Ratings based on 1,923 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from montreal

Work in progress but signs of improvement

Posted May 18, 2017
Physical plant is being renewed. My room had been renovated and was modern, clean and comfortable. Little this still could be done, more and better toiletries etc, but it's pretty good. The lobby is dated and though probably clean looks scruffy. Breakfast needs work; feels a bit like camp. High point is the staff; friendly, professional and welcoming. Great location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa ON

Two nights in Toronto

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: The location and that it was a very old hotel with heritage status
Cons: the telephone
Location: Right downtown, close to the subway and a bus to the theatre district, there were several restaurants very close and others an easy walk away.
We choose the Hotel Victoria because of its location close to the subway and a restaurant where we were meeting people for lunch. The room was small, but we expected this. We had one annoying problem - the telephone didn't work and we never managed to get it fixed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

renovation

Posted May 12, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: appearance. but then, they were renovating, so not much could be done about that
the hotel worked for us location-wise, we only stayed for 1 night. it was under renovation, so the optics wasn't that great. but our room was one of the newly renovated ones, so it was clean and modern. stayed facing the court yard so it was fairly quiet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 12, 2017
room was clean and comfortable. Good location to access to everywhere.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, Alberta

Good location, updates coming along

Posted May 6, 2017
Nice location, easy to walk to most attractions, including the St. Lawrence market just down Jarvis. The room was updated but awaiting a few finishing touches. The A/C unit was hit and miss with working. Overall the hotel should look nice when it's complete.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from owen

Under renovation

Posted May 5, 2017
Pros: Central location
Cons: May be double glazed windows to limit the outside cit noise during the night.
Location: St. Lawrence Market, theatres
While terrific as a centrally located hotel, we should have been forewarned that it was under renovation. Dust and disruption, and overcrowded breakfast room did not make for a great stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel in walkable distance to things

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Hotel under construction. Breakfast room cramped and no where to sit in hotel. Room was renovated and nice. Bed great. Thankfully for the room I did not ask to be relocated to another holiday inn.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Horrible staff, horrible room

Posted Apr 20, 2017
The place looks disgusting and be prepared to hear drills and hammers in your wall because they don't close off any rooms next to construction. So if you're paying to be able to sleep, forget it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Cobourg, ON

Close to downtown and theatres

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Pros: Many hotels can provide what is listed above but what I really appreciated was the warm and friendly welcome. A gentle sense of humour goes a long way
Cons: Time will lessen the off-gassing from all the newness. Not much you can do about that.
Location: As I mentioned, we are theatre goers and there are any number of theatres not far away. Also, a cinema and the Hockey Hall of Fame.
We were in Toronto for two plays: one at Canadian Stage and the other at the Royal Alex. For us, it was walking distance to both theatres and a wide variety of restaurants. The Holiday Inn is in the midst of renovations but I seldom spend much time in the lobby anyway. Our room had been completely renovated and was light, colourful, and tastefully decorated. The room is quite spacious and offers a desk and chair as well as an armchair and stool and another piece of furniture which could easily be used as a computer table. We had a microwave, fridge and coffee maker. The bathroom was bright and spotless. Breakfast provided a decent start to the day with cereals (hot and cold), yoghurt, bagels, English muffins, bread for toasting, and cinnamon buns, lots of jams and peanut butters, cream cheese, juices, coffee, teas of all sorts, and fresh fruit. We were very happy with our stay here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Flesherton, ON

Convenient, clean hotel in downtown Toronto

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Pros: The bed since I have arthritis and am always nervous of hotel beds. This one was great.
Cons: They are already improving since they are renovating.
Location: The location is good and is downtown and an easy walk to amenities and shopping.
Although there are no amenities, the hotel has a lovely continental breakfast and the room was very clean. The mattress was new and quite comfortable.