Ratings based on 266 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Charming & eclectic!

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Cons: The only downsides were the kitchen was closed when I checked in (around 10pm) but there are places open late nearby. Also, I was expecting a tub and
Location: King Slice.
I stayed in the "flight room". Gladstone was a wonderful experience compared to staying at a normal Stepford Wife hotel, from the historic elevator operated by staff to the unique experience my room gave me. I had an early breakfast at the cafe, the granola, and would highly recommend it. All staff were nice and helpful. Enjoy!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Awesome artsy hotel in the heart of arts district.

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Cons: Shower was a bit small! Only complaint.
Hotel is part remodeled vintage hotel, part art gallery, part restaurant bar. Very cool interior design, oldest elevator in Toronto (operated by an elevator operator). A bit loud at night but earplugs are provided. Easy walk to Ossington and other fun stuff on Queen Street West. Close to waterfront park for running/walking in the morning. Highly recommend if you are looking for a place with some personality. Kind of like Ace Hotel, but a bit more creative.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from TO and Ottawa

Nice hotel for special night in downtown TO

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: Uniqueness.
Cons: See above
Location: Everything in downtown TO is close by.
There was confusion regarding a fridge in our room and also the plugs by the bed were inaccessible for added equipment. Also, we like the hotel, but the space between the bed and the counter is a little too tight ... would be better to have more narrow counter. Was also disappointed that they do not have sports TV in the bar .... especially with World Cup of Hockey on - but staff did recommend a Sports Bar close by.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from montreal

Noisy cramped with rude staff.

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: The cafe.
Cons: It's an old building, not sure there is anything.
I expected from the reviews the rooms were small but this was extremely tiny even by European standards. The bathroom was smaller than you would find on a cruise ship. It was so small it was claustrophobic. The street noise was really bad even with the use of ear plugs.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Nice stay smaller European size rooms, parking across st at $25. Unfortunately stayed during tiff paid too much for room. Good area many cool shops and cafes. Much recommended!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario Canada

A historic Hotel in downtown Toronto.

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Pros: History , Character, and designer rooms
Cons: Parking ...Parking ...Parking
We enjoyed our stay in this historic Toronto Hotel. Much of the hotel reflects its history with worn stairs and floorboards the elevator dates from 1907 and is still operated by one of the staff. The rooms however are another story, with each one individually designed and furnished. Although not too large, ours was beautifully decorated and very comfortable and clean. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful and the bar/restaurant served an excellent breakfast (not included in our price). The major downside on this hotel is the location and parking. It is not that close to the centre core of the city so if you want to concentrate on that area this is not an ideal location. In addition the Hotel has very limited parking spots which must be booked ahead....which we didn't know so we could not get a spot and spent hours trying to find overnight parking. This is a major concern, if you are driving to this hotel reserve parking ahead of time or find another hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't stay here in the summer if you have a car!

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: Classic old elevator and coffee on each floor in the morning.
Cons: Room temperatures and parking, parking, parking.
It was hot in Toronto and our room was extremely warm, even though we turned the thermostat WAY down, the room never got below 76 degrees, which would have been ok if there was some sort of ceiling fan for circulation. No ice for a cold glass of water near your bedside either. If you are driving into town, parking is horrible! There are a few spots near the hotel which fill up quickly. No worries, they tell us, there is a parking lot down the street...except it's full, as are all the other ones we found while driving around and around and around for over an hour. Explained this to the hotel and they were no help at all. We finally found a spot on a residential street where it was very difficult to determine if it was legal to park there or not as the street signs were very confusing. This was right down the street from the hotel and I even took a picture and showed it to them to see if they could interpret for us as we were from out of the country and not familiar, again, staff was no help, you'd think they'd know about the parking right up the street! Ended up having to get up every hour and go outside to look for a open spot on the street! Certainly doesn't make for a relaxing stay! Lastly, for those visiting Toronto for the first time, you'd be best to get a hotel in the downtown/financial/harbour area as its much easier to walk about and see things.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

We met fascinating people that loved the hotel

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: I enjoy the atmosphere, art, and the luscious food available in the hotel restaurant.
Location: The hotel was in central Toronto. We were looking for a hotel not too far from the stadium.
The Gladstone Hotel is a combination hotel, art gallery, & restaurant. The hotel was built in 1888 & is the oldest continuous use hotel in Toronto. When the hotel was remodeled, each room was designed by an artist. The elevator in the hotel was built in 1907 and is still operated by a person.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel very friendly and helpful staff

Posted Aug 6, 2016
The gladstone is a beautiful hotel with very unique guest rooms that are all decorated differently. All the staff were very helpful with everything we needed. The only downfall would be that the size of the rooms are a little small, I only stayed one night so it wasn't bad. Also the hotel only has 6 parking spots which you must reserve ahead of time. Luckily the side street has a bunch of free parking spots for any amount of time so we parked there.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austin, Texas

Great Little Boutique Hotel

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Pros: Nice hotel, rooms were small but clean and tasteful, bed was great. Food was good in the cafe/bar. Staff was excellent!!!! Great elevator!!
Cons: Not sure they can do anything about the noise in the front rooms on Queen Street, they do provide ear plugs.
Location: Lots of restaurants in the area. Easy access to streetcar. Good location.
Great hotel, except for 2 problems. During our first stay of 2 nights, the air-conditioning was out in the lobby and bar/cafe. On our second stay of one night, we booked a standard room and got a room that was on the front of the hotel facing Queen Street. Street cars, cars, bicycles, walkers made for a very noisy night. I would recommend that you insure that you are not on a room facing Queen Street. Our first room faced Gladstone Street an it was no problem at all. The staff was fantastic and the hotel had art and was really a great place except for the two issues I discussed above.