Ratings based on 58 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Finzean, Scotland

'Quirky' hotel in downtown Toronto

Posted Nov 18, 2015
Pros: It's uniqueness (if that's a word). Comprehensive mini-bar.
Cons: Installation of a lift!
Location: Plenty of restaurants, bars and pubs locally and a walk or tram ride away from the main Toronto attractions.
Very comfortable 'boutique' hotel located in downtown Toronto. Staff very friendly and helpful. A cultural venue in addition to being a hotel. Live events many nights. Saturday night was very lively but I couldn't hear the music in my room, so sound proofing good. Good restaurant and a simpler cafe selling the same menu. I ate in both. Room was very different from the normal run of the mill chain hotel rooms. Located in an area with a range of restaurants, bars and pubs.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tiny room but still nice

Posted Oct 27, 2015
Very small room, in my opinion far too expensive for the size of it. You can barely walk around the bed, and the bathroom is not separate from the bedroom. The staff is very nice and we had fun anyway. I do not think I would stay here again, because I feel that it is very over priced. It is in a great location though and I'm sure if you have the money to spend on a larger suite at this hotel you would have a great time
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A cool vibe!

Posted Sep 17, 2015
This was our first stop on our Honeymoon in Canada and America! The Hotel is in an area filled with cool shops, art galleries and coffee shops and although not in the centre of the City it was very easy to get to the "touristy" bits of Toronto. The building looks great from the outside and the interiors are just as nicely done with lots of cool touches. The room wasn't huge (we knew that anyway) but that's not why you book to stay at this Hotel. Lots of nice touches and a very individual room. We were given free fizz and some popcorn which was great! The toilet and shower are within the room behind partially frosted glass but this didn't bother us at all. I'd recommend this for couples only for obvious reasons but the Hotel is very much a couple kind of place with their range of in room special menus to choose from! The roof top terrace was great and the bar was always packed. We had breakfast in The Drakes own cafe and it was lovely. The staff were friendly and we couldn't fault them but we did experience slightly more approachable staff on our travels elsewhere. I would definitely recommend if you are looking for an individual hotel with a very cool vibe!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ferndale, MI

Beautiful room, but too expensive for what it is.

Posted Aug 18, 2015
Pros: The look.
Cons: Staff Friendliness. Prices lowered or just more included- even a simple continental breakfast or shampoo or parking or something.
Location: Arty part of Toronto. Tasty Putine, and other food places, vintage shops. Everything else is a hike from this hotel.
Cool place, but too many glitches for that price tag. The confirmation email we got had the wrong check in time on it- so we had to wander for an extra hour and pay for extra parking right off the bat. The room was beautiful, despite the broken bathroom door. Super cool looking. But, we had banked on getting the hotel shampoo to take with us to the next camping spot... and they don't let you take the shampoo out with you. No razors available...just the little things that every other hotel much cheaper provides weren't there. They advertise a handmade doll in each room- you'd think you could take it with you... but it's just there. You'd pay $65 if you took it with you. Everything in the mini bar costed so much. Even a toothbrush if you forgot yours cost a ridiculous amount-whereas at every other hotel they would just hand one out at the reception desk. We were the only people in the breakfast place in the morning, but the service took forever and had no reason to. And even when free coffee was advertised, they added it to our breakfast tab. Eventually they did take it off, but it took another 5 minutes for the waitress to come back so we could even ask about it. It's a really unique hotel, but it's far away from Yonge Street and the "real downtown area" and it wasn't the best quality for that price. Unless you have the extra cash, you can definitely find a better place for cheaper with all the finer details. You don't even get 24 hours in the room.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The MUST stay hotel in Toronto!

Posted Aug 12, 2015
The Drake hotel is in the unique position of being incredibly hip without being obnoxious. The rooms are comfortable, well though out. The staff are friendly and knowledgable. The food is great and it was the perfect location for our week in Toronto. I'd reccomend everyone stay at The Drake if they're in Toronto!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

The Hotel is the bomb!

Posted Jun 10, 2015
Pros: Hip, cool and fun and self contained. Great food and lively bar scene. You really don't even need to leave the Hotel at all.
Cons: Nothing pure perfection:))
Location: Plenty of boutiques, shops, art and more things then I had time to explore.
This place is super hip and fun. Great food and food choices from breakfast to dining. Staff was very accommodating. Super saucy place with little surprises everywhere to entertain. Bring a date:))
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

Great Atmosphere, Super Cool Hotel!

Posted Jun 8, 2015
The staff was very friendly and the atmosphere was awesome. It's a super cool place to go, with lots going on all the time. Great food and drinks as well.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from buffalo, ny

Weekend getaway

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Great vibe and style. Cafe, club and bars are dope. If you're into hip, modern style hotels then this is your spot.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Visit to the Drake

Posted Nov 27, 2014
Pros: its style
Cons: warning about the lack of lift
Location: interesting location
Great boutique venue with excellent service - a little pricy, but worth it.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Hotel staff was so accommodating, Friendly, helpful