Ratings based on 10,874 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort McMurray, AB

Nice Hotel

Posted Jun 7, 2017
We chose the hotel based on reviews and pictures from expedia. Nice hotel. A bit further away from our preferred area to hang out but we had never been to Toronto before so that's our fault. We paid for an upgrade upon arrival and we surprised to see how small our room still was. It wasn't much of a price difference but in comparison to other places we have stayed in, it wasn't what we expected. Made us wonder how small our original room would have been. Our overall experience was good. Lovely hotel lobby and amenities. Bars and restaurants in the area are great. We would stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

work trip

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: Central location
Cons: change the carpet.
Location: Eaton centre, Reyerson University and subway all witin walking distance. Several eateries in the vicinity
Good conference facility. Decent room. Carpet looked old, kinda stained. Clean comfortable bed. Bathroom decent, good water pressure and nicely functioning shower. No pay per view movies. Staff were welcoming and eager to attend to you. Foyer seemed "overcrowded" sometimes, with people milling around. I would go back for a business trip (alone) only if meeting/conference was at the hotel, but would not consider it for a family vacation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 18, 2017 by Guest Experience Specialist, Hotel Management
Dear TJ, Thank you for taking the time to provide a review based on your last experience with us. We truly care about what our guests think and we do take all matters quite seriously as they assist us with identifying key areas of opportunity to improve upon. If ever you encounter an issue or you are unhappy regarding any aspect of the accommodations provided, please contact us while in-house so we can rectify matters. I can assure you that we do have on-demand movies for purchase and I do apologize if you had not been well-informed. We hope to warmly welcome you back soon whether for business or pleasure so we can deliver upon the exceptional stay you deserve. Sincerely, Guest Experience Specialist - Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Regina, SK

Excellent location

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: The location and most of the staff tried to be helpful.
Cons: Wifi - Don't advertise free Wifi if you don't actually have it. This is an important feature for me.
Location: Anything you wanted it was right there.
My wifi was not working properly and my phone didn't work. They couldn't fix the portable and helped me with the wifi. Next morning the wifi was so slow my network kept timing out. I went to the concierge and they told me I had to pay for my wifi I was in a hurry so I did but I expressed my disbelief. When I returned I told the front desk and they provided me with a room to use so that I could get my work done, however it was really cold so I did as much as I could and left. That same morning my coffee supplies were not replenished as they ran out of supplies however I was able to locate some sugar.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2017 by Guest Experience Specialist, Hotel Management
Dear Wendy, Thank you for taking the time to provide a review based on your last experience with us. Here at our hotel we understand the importance of a strong reliable internet connection. I would like to apologize for the challenges faced with our wireless internet and for the inconveniences caused to you as a result. I am excited to share with you that we are currently undergoing drastic upgrades to our wireless internet service which will produce optimized signal strength. I am also sorry to learn that your room supplies had not been generously replenished as that does not reflect our attentive hospitality. We hope to warmly welcome you back soon so we can provide you with the seamless and exceptional stay you deserve. Sincerely, Guest Experience Specialist - Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Perfect for family city break

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Pros: The children's centre facilities (including the kids pool) are really excellent, worth shouting about.
Cons: Some of the decor (corridors in particular) is a bit tired, but this doesn't matter an awful lot.
Location: Mainly restaurants and shopping nearby, good transport links to other sights.
We stayed for three nights with two under-5s and feel we made the most of the many facilities the Chelsea has on offer. Our 5th floor room was large and comfortable, also quiet (despite facing Yonge St), though there was a bit of a party in the room next door one night. The hotel is supposedly very large but it doesn't feel that way: staff are very friendly, well-trained, personable, and come across as wanting to be helpful. The location of the hotel is good, lots of restaurants (including ones with take-out option) nearby; in terms of sightseeing, we ended up taking Uber to the Harborfront Centre and CN Tower on two days, you can also go by Metro (short walk) to Union and then walk from there but we wanted to save time. In the hotel we had food from the Market Garden which was ok-ish, the breakfast buffet which was fine, and coffee from the take-out place (also perfectly fine). There's a Starbucks round the corner on Yonge. We spent a lot of time in the children's centre on the 2nd floor, the kids enjoyed the pool a lot (they have some swimming aids though not very many) and also spent a lot of time in the play room --- they have a lot of toys and also tons of arts and craft stuff: you'll have a lot of things to keep them occupied. We went Monday-Thursday in late May, so not very busy, at times we were the only ones in the playroom.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable and convenient

