Ratings based on 265 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg

Desperate Need of Updating

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: cheap
Cons: New paint, wallpaper, take labels off the toilet, etc etc.
Location: Across highway from a mall
Room had wallpaper patches, bad paint and cheap furniture. Exercise room was not in working order. Staff called our room at checkout time and threatened to charge additional $20 (they didn't). Place was dingy. Price was low, so I guess we got what we paid for.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to places

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Staff- good Cleanliness-- WORSE. Train the housekeeper. Comfort was not too too bad. Positive thing. Close to places you wanna go.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from northern ontario

Very dark, dated and dismal.

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: Not applicable
Dogs were barking every morning around 5:30am and children were playing in the hall. I believe some families live there! The breakfast that was supposed to be ready at seven still wasn't out when I had to leave at eight thirty. The poorly peeled eggs in the cooler were dried out and quite possibly dangerous.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 31, 2017 by A Samuel, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time out to let us know your concerns. We were very disappointed to hear of the concerns expressed of our breakfast room. Your comments have been relayed to the breakfast attendant to ensure things are done differently. Rest assured there will be action taken to make sure this does not happen again. We apologize for the oversight of the boiled eggs. We hope you will give us the opportunity to redeem ourselves. We are offering you a free upgrade to one of our suites on your next visit to Comfort Inn Meadowvale. Thank you again A Samuel General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from collingwood, ON

Unexpected

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Not notified at time of booking that this hotel houses families. Relatively small hotel so upon arrival rather stunned to see the lobby crowded with teens playing on their devices, and creating a very noisy environment. Definitely not a relaxing atmosphere after driving out In city traffic.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

terrible smelly room

Posted Nov 24, 2016 on Hotels
this was the worst comfort inn and hotel I have seen especially for the price they charge; discrepit looking room full of awful smell! I had to go buy airfreshner right away to stay and even then I left after few hours as I could not sleep there. It was rowdy coming at the lounge, service was hurried and impersonal.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 21, 2016
the room was clean but had a slight musty odour and a mild air freshener scent, which I don't appreciate the main hallways were dirty with candy wrappers and candy on the floor early in the morning (5am) I woke up to the sound of people talking and this persisted an hour or more, likely from a nearby room the overall impression is of an older building, a bit outdated it was adequate, but certainly not top-notch
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 12, 2016 on Hotels
Horrible! The entire hotel was filled with syrian refugees that are living in the hotel. They had laundry hanging on furniture drying ourside as if it was a hot summer day but its really NOVEMBER and starting to get very cold. The hotel had the lobby filled with these people constantly and the crowded the hotel doorways as well. Was not a very safe feeling hotel for a women travelling alone. The wifi and tv did not work for 24 hours. Power went out at one point and was completed darkness. The plus didn't work next to the bed. DO NOT STAY HERE!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Served it's purpose

Posted Nov 6, 2016 on Hotels
My 4 day stay was fine. As mentioned by someone else, kids running around everywhere and people just hanging out in the lobby. When I first walked in a child was riding his bike in the hallway right past the employees and nothing was said. I believe that these children and their families are refugees that are currently living there which does excuse everything to some degree(for me). My room was fine, long hair was left in the shower from a previous guest. The rest of the room seemed clean. I'll go with my 3/5 rating but I believe others would rate this place a 2/5. I'm just a bit more relaxed about things not needing to be perfect.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs better house keeping

Posted Oct 22, 2016 on Hotels
When I first arrived the lobby was full of people just hanging around and kids running up and down the halls, not sure what was going on since the parking lot only had three cars parked in it. The gentleman working the front desk was polite and quick at getting me registered. The bathrooms were nice and new but the furniture was a little dated and the tv reception was awful with no online guide, but the wifi was fast which is a plus. The hallways were dirty, the room did have an unusual smell and I did check the mattress for bed bugs. Overall I would not stay here again , but with some house keeping improvements, it would be ok.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient location and 'okay' clean

Posted Oct 21, 2016 on Hotels
I read some reviews before I head there because the hotel I stayed was full and can not accommodate me through the entire week. I stayed for two nights while around 30 refugee families were staying at the same time. Let me start with things people mentioned: Bed bugs? No I didn't have issues; A/C problem? No No elevator: yes, but it has only two floors; Bad wifi: I used speed test; it was around 30Mb download; not bad theoretically but video streaming is not very smooth. Watching live show online is not a good idea; No cable tv: Yes, but it has local tv programming, 10 channels give or take. Water pressure: not powerful but okay; Toilette: only a shampoo and two soaps in my room and did not replace in the second day. Quiet room: yes, indeed! But I have kids running in the corridor. People smoking in the non-smoking rooms: Yes!!! They leave the door open on the second floor non-smoking rooms. Breakfast: very meager selections and since we have large crowd, I did. Or find any food left at 7am