Ratings based on 762 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kitchener

Nice hotel

Posted Aug 24, 2015
We had an issue with our room and went to tell the front desk and right away moved us to a new room and later called to see if everything was ok.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

dark hotel unfriendly staff

Posted Aug 19, 2015
i was at the 15th floor with a baby and then the alarm went off. i panicked and i was so scared--i prepared to leave. then there was an announcement that it was a test alarm and nothing should be done. i phoned the front desk and suggested that maybe next time, they should announce first that they will do some test. the clerk said "have you not heard the announcement?" i tried to explain that i have a baby and i was so scared and she just said sorry then she hung up wihout me finishing my sentence. i won't ever stay in this hotel again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hot hot hot

Posted Aug 18, 2015
Hotel doesn't allow early check in. AC was broke in room and couldn't be given a new room due to over booked hotel. Denny's restaurant had terrible service and worse food.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Would recommend for price.

Posted Aug 16, 2015
We were promised a renovated room but upon arrival given a old room. It slept three adults and one child comfortably. The water slide was a great experience for our group.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Easy to reach via highway

Posted Aug 16, 2015
Pros: Given proximity to airport, room very quiet, room size good
Cons: Attention to housekeeping
Housekeeping never came on one day, hallways severely overheated, flooring in pool area vinyl and extremely slippery, knots of hair in the pool, poor lighting in room, amenities lacking in building, lights out in parking ramp, poor access to hotel from parking ramp
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 14, 2015
The hotel is very nice, and my only complaint has to do with the initial check in. My room was not ready at 3, which in itself was not that big a problem, but the clerk at the desk did not have a very supportive attitude.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

old hotel that isn't finished its reno -

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: complete your renovations, advise people at time of booking that the rooms are poor quality,
I would wait about 6 months before considering a return, Sandman put their name on the building too soon. Room was dirty, old and nothing worked well. Carpet pulling away from walls, stains on couch, old furniture and dirty bathroom with leaky taps. Hot tub and pool were dirty. Hot tub jets non functioning
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 10, 2015
I enjoyed my stay at the sandman hotel. Staff was excellent and friendly. Room was perfect beds were super comfy. Only problem was stain on couch was a little unsettling but other then that everything was perfect! I will be back for sure
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, AB

Decent hotel not far from the airport

Posted Jul 25, 2015
Pros: The location was convenient for us, and the room was clean.
Cons: Maintenance needed to do a better job on "repairing" our toilet. When I told the receptionist what happened, no further action was taken.
Location: There are several restaurants walking distance away. It wasn't a far drive from the airport either.
We just needed a place to stay overnight. Our room was big and seemed clean, but our toilet wouldn't flush, so a maintenance guy came to "fix" it. Then it would flush, but the water would overflow out of the back of the tank, so we had to turn the water supply on and off whenever we flushed, which was a hassle. The fitness facilities were fine except that it was not well looked after. When I first came to work out, it was overrun by people and their young (under 5 years old) children, who were climbing on all of the equipment barefoot. Afterward, another family and their young children came in, shirtless and wet from the pool, and also began loitering on various pieces of equipment. Even though the gym isn't monitored, it would be nice if a staff member would stop by once in a while to ensure order. Otherwise, our stay was fine; there was free parking and WiFi, and the hotel is close to a number of restaurants (fast food and sit-down restaurants).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver, bc

30 min drive from airport during rush hour.

Posted Jul 19, 2015
The reason I rated ok is because as you walk in the smell of chlorine from the pool is quite strong. The room was clean but dirty couch and windows. The cleaners need to do a better job.