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Always a pleasure. Wonderful area of the city. Enjoy your stay as much as I diD.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jun 1, 2017
The bellboy was terrific. He looked after my luggage, arranged for limo to the airport and was very pleasant. The elevators were slow for a couple of the days. The cleaning staff were great.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 28, 2017
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Tear it down.
Apocalyptically dirty rooms, stained everything, smells like smoke, horrendous restaurant, servers at hotel restaurant barely speak English and have no manners. Drinks made out of canned juice and smeared sludge on the tables. Wifi doesn't work or barely works. Bad area dangerous to walk around in the evening. For the price, It's. a. Joke.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2017 by Guest Experience Specialist, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide a review based on your last experience with us. We feel as though our guests deserve the most exceptional stay possible, from the services received to the condition of the accommodations we provide as well as the food we serve and everything in between. I am sorry to learn that you had walked away with such a poor impression as I can assure you that does not truly represent who we are nor how we wish for our guests to feel. We hope you will afford us the opportunity to warmly welcome you back so we can work extra hard to restore your faith in our establishment. Sincerely, Guest Experience Specialist - Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel Review

Posted May 25, 2017
Pros: Nice Club Lounge. Great food preparation for breakfast and appetizers.
Cons: Fix issues identified
Location: Close to Eaton Centre and nice restaurants.
Room was poor due to noising ventilation, poor cooling, bath tub not draining properly and room not properly cleaned. Poor area and around Yonge Street.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2017 by Guest Experience Specialist, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide a review based on your last experience with us. I am delighted to hear that our lounge was a memorable aspect of staying with us! I am deeply sorry to learn of the issues encountered as that is not a true reflection of our quality. We do have strict programs and procedures in place to ensure our rooms are in tip-top shape. I will follow-up on your concerns with our Housekeeping and Maintenance departments to encourage effective resolutions. We hope to warmly welcome you back soon so we can provide you with a stay that you are most contented with from beginning to end. Sincerely, Guest Experience Specialist - Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great location, good value. Parking is $$$$

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: Location. Great for kids.
Cons: Communication between check-in staff and housekeeping. The housekeeping thought we were checking out after one day rather than two.
Location: Heart of shopping district. Walking distance to many attractions.
The experience was good. Check in was smooth. However, on the afternoon after the first night of our two-night stay, someone came to our room to ask us why we hadn't left yet. Apparently, when making bookings with Expedia, the booking is sent as a series of one-night bookings, which confuses the housekeeping staff. But the check-in staff knew we booked two nights. So this miscommunication was annoying and unnecessary.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2017 by Guest Experience Specialist , Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide a review based on your last experience with us. I would like to apologize for the unpleasant experience you had while staying here with us and if there had been any miscommunication regarding your reservation. I will bring forth your comments to each department involved to assist with further improvements on this specific issue. We hope to warmly welcome you back soon for the seamless stay you deserve. Sincerely, Guest Experience Specialist - Chelsea Hotel, Toronto
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Posted May 24, 2017
Hotel had nice fitness center and heated pool on roof. The breakfast buffet was very extensive but expensive and it wasn't possible to get a smaller breakfast except for a bagel sitting at a counter. The room was fine and bed was comfortable but the bathroom was very small . This made it difficult to get out of the shower because the toilet was in the way. However, the staff were great and I would stay there again.