Ratings based on 289 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location for Heartland Park racers.

Posted May 16, 2017
Clean rooms. Quiet. Basic breakfast options. Would recommend for anyone going to Heartland Park.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bed bugs

Posted May 15, 2017
Found bed bugs on our bed and now we have to have every thing cleaned
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2017 by General Manager Christina Tibbetts, Hotel Management
Let me start by saying we do not have any bug issues and never had any... you had to pay more as you came on a busy weekend. Second you had no issues for 2 night you stayed and plenty times you were in and out with no complaints, but just before you check out you happen to find a bug which was wrapped up in a bag. Then you want to threaten us to give you your money back and if we were to do that then you had no issues...after you stayed for 2 night with no issues until check out.... our pest control certified before your stay and after your stay that we do not have any bed bug issues for which we can gladly provided a certificate from pest control, who happen to do preventative maintenance each month in all our rooms. Also there were guest in that room the day before you check in and days after you checked out we had guest in that room and surprise no one had found anything or any issues. That should tell people reading this review what you are trying to do... and You have a bless day...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice stay in Topeka

Posted May 12, 2017
Pros: The staff was friendly & attentive. The motel was very quite considering it is 500 feet from railroad tracks. The rooms were clean.
Cons: Improve food on the breakfast bar.
Location: Not applicable as we stayed on our way to Missouri to pick up our daughter from college.
I went to eastern Missouri to get my daughter as she got out of college. I decided to stat in Topeka & stayed here because I had found the motel to be quite & affordable. The staff was friendly & concerned about your stay. We ate at the Subway both nights there. The beds were comfortable & we had a pleasant experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Paul, MN

Very nice hotel

Posted Mar 23, 2017
The hotel was very well maintained, in terms of our room and the staff we interacted with were very professional and helpful. The women's room near the pool needed a little mechanical maintenance and was out of soap, and the door lock should be replaced because although I figured out how to use it, I doubt that an elderly person or someone with arthritis would be able to. Also, I was really disappointed that there wasn't butter for the waffles! Just some kind of margarine - yucky. And the bed covering was very thin. Otherwise, very comfy bed and pillows, clean room, and great staff.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Motel located in poor part of town,

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Located in poor location but close to Heartland park race track. Heat in our room was terrible, no control, you grozen to death or it was a heat wave. Management was terrible, hollering at staff in the halls, and at guest. Threaten to call police on one couple, who were causing a problem. Choice for breakfast cold ceral or waffle. Had green bananas as fruit, no thanks looking for a better place to stay next time I go to the races.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Midwest

Stay at your own risk!

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Physical Location, Parking Lot Lighting, Restaurants in area
Location: At night it appears to be in a questionable part of Topeka. If you like liquor stores, bar hopping, and adult entertainment then this is your hotel.
Travelers beware this hotel is located in a questionable area of Topeka. I booked while travelling using expedia.com . Upon getting to the hotel I discovered it was surrounded by liquor stores, bars, and adult entertainment. There is only a subway sandwich shop next to it, thus not a lot of visibility. At night there are only two street lamps in the parking lot that act as night lights. I didn't want to leave my vehicle under these conditions, nor did I feel secure with this location. I went to the desk to cancel my room, in which I was told they could not do that because the room was booked through expedia.com. After 1 1/2 hours on the phone with expedia.com and hotel management, I ended up paying for the room I never used. Expedia took care of me for a future hotel stay so I have no complaints with them, but the management of Super 8 refused to deal with my complaint, therefore they are receiving this negative feedback. There is a cluster of hotels in more visible section of town in which I stayed that evening.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tx

staff had no idea how to change reservations

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Cons: staff training re expedia
uncomfortable re: staff incompetience - inability to change reservations with Expedia
4 out of 5
by Barbara

Equifest stay

Posted Feb 25, 2017 on Hotels
My daughter, granddaughter & I just stayed one night. My granddaughter & I really enjoyed the pool. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff were helpful and personable. We will stay there again.
3 out of 5
by Barnett

Posted Feb 25, 2017 on Hotels
Television cable reception dropped out about every 30 seconds. Front-desk clerk tried to fix it but couldn't. At least the wifi signal was good.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Just an overnight

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Kelli at the desk was nice at first but when I asked for a different room because of the large stain shown below (that she couldn't see) she copped an attitude and just put a new comforter on the bed. The toiletries hadn't been refreshed, the shampoo was upside down. The owner said it was a new way of doing things so the guest didn't have to waste time shaking the bottle. I don't buy it! I requested a 2 bed handicapped accessible room because I had my 86 year old mother with me. The lady in front of me who DIDN'T have a reservation got one, so she could store her bikes in the room. When I asked the owner about it he said only rooms with one bed were handicapped accessible because the hotel was built so long ago. I told him that it would be a good idea to update to 2017 as it may be a violation of ADA. He was pretty smug about the whole situation and his white Audi was parked in the concierge parking out front so guests couldn't use it. Never apologized or offered a discount. The hotel was very difficult to find from the interstate, there weren't any lights in the parking lot or on the front of the hotel, very dark and creepy. The hotel is across the street from a busy railroad crossing so we heard trails all night. Towels were yellowed and very rough. The breakfast provided was unappealing at best. All in all, not a good experience and I won't be staying there again. PS....I am not a fan of giving bad reviews but I think this one warrants it, find another hotel!