Ratings based on 571 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Convenient to highway but would not stay again

Posted Aug 5, 2017
This hotel needs a serious makeover and training of the staff. We arrived after a long night of traveling and the two clerks at the front desk made it known they were new and didn't know what was going on. I was asked if I paid for the room. I had and was told that they can't really check that when booking on Expedia. I wasn't asked to give a credit card at check in. Got to the room and there was no Wi Fi and no fridge as shown in pictures of the room. We only had two towels in the bathroom but reservation was for three people. The second day there our room was not made up so I had to call for that and then make plans to leave room again for them to clean. I would not recommend this place but there is a pool with water slide inside the hotel lobby area. The included breakfast is terrible too.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2017 by Victoria Meyers, GM, Hotel Management
Sorry to learn about your visit - yes, the property is in transition and we're awaiting for the green light when we get a full face lift. We will share your breakfast concerns as typically, guests find it pretty good! Happy and safe travels.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Hotel price was too high for quality. It is old with musty smell, stained carpet and ceiling tiles. Towels were not always available. REFRIDGERATOR in room was very loud and sounded like a bee hive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2017 by Victoria Meyers, GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing and we're sorry to hear your stay could've been much better! We've addressed your concerns and look forward to the day when our hotel gets a full face lift. Happy and safe travels.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from indiana

NO TOWELS!

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: They room should be ready at the 4:00 pm check in time.
Location: n/a. We slept.
After driving all day in the 107 degree heat, there were no towels in the room when we checked in at 6:00 pm. We asked for towels right away and was told they were running behind. An hour later I asked for towels again, was told 30 minutes. Waited another hour (it is now 8:00 pm) and asked for towels again. Was handed 1 bath towel and 1 hand towel (no wash cloths). The staff at the desk acted like I was being unreasonable because I wanted towels in my room. I was told that I would then receive double towels because I came to the desk to pick up my towel. NEVER received a full set of towels. I will NEVER stay at this location again!!!!!!!!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2017 by Victoria Meyers, GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing and we deeply apologize for the lack of towel inventory. Many of the team families were hoarding 9-10 sets of towels per room and made it very difficult for the hotel to take care of the remaining guest. We do hope your family remains well and enjoys the rest of the summer.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't stay here....

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Slide broken, dirty room, brown water came out of tub, "non-smoking" smelled like smoke, no breakfast left an hour before breakfast was over and no plates out
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by Victoria Meyers, GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your recent experience. We apologize for the breakfast and will share it with the team for continued improvement. The slide was never broken - so not sure what you may have encountered. However, we'll definitely ensure the items you've mentioned are addressed. Safe travels.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean, older hotel with a friendly staff

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Hotel is not as shiny and new as the pictures show, but it was clean and the staff was very friendly. Nice breakfast buffet. We did not use the pool.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2017 by Victoria Meyers, GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing and no - many photos are of course older and we're working on getting new ones. Other than age though, much is the same. We are also working to bring up many areas of the hotel with new refurbishments and hopefully soon, we'll be as shiny as ever. Our team will be very pleased to learn they took good care of you. Hope to see you again real soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Website boasted jetted tubs in all rooms, false. Tub was stained, toilet seat was rusty, wallpaper in bathroom was old and stained also. Bathroom was a huge disappointment, the room itself wasn't bad except it reeked of chlorine.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2017 by Victoria Meyers, GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience and concerns. Sorry - while we have several room with jet tubs, not all have them. We will double check the website to see what needs to be fixed. Our maintenance team has responded to the needs to improve on that bathroom. We look forward to having you again - have a great summer!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Perfect hotel if you want a romper room.

Posted Jun 14, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything-pool, cleanliness, water dripping from the ceilings, safety issues, smell, staff.
Location: Unsure
We were so disappointed in this Ramada property. The pool is literally in the lobby and while we were trying to check in there were what felt like hundreds of kids running through the lobby screaming and chasing each other. We had to wait quite some time to be served at the desk. When we got our room we had water dripping on our heads in the hallways, and the room had a dirty odor to it. I called Expedia to try and cancel our reservation so we could find another hotel but the hotel was unwilling to let us out of our reservation At one point when we went to ask the staff a question he proceeded to help two other guests before us even though we had been waiting longer. I would never recommend this property and I would highly discourage anyone from staying here, it is dirty and outdated and loud. The room was very hot at night and despite there being a thermostat on the wall it was inoperable and the room remained hot all night. For the money? Not worth it. Run far far away!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2017 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Thank you Cara for sharing your experience. We will be addressing your experience with the Front Desk Manager. Such items are normally addressed immediately after our guests communicate their needs. We are disappointed this didn't happen and wish you safe travels.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Happy we only had to stay 1night....not exactly great
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 10, 2017 by Victoria Meyers, GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing. We're glad to see you left happy, but with "not exactly great", tells us we could've "wow'd" you more! We will share this with the team. We are very grateful you chose to stay with us and hope you join us again where we get a chance to truly put the "wow" in your stay! Happy and safe travels!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Probably don't stay here

Posted May 31, 2017
Pros: The hotel staff tried to help and were nice.
Cons: See "write about your experience."
Location: Don't know.
When we arrived and went to our room: the phone in our room did not work, there was NO hot water, there were no tables by the side of the bed. The hotel had a Bar & Grill but they didn't have a liquor license yet. We ordered nachos to share, and it took 40 minutes to get our food. The cheese on the nachos was out of a bottle and not cheddar, etc. It was one of the worst hotel experiences we have ever had. Probably don't stay here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 2, 2017 by Victoria Meyers, GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your concerns. Your maintenance orders were reported and taken care of. Our liquor license is temporary - just a change over in ownership - but I'm disappointed you had to wait 40-min for nachos. I will relay this to our chef in effort to resolve anything that was a contributing factor. We do appreciate the feedback and will continue to strive to make all our guests as comfortable as possible. Thank you again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It was a nice stay

Posted May 30, 2017
It seem to be pretty good. All but the miring food. And the restaurant that never was open
Comment from Hotel Management
May 31, 2017 by Victoria Meyers, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your thoughts. Our restaurant did finally open - we had team members that struggled getting in and we deeply apologize for that. We're glad otherwise, that you enjoyed your stay! Happy and safe travels.