Ratings based on 176 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wichita

Nice hotel in good location at end of Mass St

Posted Apr 19, 2016
Stayed one night for son's birthday. Hotel was reasonably comfortable with a nice location on river at end of Mass St. Pay a lot for location. Trains run through nearby throughout night. Earplugs supplied by hotel did well at blocking out that noise but were a bit uncomfortable. Nice complimentary breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2016 by Edgar R., Hotel Management
Hello Denise, Thank you for sharing your experience. We all wish there was something that we could do about the trains. Unfortunately, they can be heard throughout the downtown Lawrence area, but it's still the best part of Lawrence. Best Regards,
5 out of 5
by Megan

Great stay!!

Posted Apr 15, 2016 on Hotels
Would highly recommend
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent stay

Posted Apr 11, 2016
They are undergoing some renovations. Still some work to do
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2016 by Edgar R, Hotel Management
Hello Mark, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. You are correct. We are finishing up on a complete renovation of our hotel. We are very near the finish line. We appreciate your understanding.
5 out of 5
by Erin from Minneapolis

Great place to stay!

Posted Apr 10, 2016 on Hotels
The front desk staff was very nice and friendly, the room was huge with a couch and mini fridge, they had water bottles & pack of cookies in the room to welcome us, and the breakfast was one of the best I have ever seen. The only bad part was the cleanliness but I believe that won't be the case once the remodeling is completed. It looked like they would be done soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Thumbs down

Posted Apr 8, 2016 on Hotels
Really can't believe this a Marriott property. Weird set up and not like a traditional Marriott property.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 18, 2016 by Edgar, Hotel Management
Hello Anonymous, Thank you for sharing your opinion of the hotel. Many hotel projects are building conversions. If some areas, buildings are protected by historical societies and in other cases, it is a conversion that requires special circumstances. Our building was once an outlet mall in downtown Lawrence. The mall did not survive and in a downtown area that did not allow much building at the time, someone had an idea to put a hotel very near Mass Street in the old outlet mall building. Most of the locals enjoy the use of the old building. I am sorry if you do not and prefer to stick with the normal builds. Best Regards.
5 out of 5
by melissa from mishawaka

College visit.

Posted Apr 8, 2016 on Hotels
College visit to KU. Comfortable and spacious accommodations in a great location. Easy access from highway, walk to Mass Ave for shopping & dining, and near KU union building. Highly recommend.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St Peters, MO

Nice hotel, close to shopping.

Posted Mar 18, 2016
Pros: New and fresh. Close to everything.
Location: within walking distance.
They are remodeling the hotel, our room was very nice. The lobby was really pleasing as well. Not one complaint.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

room condition terrible

Posted Mar 4, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: to many trains, everything else needs improved, don't charge me over $200 for a one star hotel !
shower @ tub stained, tub floor chipped out around drain, carpets @ furniture dirty way to expensive for condition, what a rip off
3 out of 5
by jeffrey from beacon, NY

No heat but ok.

Posted Feb 29, 2016 on Hotels
We arrived late as we were flying in from out of town. We arrived at midnight. We got to our room to find that it did not have heat. After doing what the front desk person suggested we concluded that it simply did not work. The hotel was booked solid? Instead of suggesting we go to another hotel the front desk man changed hats and became an electrician and changed the thermostat. At 1am we had heat and could go to sleep. Overall happy that he was kind to help but disappointing that the heat was broken.. .
Comment from Hotel Management
May 14, 2016 by Edgar, Hotel Management
Hello Jeffrey, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience. Though we can not guarantee that issues will not come up and that every stay will be perfect, it is our goal to quickly rectify any issue that may arise.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Missouri

Posted Feb 25, 2016
Pros: Everything.
Location: We chose this motel because of its proximity to the theater. Was nice to walk to it rather than find a parking spot.
We came into the motel early in the morning so had to wait for a room. The motel had been booked full the night before and all available rooms had to be cleaned. Kirstin Blosser was at the front desk and was extremely helpful. She secured us a room that was away from all traffic as we requested, and had it ready by the time we got back from a lunch date we had scheduled. The room was quiet, the right temperature, and very comfortable. She helped us find the places in town we needed for the weekend and made our stay run smoothly. We had a wonderful weekend. Please give Kristin our sincere thanks for all her help. The motel was under renovation, but we were not disturbed by any noise or traffic during our stay. The lady running the breakfast area was very efficient and courteous. She had a large crowd Sunday morning, but kept her cool and kept the food renewed. There were lots of young teens who ate large breakfasts, so the food kept running out quickly. I was very impressed at how all went so smoothly and everyone went away happily content.