Ratings based on 704 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient to trains and buses.

Posted Jul 19, 2017
The hotel is basis accommodations. It does have upscale amenities, but it is generally clean and provides the basics. Room was clean and staff was friendly and helpful. It is close to public transportation, and Toronto's transit system is clean and efficient. You can get to all the attractions, as well as the airport, on the trains and buses. Overall, it was a pleasant stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Covina, CA

A hotel for what I paid for

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: New bed sheets, new towels, new carpet, a better continental breakfast, and better service.
Location: This hotel is close to the mall, CN tower, various restaurants, Royal Ontario museum, Casa Loma, and a place to be picked up at for Niagara falls!
This hotel was the cheapest I found in Downtown Toronto and I regret not spending a little bit more for a better quality hotel! The pictures are deceiving and are not up to date. Unfortunately, I did not take any pictures because I did not want to live in disgust and tried to stay positive throughout the trip! First, we walked in to check-in and was not greeted by any staff. It took us a few minutes to find the receptionist since he was dressed so casually. The employees are unprofessional, for example, when we went to check out at 5am the reception had no shoes on and was walking barefoot! The housekeepers had better customer service! Next, the hotel is small and only has 7 floors and 1 elevator, which is small, old, and fits about 2 people max! The building is old and walking throughout the hotel gives you that old, antique smell. Customer service did not bother me as much, however, all my attention went towards the cleanliness of the room! Our room was not the same as the pictures listed on their webpage. The room's bedding and sheets had stains everywhere, which definitely looked like old blood stains! The corners of the floor were dusty, their ironing board had dark brown stains, the towels were rough, and the floor was colored green and old! The bathroom is really small. The sink and toilet are low, which requires a lot of bending and squatting to get down there and there is little space to fit two people. Overall, I will not recommend this hotel to anyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Small bathroom, nice hotel

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Pros: Location and architecture of the hotel.
Cons: The bathrooms need to be redesigned.
Location: Near the subway at Sherbourne. Easy to get around.
The hotel itself was nice, clean, unique, attractive. The bed was comfortable. However, the bathroom was ridiculously small and poorly laid out. The shower was large, but it took up a lot of the bathroom. The toilet was set in such a way that you couldn't use it without having your knees hit the sink. It was a really bad design. We were there for 4 nights. 3 of those nights we returned to our room to find that our keys didn't work, and we had to go down to the front desk to have them fix the keys. Otherwise, it was a good stay. We had a lovely time in Toronto, and the hotel was in a good location (walkable and near a subway station).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Burlington

Nice small hotel

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Pros: Clean, good food
Location: Quiet location close to Bloor street and subway.
Quiet location, good food in resuraunt and on patio, I would have rated it at more than a 2 star property. We will go back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 29, 2017 by Isabella Hotel, Hotel Management
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for choosing us. We look forward to accommodating you again!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dump

Posted Jun 14, 2017
Payed for a queen room. Bed couldn't have been bigger than a double. Room was so small you couldn't even turn around and the bathroom is even tinier. Don't try to turn around.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Facilities not the best

Posted Jun 5, 2017
The facilities were not the best; it needs a total gut rehab. Sherbourne Street's patrons are drunks and drug addicts. The hotel is within walking distance to specialty shops and restaurants. The staff was nice and very helpful. I would probably not stay there again because of the facilities and because of some of the patrons in the neighborhood; but my safety was never threaten.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Basic but does the job

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: It's character, the staff, the location/surrounding area. The bed was comfy too!
Cons: Attention to detail with regards to some minor issues in the rooms
Location: Location was great - a short walk from the subway station and there were plenty of food places on the same round, and around the corner, to cater for
This hotel is quite basic and does have some very small issues - for example there were marks on the wall in my room, and the front of a drawer was hanging off, things like this that really don't matter but people notice. Apart from that everything was great. Breakfast was again basic but fine - cereal, bread, cakes, coffee, juice and tea. I would definitely stay here again and I would recommend others stay here too - just be aware that it has some minor issues that shouldn't really affect your stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 1, 2017
Tv didn't work. Multiple fire alarms at 4 am. Difficult check in. Wanted to inspect the room at check out???
4 out of 5
by Heather

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 23, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal, QC

Not Recommended, but Decent Price

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: Price
Cons: Cleanliness, new beds and furniture, in desperate need of renovation
Location: Walking distance to downtown, Sherbourne station is 2mins away
The room was filthy, not sure anyone vacuums or actually cleans the rooms. A new ac had been installed, I didn't imagine I'd need it in April, but somehow the room was like a sauna despite it being 5C outside. The noise from the ac unit did help drown out the loud noise coming from outside. There were small black bugs in the bathroom and the toilet was not flushed when I arrived. I felt like I was sleeping in a giant crevasse in the bed. Luckily I travelled alone as I have no idea how someone else could have got in the bed since it was pushed against the wall. NOTE: This hotel is not in the safest of locations, south of Jarvis is known for crime.