Ratings based on 2,025 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Will stay again!

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Pros: Exceptional hotel staff.
The hotel staff were WONDERFUL! The room and location were great!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from R

Ottimo albergo

Posted Jul 29, 2016
L'albergo si trova a pochi passi dalla metro e dalla strada principale piena di negozi e ristoranti. Ottima la colazione. Camera pulita e conforrevole. Consiglio di andarci.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canton, Michigan

Downtown Toronto hotel close to Eaton Square

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: Great location, clean and new, nice size pool area and rooftop deck
Cons: Problem with my check in, need better communication by the hotel front desk staff. Parking fees too high
Location: Walking distance to the main square with shopping and restaurants and free outdoor entertainment most summer nights
This hotel is very close to Eaton Square (Times Square of Toronto) with tons of restaurants and shopping. The hotel concierge was super helpful. The room was small but renovated and clean. The pool area was spacious but would have been nice to have a jacuzzi in the pool area as well. There is a Starbucks next to the hotel which is nice and also a movie theater next to the hotel. The only issue I had was that I had booked through expedia with the pay at the hotel option with a card just to hold the reservation. The hotel charged by card the full amount (it was declined) then cancelled my reservation at 6:00pm (we arrived at 6:15pm) without notifying me. The hotel found me a room and I was able to pay cash but a manger had to be called and the front desk staff was not friendly or helpful. Parking fees are high per day for this hotel as well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 27, 2016 by Hotel Staff, Hotel Management
Thank you Tasha for your review. We apologize for the confusion at check in and appreciate you bringing this to our attention. We have forwarded your comments to our Management Team to improve our policies and training scenarios with our Front Desk. We're happy to hear you were otherwise able to enjoy your stay, and excited to know that you were able to see some of the free events held at Yonge Dundas Square while you were with us. Thank you for staying with us.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Harrisburg PA.

Proximity to Public Transportation was very good.

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: Proximity to Public Subway System!
Cons: Temperature/air circulation of hallways and elevators need improved.
Location: Many attractions are a short distance on Public Transportation or walking distance. i.e. Dundas Square, Hockey Hall of Fame, Distillery Shopping.
Elevator & Hallways were very hot and not good with cooling and air circulation. Hotel room however was very cool and comfortable with temperature. Parking facilities were OK,with the underground garage and easy access to Hotel Lobby. Had an end of hallway room in the corner of the building, which was very small and the bathroom had limited counter top space with little space to use toilet, with the overall room and bathroom size. Employees were very helpful when engaged about questions or help. Concierge did a great job with assisting in day trip planning and suggestions with restaurants etc.! Subway station was less than a couple of hundred yards away from hotel's front door which was very convenient.. If I stayed there again, I would request a different room than the end corner!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 27, 2016 by Hotel Staff, Hotel Management
Thank you Bill for your review. We're happy to know our concierge was able to assist you with tours and restaurant suggestions during your stay. We hope you let us know what you thought of our recommendations, so we may continue to offer great suggestions based on your feedback. Should you choose to stay with us again, please let us know your room preference, and we will add it to your profile, and do our best to honour your request on upcoming visits. Bill, it was a pleasure having you stay with us, and we hope to see you again soon.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from p

Great location and accommodations

Posted Jul 25, 2016
The room was pretty small but very nice. The location was perfect and within walking and subway distance to many attractions.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2016 by Hotel Staff, Hotel Management
Thank you adparker for your review. We're very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you on your next visit to Toronto! Thank you for staying with us.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

交通の便が良く、利用しやすい便利なホテル。

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Pros: 立地場所が良いので、使いやすい。
Cons: 室内ではネットがうまく繋がらなかった。タブレットを持って廊下に出ました。
Location: お隣に、便利なスーパーマーケットがあり、色々な食材があります。店のコーナーに電子レンジがあり、温めてから部屋で食べることが可能。店の2階には飲み物が売られていました。道路を隔てた向かいの中華料理屋の人は、日本語が堪能。地下鉄の切符は、紙の切符でなくてコインなんです。そして、バスと市電は途中乗換え自由
地下鉄、バス等交通の便がとてもよく、レストランや買い物などにも便利な立地で、また値段もお手頃で使いやすかったです。室内でのインターネットが繋がりにくかったですが、廊下は大丈夫でした。私たちの部屋には、バスタブが無かったです。事前に確認しなかったのが失敗でした。宿泊する時は、予約時にバスタブの有無を確認する必要がありますね。
Comment from Hotel Management
by Hotel Staff, Hotel Management
あなたのレビューをありがとうございました。 私たちはあなたのビジネスを感謝し、私たちの将来のゲストとあなたの経験を共有していただきありがとうございます。私たちは、あなたが再び私たちと一緒に滞在することを選択した場合、私たちはあなたが浴槽を好む知っていると私たちはあなたの要求を尊重するために全力を尽くしますしてください、しかし、あなたの部屋はシャワーのみを持っていたことをお詫び申し上げます。 私たちと一緒に滞在していただきありがとうございます。
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 22, 2016
The hotel was nice and clean. The parking was very convenient. The parking garage is under the hotel so you just take an elevator. The breakfast buffet is expensive and the food was not good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 25, 2016 by Hotel Staff, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We're glad to hear you found the hotel clean, and the parking convenient during your visit. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy the breakfast buffet, and apologize if you were disappointed by the options provided. Thank you for staying with us.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Average Hotel with $28.00 parking fees per day.

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Colse to Downtown Toronto
Cons: Provide guests staying for more than two nights with free parking
Location: Shopping at Eaton Center, CN Tower tour.
Average Hotel with $28.00 parking fees per day. Very disapointed that the hotel does not provide free paarking for their guests.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2016 by Hotel Staff, Hotel Management
Thank you matomo for your review. We're glad to hear you enjoyed our downtown location, and hope you had a wonderful time in Toronto. We are sorry to hear you were disappointed by the parking fees. Every year, we do an analysis of the parking charges at hotels in our area, as well as the independent parking garages to ensure we are offering the best value for our guests. We apologize if you did not feel this was the case, and we will share your suggestions with the Management Team. Thank you for staying with us. We hope to see you again soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Moncton, NB

Where's the bathtub?

Posted Jul 13, 2016
Excellent staff, great service - great location - very small rooms to be in for 8 days - no bathtub - no designated smoking area
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2016 by HotelStaff, Hotel Management
Thank you Kandy Lynn for your review. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed the time you spent with our staff, and hope you had a great time in Downtown Toronto. We apologize if you were not impressed by the stand alone shower in your room. We have a limited number of rooms with bathtubs. Should you stay with us again, please let us know you'd prefer a room with a bathtub, and we will do our best to honour your request.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Niagara Falls,Ontario

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Carpets stained need to be cleaned, House keeping walked in with out properly announcing her self on Mon July 4 th and then said she did with a attitude I have been in the Management of hotels for 35 yrs taping your key on the door lightly and the opening it is not the proper way to enter a guest room,then to give a snotty response when I informed her that she should knock and announce herself before opening the door was proof of the poor training they receive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2016 by Hotel Staff, Hotel Management
Thank you Don for bringing this to our attention. We sincerely apologize for the incident you had with one of our housekeepers. We have shared your review with the General Manager and the Executive Housekeeper, who will reiterate our standards on how to enter a guestroom with their staff. Once again, thank you for bringing this to our attention. We appreciate the chance to use this as a training opportunity with our team. Thank you for staying with us.