Ratings based on 304 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great service and great rooms

Posted Feb 10, 2016
Really enjoyed my stay, very professional and high end hotel. Great suite. Room service menu needs expanding but some great restaurants locally will deliver.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Excellent Staff

Posted Jan 29, 2016
The staff were excellent throughout our stay. This made the overall experience exemplary. From offering a tailored breakfast, a considered lunch menu to The Hotel bar and lobby which is a great place to start your evening, this hotel has managed to create a relaxing, informal yet sophisticated environment. The staff are inobtrusive but attentive. Highly recommended
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Waterloo

Shame the server in the lobby bar had attitude..

Posted Jan 28, 2016
Pros: Its always excellent facilities and usually staff too.
Cons: Maybe have a little more of the Asian demeanour at times
I travel a lot all over he world for business and particularly in Asia - to that end I have always been a frequent user of the Shangri La chain as it is always somewhat of a haven when I get back from the day. Based on that, I have taken many vacations to some amazing spots and again, when possible say at the Shangri La - throughout Asia, it would seem that no matter where I stay I am used to the same great facilities and fantastic staff. so it is very disappointing for me to be in Toronto and have such an attitude from one of the servers in the bar area. So much so, that my wife asked if we could just leave and go elsewhere, even though it was freezing cold outside, she preferred to leave. I know it was busy, but it was appalling and it was such a shame - I am a huge fan, but was disappointed that for me, a nice romantic getaway need up being a pretty crappy night out... I guess it can't be awesome all the time... though I think it should be..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome hotel right downtown

Posted Jan 24, 2016
Came for the weekend to see Phantom of the Opera. Also went to AGO and did some shopping and everything was within 10 minute walk of hotel which we loved. Great hotel, very clean and high class.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Every detail about the hotel was incredible. From the room controls on the in suite iPad to the pillow menu, it truly did feel like an escape. We can't wait to return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Complete luxury!

Posted Jan 2, 2016
From the moment I checked in (early!), everything about my stay here was more than I expected. The attention to detail throughout the hotel is impeccable and the staff make you feel as though they are there just to help you. I would recommend this hotel without any hesitation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Superb staff

Posted Dec 30, 2015
The room was adequate for what was paid; the bed was comfortable, the pillows were nice and fluffy, the velvety lounge chair was very nice as well, and the bathroom (including the deep soaking tub, of which I took advantage) was gorgeous. The best part about my stay at the Shangri-La hotel was the politeness and helpfulness of the amazing staff. My arrival and check-in were quick and I felt welcomed and very well looked after; any and all requests of staff during our stay (a bucket of ice delivered to the room, a demo of the coffee maker, minding our bags the next day while we shopped and lunched with friends, etc) were perfectly taken care of. There is no denying that it's a great property in a great location - but the staff is what makes it a great hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Waterloo, Ontario

Shangri-La Fan

Posted Dec 22, 2015
I guess I am what could be deemed as a power user of hotels globally, as I travel a great deal and am fortunate enough to get to stay at some of the very best hotel chains available. I have stayed in cities and in resort locations for the past 18 years or so and though I am a fan of Fairmont hotels, Trump and Four Seasons, I have to say that nothing really tops the Shangri-La experience. Whether you are in Boracay, Hong Kong, China or Toronto, there is really no other experience like it. From start to finish, they have it right. The Toronto experience starts with an excellent location - very central to all that you would want to see or do, luxurious lobby area, excellent check in experience and modern stylish rooms and facilities. The staff are always exceptional and show that Customer Service is truly respected as a core competency and not just a buzz word. - Always delivers, never disappoints.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

beautiful sophisticated cozy hotel

Posted Dec 21, 2015
Pros: the luxury room with the ipad that turns the light off and opens the curtains
Cons: nothing
Location: we did not leave the hotel until check out as we were so happy staying there
I stayed for 1 night with my husband and we were amazed of the luxury experience of the hotel. The gym pool hot tub was amazing and welcoming for a relaxing experience. the restaurant was a bit pricey but the food was amazing. we loved it and plan to go back soon
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Eisen

Very quiet rooms.

Posted Dec 9, 2015
I stayed there all the time. I go shopping in Toronto. There is never a problem. Andrew one of the managers is great. Always treat me with respect.