Ratings based on 6,395 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sussex, nb

Nice hotel.

Posted May 18, 2017
This hotel has a lot of character, but staying in the older rooms, the bathrooms are tight and you can hear through the walls. We stayed here for a week coming from New Brunswick with no mention from staff or warning of a New Year's Eve party. We watched the fireworks and when we arrived back, there was a huge crowd and party at the hotel. They had ridiculous security by the elevators to "ensure our stay is still the best possible" by checking the ID of everyone before they were allowed to go up to their room. We waited for this to happen for over an hour. And once we got to our room, there were guests drunk and partying in the hallway (on the 13th floor, the party was in the lobby). By the time we got to our room it was around 1am, and then getting into bed and hearing everyone in the halls, probably not getting to sleep until 3am. And then needing to get up for 5am to get to Pearson airport and catch our flight. We expressed our concerns upon check out and had to sympathy or even a "sorry" from the staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

Great location for most of the downtown attraction

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: In this day and age wifi should NOT be an extra charge
Location: Perfect location for CN tower,Ripleys etc
Front desk staff were fantastic and any stahl we met were very friendly
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2017 by Broderick Horne - Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Dear , thank you for your review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at our grand location! We encourage our guests to become a part of our Fairmont President's Club as you will receive complimentary WiFi during each stay. We hope to see you again soon. Best regards, Broderick Horne - Guest Experience Manager.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Excellent hotel very central

Posted May 14, 2017
Great hotel very central being g opposite Union Station. We were upgraded to a suite with fantastic views. Lovely comfy king size bed in a very large room with seating area, dining table, tv at and fully equipped bathroom. Plenty going on in hotel, including pool, fitness room and several restaurants. Staff very friendly and knowledgeable. Highly recommended
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2017 by Broderick Horne - Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Carol, thank you for your review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at our grand location! We hope to see you again soon. Best regards, Broderick Horne - Guest Experience Manager.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 12, 2017
The entire experience was great. Old world charm.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2017 by Broderick Horne - Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for your review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at our grand location! We hope to see you again soon. Best regards, Broderick Horne - Guest Experience Manager.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: Walking distance to all of the attractions we were wanting to attend
Cons: Have in room fridges, vending machines-most of the convenience stores were closed when we arrived and could not purchase snacks.
We were able to check in early, were able to leave baggage after checking out until we needed to leave for the airport
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2017 by Broderick Horne - Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for your review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at our grand location! We hope to see you again soon. Best regards, Broderick Horne - Guest Experience Manager.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Beautiful Hotel in the heart of the city

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Pros: The rooms were great! comfortable beds , spacious room and seating.
Cons: I would have liked the use of a small fridge and ice machine.
Location: Many tourist sights all around the hotel , like the CN Tower, Union Station , St. Lawrence Market , Rogers Center, the Ferry to the Islands.
I have nothing but good things to say about the hotel and staff. They are excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 1, 2017 by Broderick Horne - Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Dear luvspring, We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at our grand location! We hope that you had a chance to visit the tourist destinations around Toronto. We are happy to offer a mini fridge upon request. We hope to see you again soon! Broderick Horne - Guest Experience Manager.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Nice for business meetings

Posted Apr 27, 2017
As an Expedia gold plus member this is the first time that I'm ever writing a complaint for a hotel that I've stayed at. I have a couple of reasons from the very first moment I entered the hotel until I left that I will share,I tipped the bell boy when I settled in the room and he didn't even say a word and looked at me as if I was forced to do so, all night water circulation in the bedroom toilet pipes kept making noise and totally we were uncomfortable during night, I had two kids which took the room service an hour at midnight to bring the second bed upstairs!, the location is aweful, and finally I asked for a 2 hour late checkout for my two small girls but unfortunately the lady in the lobby said that I had to pay 29$, which based on my payment of 474 CAD per night for me the money wasn't noticeable but they didn't even have the ethics to at least give us an additional hour of free stay and finally the recommended bar downstairs gave us an awful dinner. I'm happy that we have left the hotel!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 1, 2017 by Broderick Horne - Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Abdi, We apologize for the experience that you had during your stay. We hope to have the chance to make it a much better experience on your next stay with us. Thank you for your feedback and please know that we are following up on your concerns. Broderick Horne - Guest Experience Manager.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kingston ontario

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Elegant hotel, wonderful staff, excellent downtown location.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2017 by Broderick Horne - Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Dawn, thank you for your review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at our grand location! We hope to see you again soon. Best regards, Broderick Horne - Guest Experience Manager.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from oshawa

Terrible night sleep

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Room was clean and spacious. Staff mostly quite good. For over $300 for one night I expected more than a cursory apology for the false fire alarm that went off at 1:00 am. I suspect a system malfunction as we were told the alarms would be tested the morning after we checked in. Could have offered a small credit for the inconvenience. Would not stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2017 by Broderick Horne , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay! However, we are following up on your concerns regarding the Fire Alarm. We are working hard to fix this issue. We hope to see you again soon! Broderick Horne - Guest Experience Manager.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ottawa, ontario

Great hotel near everything downtown

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Had a great stay for 1 night. Across the street from the train station
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2017 by Broderick Horne - Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you for your review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay at our grand location! We hope to see you again soon. Best regards, Broderick Horne - Guest Experience Manager.