Ratings based on 969 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Think discount and dated chain hotel, not boutique

Posted Mar 20, 2017
The Pantages is a perfectly reasonable place to sleep in a central location - the bed was fine, the fixtures worked, no concerns about security, and so on. My complaint is not that it is inadequate, but rather that it presents itself as something that it is not. The hotel would like you to think that it is an upscale boutique hotel. It does not come across as that at all. It feels, instead, like a standard international chain hotel that is 25 years past its prime - the furniture is very dated, the TV is old, the bathroom the same. The management feels improvised - I don't mind the fee I was charged for wifi, but then it's annoying to see the in-room amenities book list complimentary wifi as a feature. It's nice that there is a gym, but not very useful when both treadmills are broken. I'm perfectly happy in mid-tier hotels and some of my most pleasant hotel stays over the years have been in very basic places... the Pantages is fine for spending the night in central Toronto, but I'd much prefer that it focus on the basics than that it project itself as something it is not.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bowmanville

Great Getaway!

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: Close proximity to everything. Would be great if you were staying for a few days as unit was equipped with a full kitchenette.
Cons: Furniture could do with an update.
Location: Close to Eaton Centre, Massey Hall, Theatre, Dining. Walked down the block to get a bottle of wine for the room.
We spent the night after theatre. Hotel was very close to all amenities. Nice hotel very clean and comfortable. Staff was wonderful. Friendly and helpful at all times!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lunenburg, NS

Right in the center of everything

Posted Mar 15, 2017
My room was 1713 which was a 2 room suite. Very nice and comfortable
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from s

The location was fantastic. was not was advertised

Posted Mar 11, 2017
The location was good, but Expedia did not advertise the room properly. The valet parking option was terrible and not worth the 40$ I paid. Sammy, front desk was the only decent employee we came across. The bed was SO hard and not comfortable at all. The only thing going for this hotel was the location, and maybe the kitchen in the room. Otherwise, I was not a fan and would not book again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Haliburton

Forgot I was in Toronto it was so quiet!

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Pros: location, cleanliness, spacious room, parking staff
Cons: Have more than one person on the desk or at least get the attention of additional staff in back room when there is a guest waiting (and waiting)
Location: right at Massey Hall, theaters, Eaton's Centre, subway, St. Michael's hospital, etc.
I was very pleased with my stay. I was greeted by the friendly valet guy upon my arrival and my vehicle was immediately taken care of. Valet parking is the only option, which is quite pricey, but prompt and friendly service. I had a security staff take me to my vehicle later to fetch something from my truck, and I can tell you that the vehicles are in a very secure underground parking garage with adequate space for parking. My only complaint was that there was only one person at the desk both on arrival and departure and I was not acknowledged and had to wait and wait as they sorted out matters with the guest at the desk. Once they did get to me, they were friendly and helpful. My room was comfortable, spacious, clean and quiet. As I said, I almost forgot I was in Toronto as my room was so quiet! The location of the hotel was prime and I was within walking distance to everything I was there for. I would most certainly return as a guest and recommend it to all. Next time I think I'll take advantage of the spa and relaxation room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Moncton NB

Convenient location. Close to Massey Hall

Posted Mar 2, 2017
Front desk staff only average in the friendliness department. Ricardo the doorman was a standout!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from newfoundland

Nice hotel dated but very clean close to what we w

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: Close to everything
Cons: The rooms are up for an update
Location: Very close for shopping and restaurants
Very friendly staff tidy rooms in the middle of everything but I don't think you should charge for wifi when you pay for a room
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tired Hotel

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Mixed front desk service several helpful, checking officious read this for service info. The note was not well written. The rooms are tired- laminate floor separating in places.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from washington dc

Average hotel

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Good location. Room was next to a HVAC unit of some kind. So strong the walls vibrated. Was low frequency so didn't impact sleep once you got to sleep. Shower too small. Comfortable bed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Ontario

Great location

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Pros: The location
Cons: Not much, the bedside tables were a bit worn (just painted wood) but that's being really picky.
Location: We ate at the Jazz Café across the street. Delicious!
The hotel was in an excellent location. Right in the theatre district, walking distance to the Eaton's Center, restaurants, transportation and movies. The hotel is not luxurious but it is pleasant. The room was a little bit worn but very clean. The bed was very comfortable and everything worked well. It was nice to have a little kitchenette in the room although we were only there for one night. The staff was very helpful and pleasant. The valet parking was expensive but so was the street and public lot parking in the area. I think it cost us the same amount to park in the public lot outside as it would have if we used the valet. All in all I would recommend this hotel for a comfortable and convenient stay in downtown Toronto.