Ratings based on 239 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Warsaw, Poland

nice, no frills oasis in the heart of Toronto

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Pros: Front desk staff were wonderful! (polite, professional, went out of their way to help me). The facilities are fine for a 2-star hotel, 2.5 star.
Cons: If you need to do work online, internet is a concern as it's touch and go. But you can get it. The walk-in price is a bit high, but, hey that's T-dot!
Location: It's close to a nice park with botanical garden inside (Allan Gardens). Maple L Gardens and a big grocery store are a 7 minute walk to the northwest.
I had a good stay there. Staff were amazing, helpful, professional.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

The worst hotel I've ever stayed

Posted Jan 9, 2017
so irritated with the condition of the room because 1) the signal of wi-fi was too low that I can open even a google searching page, 2) the power of electricity was very low so that I needed much more time to charge my iPhone and also the light was blinking when I use a hair dryer, 3) they didn't change its amenity such as shampoo from the previous customer and 4) the main door to get into the lodge was broken and customers have to call the receptionist to open the doer from OUTSIDE and 5) it was too noisy from the main road next to the lodge and I couldn't sleep tight. Tis was the worst hotel or lodge I've ever stayed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from W

Cheap stay, get what you pay for

Posted Dec 20, 2016
I stayed for 6 days at this location, although I was only in the room to shower and sleep. I stayed on the third floor and there is no elevator in the hotel. It was a business trip, so I would have liked to get some work done in the room late at night, but my work requires a strong wifi signal which was very spotty at best in my room. As a result, I ended up staying later in other hotel lobbies or different locations with good wifi late into the night. The room appeared clean at first glance, however I noticed food crumbs under the desk and there was a used towel hanging on the back of the bathroom door. The bathroom's counter was cracked above the toilet (see picture). The bed was comfortable and after the heater warmed up the room, which made for a decent sleep. The walls are thin, could hear others from across the hall or in the next room, and overheard a few arguments outside on the street late at night. Location-wise, most of my work was done closer to the heart of downtown, which made for a 20 minute walk, but I knew that going in. If you need good wifi, stay elsewhere. If you need a bed and a hot shower, well, this place has that.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Switzerland

Hotel in Downtown Toronto

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Pros: Proximity to shopping, dining and public transport; fair price for downtown Toronto
Location: Within 15 minutes walking distance are: Yonge & Dundas, Cineplex, Eaton Centre, The Bay, great food, lots of bars, hmv, Best Buy
This hotel is 10 minutes east of Yonge & Dundas square and all the great shopping opportunities. The subway system can be reached within 10 minutes of walking as well. The Lodge offers a fairly standard breakfast with Toast, Cereals and hot beverages.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 19, 2016
This is a budget hotel and if you keep this in mind you wont be disappointed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oshawa

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: It was clean and comfortable and the location is central to a lot of things. The staff were really friendly and accomodating.
Cons: really weak wifi, couldn't even check my email! They opened my window (2nd fl), as a lone female traveler I REALLY didn't like that.
Location: I stayed here while my husband was a patient at Toronto General, it only took 10 min to walk and was half the $ of the "patient rate" of other hotels.
The room was small but clean. I didn't spend much time in it, so it served its purpose of a comfortable bed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent Hotel at good location

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: Clean room, helpful stuff, free breakfast in the morning.
Cons: Small room.
Location: Good location but sketchy area of town.
Small but clean room. Walking distance to Dundas Square and downtown. A little bit sketchy area of town (Jarvis Street). Hotel stuff is excellent and very helpful. There is continental breakfast in the morning (6-10 AM). Good hotel for budget traveler.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2016 by Denis , Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from michigan

Dirty and in a bad area

Posted Oct 5, 2016
There was weird, red spotted marking on the heat vents, honestly looked like blood. No central air. In a sketchy area of Toronto. Closest parking was a block and a half away underground at the Ramada. I recommend staying there instead of the econo lodge.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 13, 2016 by Denis, Hotel Management
Hello Lindsay, thank you for dedicate your time to complete our survey. We`re sorry to know that you are unhappy with our services, we will be looking for the problems you describe to fix them and give you a better service on your next stay. Also, all our units have an A/C inside, we are really sorry if it wasn`t working, or it had any other problem! Thank you for choosing EconoLodge Inn & Suites.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel but no close parking.

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: Location was great. Downtown and close to our destination.
Cons: Seeing the layout of the rooms and size, I don't know if anything could be improved.
Location: Great location.
Room was OK but small and difficult to move around with bags in the room. Staff was great. Difficult to unload due to no parking at the hotel. The room was clean OK for sleeping.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 13, 2016 by Denis, Hotel Management
Hello thank you for dedicate your time to complete our survey. We`re sorry to know that you are unhappy with our services, we will work our best to improve. Maybe for your next stay you want to try our King Size Bed Room, it have a lot more space and a the same time is very cozy! Thank you for choosing EconoLodge Inn & Suites.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Simcoe, ON

Good location to be downtown.

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Very great and kind staff, fine contenental breakfast, smoking room was full of burn holes in carpets and the quilt. Terrible smell in there. No air freshener or anything in between stays. Happy they window opened. Good working air conditioner. Comfortable beds. No elevators - difficult. Hotel needs to invest in a stronger vacuum as it is not getting carpets very cleaned - could actually use all new flooring or carpets. Peeked in one room while door was open and it had beautiful dark hard wood floor - not sure if that is the new direction they are moving into- which would be lovely. Hotel is difficult for moving around for handicap as there are stairs getting into the hotel and as mentioned no elevators. Smelly in areas of hotel. Needs to be upgraded and a heavy duty cleaning.