Ratings based on 505 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas

Good For the Price, Bad Wifi

Posted May 21, 2017
The wifi was so bad I just couldn't use it. Crazy slow, took forever to connect, might as well have just advertised as no Internet access, so at least then you'd know. But, all of the bedding was clean and comfortable. And they have a lot of tv channels. So still good for the price, even without wifi.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sunset Beach, NC

Great hotel for the price

Posted May 18, 2017
Pros: great price and location
Cons: We were there five nights with no sheet change. It is nice to have fresh sheets every 2-3 days
Quiet with a good location and a great price ..........................................................................................................................................................................
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lagrange, ga

Good value

Posted May 18, 2017
Clean room, well thought out amenities, ramp instead of stairs- excellent! Hospitable service at front desk, eager to help. Plentiful breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado Springs

comfortable and spacious

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: Already expressed it above
Cons: The lighting in the breakfast nook, and the shower curtain pole
Location: We didn't need to use the grocery store across the street, but that was convenient, as well as a liquor store and gas station.
I was pleasantly surprised for the price. First off, I did not have to drag my suitcase up a flight of stairs to stay on the 2nd floor, since they had a very convenient ramp. The room was exceptionally clean and spacious, with very effective curtains to block the light from the outdoors, yet, you could open the window for air if you chose. The beds were comfortable and so was the shower head. I like rooms where the sink area is separate from the bath. That area was plenty spacious. The furniture was fairly new-- not upscale , but new. The only criticism was the shower curtain that had a upward curved pole, so the curtains never stayed in place and water showered all over the floor. That didn't affect my shower experience as it just messes up their floor. The breakfast nook was small and simple with a few things. The area needed more lighting. I liked that they had a nice southwestern tile that covered their bathroom and sink area floor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mesa, AZ

Comfortable hotel near campus

Posted May 12, 2017
The hotel is an older building but the room was clean, comfortable and spacious.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good price

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Passing thru One great thing is there were great tv selections Wifi bad in room I slept in One ply toilet paper- bad
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kcmo

Great place for a clandestine rendezvous

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Great place for a short get away... very sexy rooms and great tub.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MN

Much improved since last time we were here

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: Clean, friendly staff, great tv, nice to have refrigerator/microwave in room, nice to have breakfast included.
Cons: The furniture situation. Some things didn't really fit in the room right, other things were missing, hard to get to some of the outlets.
Location: Near grocery store, Starbucks, gas station, restaurant. Pretty much on a strip with a lot of places to go.
New owners/managers maybe? Looks like they've done a lot of improvements to the place. Everything was clean & the staff was very pleasant. Room was obviously newly renovated. Still a few problems - we had a double queen bed room & you couldn't get into one of the beds very easily as it was against a wall, also there was a comfortable arm chair that didn't really fit in the room space wise, the little table had only one chair, minor things for a weekend, but I wouldn't want to stay longer. Husband was quite impressed with the very large tv. Seems like they're still in the process of updating/renovating. It's a fine place to crash for a weekend. Lawrence seems to have an abundance of really cheap, lousy places & some slightly improved cheap places, and a overly pricey places. They really need somewhere a bit more mid-range (or maybe we just haven't found it yet).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 9, 2017
We were generally unaware of this hotel having stayed elsewhere in Lawrence on many previous visits. It is located away from but convenient to downtown and KU. The slightly aged appearance is more than compensated for by cleanliness of the rooms and the friendly and helpful staff. We could never get the WiFi to work so would suggest they upgrade their system. They serve a nice continental breakfast which was continuously replenished both mornings we were there. We would definitely come back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Hesston, KS

Clean, roomy accommodations close to KU Campus

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Pros: Courteous, helpful staff. More room than we expected.
We found our accommodations to be clean, spacious, and perfectly located for our college visit to KU.