hour late so that we could use it
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 15, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Lawrence. I'm happy to hear that our service and our great amenities made your stay more comfortable. Hope to see you again soon, Tiffany Lammon, Convention Services Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Easy check in and great location! Nicely updated

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: The room was great! Fantastic shower! Very comfortable bed and great pillows.
Cons: Wish the breakfast was included. The free coffee by the front desk was always empty.
Location: Easy on and off highway.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 9, 2017 by Tiffany Lammon, Convention Services Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, Susan. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the comfortable bed, pillows, shower, room, and location. I apologize that the coffee by the front desk was empty, and since your stay, we have resolved this issue by having both the front desk and breakfast servers monitoring it. We hope you will stay with us again the next time you are in Lawrence. Safe travels.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Not really a Hilton...yet

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: That it's in Lawrence and seemed clean enough.
Cons: No cookie. Reserved a king room but was given queen. Sundry shop is tiny. Remodeled design resulted in dark, bland spaces. Building not secured.
Location: Lawrence is a great location, and this hotel is not far from downtown.
This hotel is open as a Doubletree, but it's still going through renovation. So don't expect a hot cookie or Hilton-like accommodations, at least not yet. The renovation plan they chose is weird. They walked up the interior balconies and replaced them with tiny windows, so if you get an interior room, be prepared for a dark, creepy space. It was better as the Holidome. Most alarmingly, because it's still under construction, they leave all of the back exit doors unlocked and completely unsecured ALL NIGHT. So any creeper can just walk on in.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 9, 2017 by Tiffany Lammon, Convention Services Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review last fall, Lisa. I would like to apologize for all the issues you experienced during your stay. Our guests' health and safety is extremely important to us, and I assure you that all of our entrances are secure at this point in time. We appreciate feedback like yours as it has helped us reach the standard of hospitality you and all of our guests deserve from a DoubleTree by Hilton property. We would love to show you the major improvements in our staff and hotel if given the chance the next time you return to Lawrence. Safe travels.