Ratings based on 6,029 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Overrated and in need of repairs and renovation

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Pros: Concierge and valet staff nice and helpful. Historic building.
Quality vs price ratio is low. Reception staff not helpful and contradict each other, tell you something and they don't deliver. Noisy (you hear everything in the next rooms and the corridor). Rooms are in need of repairs and renovations. Room, food and drink way too expensive for what you get.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 8, 2016 by Public Relations Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you kindly for your review. We are delighted that you experienced pleasant service from our concierge and valet staff but are concerned to hear about your overall experience. We do apologize in any meaningful way and understand your feelings of frustration. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome and wow you with a flawless experience in the near future.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, N. Y.

One of my very favorite hotels.

Posted Dec 7, 2016
A wonderful one day stay. The concierge suggested a terrific steakhouse, Barbarians. I felt surrounded by beauty and generous behavior.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 8, 2016 by Public Relations Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your review. We are delighted that you had a wonderful experience at our beautiful and accommodating hotel. We hope to welcome you again soon for another enjoyable stay!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from toronto

Beautiful hotel close to shopping and restaurants.

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Room was lovely they upgraded us so we were away from the elevator, but unfortunately some guests on Saturday nite noisy. Security did try to deal with them.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 8, 2016 by Public Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed our beautiful and centrally located hotel. We do apologize for the noise issues you experienced and hope to welcome you again in the near future.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Grand stay at the Fairmont

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Pros: The History and the décor.
Cons: nothing, don't change a thing.
Location: Shopping, history, and local activities are all within walking distance.
The history of the hotel is wonderful and the décor is spectacular. The preservation of this grand hotel creates a warm and comfortable feeling. Will stay again without a doubt.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 8, 2016 by Public Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed our historical and beautiful hotel. It is also wonderful to hear that you were able to take advantage of our prime location. We hope to welcome you again soon!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Close to Union Station. Easy to get around TO

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: The spacious room
Cons: Our bathroom was really small and cramped
Location: We were attending Grey Cup activities, so we were close to the convention centre. One train ride stop to BMO field.
It was a very quick weekend getaway, but this was a fabulous hotel to stay at. From the airport, jumped on the train to downtown. Directly across the street was the Royal York. Beautiful lobby with lots of amenities and places to eat. The room was spacious and luxurious. Would recommend anytime.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2016 by Public Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed our spacious and beautiful guestrooms at our centrally located hotel. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you for another pleasant stay soon!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Classic hotel, great location

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Very nice, classy hotel that hasn't lost its appeal over the time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2016 by Public Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you kindly for your review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our classic and beautiful hotel. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you for another enjoyable stay in the near future!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hamilton, ON

Clean, friendly.

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Hotel room and lobby were clean and easily accessible. The overall appearance of the place was gorgeous, an amazing landmark in Toronto. Staff was very friendly, and always able to help.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2016 by Public Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our gorgeous and iconic hotel. It is also wonderful to hear that you experienced helpful and friendly service from our staff. We hope to welcome you again for another pleasant stay soon!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, ON

Expected more

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Polite staff, lovely common areas, bars and restaurants but small, tired room and bathroom. The bed was very comfortable but it was impossible to sleep with the paper thin walls. Disappointing over all.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2016 by Public Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you kindly for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed our polite staff and lovely food and beverage outlets. However, we are very disappointed to hear that our hotel did not meet your overall expectations. We do apologize for the noise issues you experienced and hope to have the opportunity to welcome and wow you with a flawless stay in the near future.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Found the cost of breakfast to be fairly expensive. Had the same breakfast 2 days in a row & caught the server on the 2nd day trying to charge an extra $16 for the meal by renaming it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2016 by Public Relations Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you kindly for your review. We are pleased that you had a pleasant stay but are very concerned to hear about the issues you experienced with your breakfast. We will be following up with our teams and hope to have the opportunity to welcome and wow you with a flawless stay in the near future.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rapidcity On.

Great old hotel downtown.

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Fred the doorman was very helpful with directions & parking.Pringles & coke out of bar fridge pricey.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2016 by Public Relations Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed our beautiful and historic hotel. It is also great to hear that you experienced great service from our guest services team. We hope to welcome you again soon!