Ratings based on 423 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ottawa on

Great inn!

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Lovely inn. Great room, very well maintained. Great front staff. Could improve dining room staff. Had to ask for coffee 3 times, no refill offered. Wait staff went by with coffee and ignored my husband and I. Otherwise good buffet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york ny

Removed from business of City. Yet convienant to

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Very nice meeting rooms abundant space. Lots of parking Close to Bloor st. Quite solitude around hotel
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Different to your average Toronto hotel

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Hotel is based on an old mill albeit greatly extended but in a sympathetic manner. Located away from the downtown area and close a park alongside the Rivet Humber. Plenty of old world character. Reception staff very helpful, when my wife asked for a small cup of water they gave her a whole bottle to keep. Happy to store luggage both post check out and pre check in. Restaurant staff pleasant and efficient at breakfast and lunch, although the latter was spoiled by the entertainment staff setting up for the evening and at one point playing music very loud fair about 2 minutes during which time we could not hear each other talking. Bedroom was small but well equipped with everything you would need. Did have trouble finding the blind on the window which was tucked away behind curtains which were only for display, but we did decline the offer of having our bed turned down and presumably the blinds would have been drawn at that time. The hotel was somewhat overrun by weddings on the Saturday making it difficult to access the central terraced area. Overall a nice enough place
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cardiff. UK

In Need Of Updating

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Pros: The staff
Cons: personally I must say our room needed updating (312)
Location: great walks along the humber river. excellent French restaurant on bloor st.
Trip was for wife's 60th Birthday. Arrived at hotel, looked lovely from the outside and was looking forward to seeing inside. Friendly staff on reception. Got to room and was disappointed in finish of the room. Was a King superior just not the quality and standard I was expecting for a top class hotel. Carpet was damp under foot so mentioned to front staff. Was informed later that evening that cleaning staff had taken a look and said to front desk "Not a lot to be done really". Was offered the chance of another room but could not be sure which one and would not be that day anyway. Dissapointed to say the least. On a positive front, the rest of the hotel was lovely, the continental breakfast lovely. All the staff are very friendly and helpful. John Smiths bar food is good quality. To end all I can say is the room really needs updating
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Granville, Ohio

Great location for the Ukrainian Festival

Posted Sep 18, 2017
We chose this hotel because it was close to the Bloor West Village for the Toronto Ukrainian Festival. It was a great choice for us and had the ambiance to go along with it. The festival should make this the host hotel! Only suggestion is to have the staff look up more often and greet people as they walk by the front desk instead of looking down the whole time. Only exception was a gentleman named Basil. He went out of his way to make us feel welcomed each time and even helped us find directions to different gluten free restaurants around town. Thanks Basil! Lastly, we enjoyed having the river nearby and trails along the way. A great place to enjoy a nature run in the city and feel safe too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet and cosey

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Very pleasant stay, however the restaurant hours did not satisfy our stay, and the menu could have more choices. I also felt the hotel did not have much to offer for the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Swartz Creek,Mi

Very Charming and warm.

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Pros: Comfort,Charm,History and Location.
Cons: Can't fix Perfect!
Location: See above Experience comments.
We choose this Inn by searching the options through the web and felt it would match our desires for comfort that we enjoy in traveling. We were extremely happy with this choice as it had what we like. The subway to downtown Toronto was a very short walk and easy to navigate to our destinations. Truly a "Must Stay" when in town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Belleville

Wonderful night.

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Little to change.
Location: Used to live in Toronto so it was very familiar. We were not interested in getting about.
It was our wedding night. We felt very relaxed and welcomed in the Old Mill. The ambience was far superior to modern concrete and glass boxes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Barrie, Ontario

We came for the live Jazz in the Home Smith Bar!

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: Live music, natural surroundings, comfort and class, great attention to detail in dining room and premises.
Cons: Our only complaint is that the gym equipment and machines are old and need updating. Not enough weights.
Location: Fantastic location in heart of old Toronto. Beautiful area for walking along the Humber River and surrounding neighborhood.
We came for the Jazz which was exceptional but we loved everything about the Old Mill. The food and service were excellent and the setting and buildings are like a mini-Europe in Toronto. Truly special and good value. Look forward to coming again often. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Romantic. Relaxing.

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Excellent experience. Great room and amenities. Fabulous breakfast. Look forward to my next stay.