Ratings based on 1,226 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 27, 2017
My husband and I like this hotel for the facilities it provides (ours was one bedroom apartment suite with a stove, fridge, sink, microwave, dishes, cutlery, pots, a coffee/tea maker, etc., free internet, an indoor pool, an exercise room, a coin laundromat, an indoor parking with in and out privileges (extra cost for parking), etc.), and for its location - one block from Yonge street and one block from Bloor Street. There are two reasonable restaurants right by the hotel and many more on Yonge street. The only downside for us was the foam mattress. We prefer a coil one. However, I was told by the hotel staff that they could accommodate a request for a coil mattress.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Good value in the heart of the City.

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: Location, price, cleanliness.
Cons: A safe in the room for locking up valuables.
Location: Close to shopping on Bloor and Yonge Street, close to LGBTQ village at Church and Wellesley. Close to TTC transit.
A one-bedroom suite - including kitchen - for under $150 per night in downtown Toronto. About the only thing I thought was missing was a safe in the room for locking up valuables. Clean and comfortable enough. Maybe a 3.5 out of 5.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Great location, disappointing rooms

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: Location. Super close to the subway. Great restaurants and pubs nearby. Can walk to Yonge & Bloor in about 5 mins. Underground parking (for a fee).
Cons: Needs investment.
I'll start with the plusses: amazing location (like, reallly good), availability of underground parking, and the staff are certainly nice enough. As a hotel though, this place is disappointing. Basically this place used to be (or is still partially) an apartment building that they're converting into a hotel. The rooms kind of feel like you're staying in someone else's apartment. The first room we got was not what we had reserved, so they put us in another room that basically it looked like they had tried to "modernize" with a coat of white paint. The floors were dusty and dirty. The carpet in the hallway was covered in plastic, but no idea why. The bathroom had cracks and was in desperate need of some caulking. You get a balcony, but you can't actually access it. The appliances are oooold. Even the coffee maker was a disappointment because it only had decaf coffee.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Love the location but slightly misleading...

Posted Feb 6, 2017
I've stayed at this hotel twice now. The first time the room was amazing! It was exactly like the pictures on the website; modern, clean and comfy. Im assuming it had just been remodelled because the second time my room was a little different. The kitchen looked a bit grungy and dated, the wallpaper was peeling off and the beds had a few stains here and there. It was nothing like the beautiful room I had the first time! This trip we had 3 rooms booked and all 3 were like this...I believe the hotel is in the process of remodelling. There was plastic laid down in the hallways and one of the elevators was padded in sheets. Once the updates are done I think it'll be beautiful. But they should advertise that some of the rooms aren't exactly like the pictures due to construction.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirty dirty dirty

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Hotel does not match pictures online. Would not recommend this hotel
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Muskoka

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Pros: easily accessible
Cons: upgrades
Location: ok location but not close to many activities
Does not meet expectations as per website views. Photos were misleading as to size and layout of room i.e.: expected a separate sitting area from bedroom.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2017 by Mara | Front Office Coordinator, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for choosing the Town Inn Suites. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and for providing feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Although you found our location easily accessible, we are very sorry to know that the room you have booked did not meet your expectations. Unfortunately, the layout of our 2 bedroom junior suite was designed to have the second bed in the living area. We would like to let you know that we have a large variety of suites as we do have 2 bedroom suites with separate kitchen and living space. Should you have specific requests in the near future, please do not hesitate to contact us or let us know at the desk to cater to your personal needs accordingly. We hope you give us another chance in the future to allow us correct those mistakes and give you a wonderful time! Sincerely, Mara | Front Office Coordinator
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from timmins ontario

The pool is too cold to swim in

Posted Feb 3, 2017
The pool was freezing , other than that everything was ok
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good for the price

Posted Feb 3, 2017
We booked this hotel thinking that the balconies would be functional. The hotel has recently locked them off due to safety issues.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel staff

Posted Jan 30, 2017
The first time I visited the staff was rude to me. The second time around it was different staff but still rude customer service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 11, 2017 by Mara | Front Office Coordinator, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for choosing the Town Inn Suites. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and for providing feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are disappointed to read this feedback from you as the concerns you have noted are not at all up to our hotel’s standards, please accept our sincerest apologies. We have notified our front desk team regarding this matter and will be attended to immediately. Our team always strives to work their best to provide our guests nothing but the best. We can assure you that this significant feedback will be used to make necessary improvements. We do hope that you give us another chance to make it up to you in the future. Sincerely, Mara | Front Office Coordinator
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Very comfortable and clean room. Nice staff and convenient location.