Ratings based on 657 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very good location.

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Historical hotel with great location. Very helpful staff. Warm, Comfortable and welcoming.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Super nice hotel

Posted Mar 15, 2017
I stayed here through the weekend of march. I must say, this hotel is by far one of my favorite hotels I've stayed in yet. The staff was super friendly and amazing, and I had no troubles at all! The room was awesome and updated looking. A definite must stay for people.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Halifax, NS

Very close to Subway station and restaurants.

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: Rooms had perfume free soaps & shampoos, great for sensitive skin!
Cons: Better wi-fi
Very close to Subway station and fast food restaurants. Moderately close to shopping centers and restaurants, as well as some clubs. Nice hotel, with cable tv and wi-fi (little on the slow side). Rooms had perfume free soaps & shampoos, great for sensitive skin!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Worth the price

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Pros: Price
Cons: Shampoo the rugs.
Location: Walk a few blocks, and there is a lot to do. Downtown is a short cab ride away.
Very basic. Cheap for Toronto. Staff was friendly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Just a bed

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: very cramped
Business travel. Just needed a bed at a very busy time. It filled the bill.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, B.C.

Quirky, clean, great value.

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: Clean, great rates, great location. Nice Pub downstairs.
Cons: Complimentary breakfast should be out at 7:00 a.m.
Location: Five minute walk to Shelburn TTC subway stop, and from there it is easy to get anywhere in Toronto.
I have stayed here many times. The rooms area always clean. The rooms are small and the bathrooms are tiny, but the rates are great and it is a 5 minute walk to the subway station. The free continental breakfast is just perfect. Toast and jam, cereal coffee, tea, muffins and bananas are all there for self serve. Don't go down early though as it never seems to be out before 8:00 a.m. If you book through Expedia, you have to put up with the clerk entering all your information for check in as Expedia does not send them the information.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Earth

Pros and cons

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: Close to the subway Clean Affordable Free breakfast Bar downstairs Friendly staff Comfortable bed Cons: VERY small room Very little space for luggage Room not fully cleaned each day (bed) Bathroom lacks shelving/counter space to store items TV did not work For the price, the hotel is not a bad value, especially if you're just looking for a place to rest. Excellent location near the subway and a 10-15 minute walk to Cabbagetown. My biggest problem was the lack of space/storage in the room. It was tight for two people and we had minimal luggage. The bathroom could use a cabinet or a shelf and a much stronger hair dryer. Again, these are minimal problems, especially if you're going to be in and out. I would recommend the hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from calgary, alberta

Location was good

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: A better continental breakfast
Location: Close to downtown
The TV wasn't working properly, when you finally got it working it wouldn't turn off. The heating wasn't working properly, it would get too hot. We were moved to a different room after midnight. The comment was that we will be upgraded but not be charged for it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Mold around the window, stains on the sheets. I also ended up with chocolate stain on my pants after sitting on a chair in the room. wouldnt recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great for budget friendly stay in the city

Posted Jan 17, 2017
It was good for your budget and staying near downtown area. Room was clean- although quite small. We were under impression we had a queen bed as per our reservation but was a double in the room. We had our toddler with us but after a full day walking around Toronto we were just going there to sleep. Great value and clean if your travelling on a budget. :)