Ratings based on 2,675 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Halifax, NS

Great hotel central to everything we needed

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Pros: Hotel itself (especially the lobby) is very impressive and location was perfect.
Cons: Add a mini fridge in the rooms. Free WIFI would be nice, but not a big deal.
Location: Perfect Location. 7 minute walk to ACC, 15 minute walk to Rogers Centre, aquarium and CN Tower and Shopping. Lots of good places to eat all around.
Check in was easy and the staff was great. Lobby is stunning. When we arrived at the room we were checked in to (an older room which has not been renovated) I actually felt like I was staying in a 3 star hotel... After asking about the rooms it was explained that not all rooms had been renovated but they gave us an updated room at a discount rate and it was a great improvement and made our stay so much better. The old rooms may be nostalgic, but the new rooms are a vast improvement. New rooms are 4.5/5.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 20, 2017 by Regional Vice President & General Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you kindly for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed our perfect location and beautiful newly refreshed guestrooms. In the future, may we suggest joining our loyalty program to enjoy great benefits, such as complimentary wifi. We are also happy offer our guests complimentary mini fridges and microwaves, upon request, complimentary. We hope to welcome you again for another pleasant stay soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean, and excellent location

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Pros: Its location and room
Cons: Free Wi-fi
Location: Excellent location
Very well located hotel, very helpful staff. However, complimentary Wi-Fi in the rooms would have been helpful
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2017 by Regional Vice President & General Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed our centrally located and beautiful guestrooms. May we suggest in the future joining our loyalty program to enjoy great benefits, such as complimentary wifi. We hope to welcome you again for another pleasant stay soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location and Luxury for a great price!!

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: Luxurious yet reasonably priced, excellent service (front desk, concierge, room service - they bend over backwards to make sure you have a great stay)
Cons: Honestly, nothing!
Location: In the heart of downtown... walking distance to Esplanade, Eaton Center, theatre, night life. AGO is great....
After staying at the Royal York 2 weeks ago, we decided to come back so we could attend the AGO exhibit. Once again, our expectations were exceeded. Friendly and helpful front desk, beautiful room - well appointed with great view, all the amenities and spacious. The pool and spa area is now reopen and is fabulous! We enjoyed the wonderful service in the Library (one of the best dry martinis I have ever had!), and lounged in the lobby with its magnificent flower arrangement and luxurious furnishings. While we only stayed for one night, it felt like a week - so relaxing. And the best is the location! Take the train in and walk across the street. Only a few blocks to the Eaton Centre and theatre. Subways are easily accessible from this location. I love, love, love this hotel!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2017 by Regional Vice President & General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your pleasant review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our luxurious and beautiful hotel. It is also wonderful to hear that you experienced excellent service from our staff. We hope to welcome you again for another enjoyable stay and experience in our Library Bar soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Weekend break in frozen Toronto

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: All rooms need updated particularly the lighting room 6-262
Location: good restaurants nearby
Wonderful classic hotel located right on the edge of The Path and the Rail Station. Arrangement for restaurants made by outstanding Concierge. High recommend this hotel for comfort, style and location. Ask for updated room
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2017 by Regional Vice President & General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you kindly for your review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our beautiful and centrally located hotel. We apologize that our traditional guestrooms did not meet your expectations and understand your feelings of frustration. We hope to welcome you again for another pleasant stay, perhaps in one of our newly renovated Luxury or Signature Rooms, in the near future!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Timmins

Great location

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Pros: Proximity to ACC, Union station and the atmosphere of the hotel.
Cons: On the dates we stayed, some of the restaurants were closed and the one left open were very busy. Had to wait quite a while to get a table.
Location: Close to downtown and ACC centre.
We stayed togo to a hockey game at the ACC and it was close and fun.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2017 by Regional Vice President & General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed our beautiful and centrally located hotel. We hope to welcome you again for another enjoyable stay and hockey game soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Service with a smile!!

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Pros: The front desk welcome, the helpfulness of the staff, the old world beauty of the hotel
Cons: Nothing really
Location: Was a great place to stay as it was close to Sick Kids Hospital.
Lovely young lady at the front desk was the most friendly person and went out of her way to make the stay for me and my daughter amazing! The hotel is beautiful and very well kept.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2017 by Regional Vice President & General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you kindly for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed our central location and pleasant staff at our beautiful hotel. We hope to welcome you and your daughter again for another pleasant stay soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cleveland

Still a First Class Hotel

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: None that I noticed, and I'm a stickler for details.
When first built, the Royal York was a first-class hotel. I've stayed in some classic downtown hotels in other major cities and, while still nice, the remodels were not done to quite the same level of quality as the original. However, the Royal York looks, to my eye, as though it was just built, and to a very high standard. Absolutely beautiful and flawless. Everything else that you expect at a first-class hotel is also there. Our room was very clean, the linens were first rate, beds were excellent, and a nice view of the city. Since we had one of the signature rooms, it was extremely roomy. Had a drink in the lounge in the evening; the experience again was just what you would expect from a first class hotel. As was breakfast in the hotel restaurant. The lobby is grand and absolutely gorgeous. In terms of value, I can't believe the quality that we got for significantly less than $200 a night. I've paid twice that amount in other major cities for much lower quality. I can't think of a single negative comment or issue with the Royal York. Keep up the great work! We will be back, soon!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2017 by Regional Vice President & General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our first class and beautiful hotel. It is also wonderful to hear that you were able to enjoy our food and beverage outlets. We hope to welcome you again for another excellent stay in the near future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. John's NL

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Great as usual but unfortunately we were not away that the pool was under renovation. Although they had an arrangement to swim at a hotel 2 blocks away, who is doing that in Toronto in January!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2017 by Regional Vice President & General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you kindly for your review. We are pleased that you had an overall pleasant experience but do apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with our pool closure. We hope to welcome you again for a flawless stay and swim in the near future!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location! Awesome staff

Posted Jan 9, 2017
The associates couldn't have been more accommodating. Check in was fast and pleasant. Texting was available for any requests or desires. Highly recommend this hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2017 by Regional Vice President & General Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your lovely review. We are thrilled that you experienced accommodating and efficient service from our staff. It is also wonderful that you were able to take advantage of our Kipsu texting program! We hope to welcome you again for another great stay soon.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MVDM

Pool closed. Moved from one room to another.

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Upgrade not available. Moved to a smaller room but still charged for upgrade. Pointless to bring my 10 year old for her birthday to a hotel with a closed pool. Felt the website and staff was not transparent. At breakfast the waiters twice forgot to bring an item we ordered!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 13, 2017 by Regional Vice President & General Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you kindly for your review. We are very sorry to hear about you and your family's overall experience and certainly understand your feelings of disappointment. We do apologize for the miscommunication with our pool closure and truly apologize in any meaningful way. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome and wow you and your family with a flawless stay in the near future.