Ratings based on 553 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Perfect hotel if you want a romper room.

Posted Jun 14, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything-pool, cleanliness, water dripping from the ceilings, safety issues, smell, staff.
Location: Unsure
We were so disappointed in this Ramada property. The pool is literally in the lobby and while we were trying to check in there were what felt like hundreds of kids running through the lobby screaming and chasing each other. We had to wait quite some time to be served at the desk. When we got our room we had water dripping on our heads in the hallways, and the room had a dirty odor to it. I called Expedia to try and cancel our reservation so we could find another hotel but the hotel was unwilling to let us out of our reservation At one point when we went to ask the staff a question he proceeded to help two other guests before us even though we had been waiting longer. I would never recommend this property and I would highly discourage anyone from staying here, it is dirty and outdated and loud. The room was very hot at night and despite there being a thermostat on the wall it was inoperable and the room remained hot all night. For the money? Not worth it. Run far far away!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2017 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Thank you Cara for sharing your experience. We will be addressing your experience with the Front Desk Manager. Such items are normally addressed immediately after our guests communicate their needs. We are disappointed this didn't happen and wish you safe travels.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Happy we only had to stay 1night....not exactly great
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 10, 2017 by Victoria Meyers, GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing. We're glad to see you left happy, but with "not exactly great", tells us we could've "wow'd" you more! We will share this with the team. We are very grateful you chose to stay with us and hope you join us again where we get a chance to truly put the "wow" in your stay! Happy and safe travels!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Probably don't stay here

Posted May 31, 2017
Pros: The hotel staff tried to help and were nice.
Cons: See "write about your experience."
Location: Don't know.
When we arrived and went to our room: the phone in our room did not work, there was NO hot water, there were no tables by the side of the bed. The hotel had a Bar & Grill but they didn't have a liquor license yet. We ordered nachos to share, and it took 40 minutes to get our food. The cheese on the nachos was out of a bottle and not cheddar, etc. It was one of the worst hotel experiences we have ever had. Probably don't stay here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 2, 2017 by Victoria Meyers, GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your concerns. Your maintenance orders were reported and taken care of. Our liquor license is temporary - just a change over in ownership - but I'm disappointed you had to wait 40-min for nachos. I will relay this to our chef in effort to resolve anything that was a contributing factor. We do appreciate the feedback and will continue to strive to make all our guests as comfortable as possible. Thank you again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It was a nice stay

Posted May 30, 2017
It seem to be pretty good. All but the miring food. And the restaurant that never was open
Comment from Hotel Management
May 31, 2017 by Victoria Meyers, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your thoughts. Our restaurant did finally open - we had team members that struggled getting in and we deeply apologize for that. We're glad otherwise, that you enjoyed your stay! Happy and safe travels.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Topeka KS

You pay for what you get :(

Posted May 25, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: The whole hotel.
Taking a shower around 10 pm had luke warm water, wife took bath around 11 pm had cold water, she was not pleased. She spoke to night supervisor all he had was excuses no solutions. Next morning the same supervisor gave us another room I went to check out the hot water there and same results None. That evening had hot water not sure what they did but at least had hot water. Next morning breakfast to be served from 6 to 9 went to the restaurant at 604 lights off nothing going on did not see any employees, called the same supervisor and he told me breakfast is from 6-9 and it is only 604? I told him then breakfast is 4 minutes late and that should not be the case. We packed up and checked out.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 27, 2017 by Victoria Meyers, GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience. Unfortunately, we experienced unexpected issues with our broiler for which we continued to fix until it was finally resolved. Your experience with our breakfast crew however, will be shared. We value our guests that start their day early and you should not have waited to eat. Wishing you the best for your travels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Out of state

It was what we needed

Posted May 15, 2017
After searching extensively through horrifically overpriced hotels in Overland Park, KS, we opted to stay in Topeka. It was an excellent choice -- a solid value and a clean place to stay. Thank you for not gouging the sh*t out of people who just want a decent hotel room!!!!!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2017 by Victoria Meyers, GM, Hotel Management
High-Five there Kewbee! I'm so glad to see you enjoyed your stay! I will share this with the team while we continue our efforts in improving our hotel and overall service. We hope to see you again soon!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: BREAKFAST WAS DECENT.
Cons: TEMPERATURE CONTROL IN ROOM-COULDN'T TURN A/C LOWER. THE NOISE WAS TERRIBLE SINCE WE GOT THE ROOM RIGHT BY GAME ROOM AND AN OUTSIDE DOOR.
NOT GREAT OVERALL. IT WAS JUST TOO NOISY AND COULD USE SOME ROOM UPDATES.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2017 by Victoria Meyers, GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your recent experience. I'm glad breakfast was good - but I'm sorry to learn your AC wasn't functioning properly. And no doubt, we cater to a lot of families hence the game area and water slide, so yes, rooms that are in that area will tend to be much noisier than others. We have plenty of rooms that provide peace and quiet for those who seek it. Our property will also be undergoing updates soon, so we hope you try us again in the future. Thank you so much for staying. We hope to see you soon.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Topeka Ks

Kids Birthday

Posted May 9, 2017
Well first off the pool kept minimal to no towels at pool. Beds were super uncomfortable. Shower hasn't been updated since it was built. ALL THAT SAID TWO CHILDREN HAVE DIED IN THAT POOL IN THE LAST FOUR YEARS!!! Be careful and pay attention because there pool attendant and none of their staff will. This hotel was one of a kind when it was owned by Holiday Inn. Ramada or their owners of this hotel have ran it into disgusting trash hole. I recommend any other hotel than this. Especially considering the price.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 15, 2017 by Victoria Meyers, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. While the hotel was let go for a few years, it's under brand new management and ownership where attention to the property in needed areas are being addressed. And with regards to our pool, while we are very sad for the pool incidents, as all our signs post - all children must be supervised. Many plans are under way for future renovations. We hope to see you again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to an event i was attending

Posted May 4, 2017
The hotel is badly in need of renovating/ repair. There are water stauns everywhere. Chipped paint on walls and in bath tub. Breakfast was ok however you could tell they had microwaved the biscuits and the food was slow coming out of the kitchen. Had to ask staff for several things thay werent out eg creamer jelly and butter.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 15, 2017 by Victoria Meyers, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We apologize for the unfortunate "condition issues". However, since, the chipped paint has now been re-done as many items are being addressed. We do have a large property and items in need of care take a little longer to complete. The food quality and service will be shared with the team, however. I would expect your next visit to be quite different.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from b

Poor service traver

Posted May 1, 2017
Old pool smelled. Breakfast was lukewarm and very little to choose from. Not up to standard. Staff was interested in other things on there computer.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 15, 2017 by Victoria Meyers, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We're very sorry we did not meet your expectations and will be sharing this with the team and managers.