Ratings based on 341 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
55% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Currently going through some maintenance with an upgrade.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Basic hotel with some renovations

Posted Sep 22, 2016
For the price it actually was nicer than expected. Has had some renovations recently.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to meeting

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Pros: It was close to the meeting I was attending.
Cons: Training on basic customer courtesy for their front desk staff.
Desk staff were slow, very little eye contact, not courteous and their English was poor.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 17, 2016 by Sujan Patel, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review, I have passed the information to concerned department for investigation. We welcome you back for your future stay and We will make sure you have a comfortable one.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not the greatest hotel experience

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Cons: Maintenance, customer service
Exhaust/vent in bathroom was not working and was also partially falling out from ceiling. Boards surrounding sink had paint peeling off. The ceiling near the window of our room was already missing/gone and had not been repaired, appears to have been caused by previous water damage (by looks of surrounding stains and damage in the area). We could see the boards and more of the layers peeling off. Room key kept malfunctioning - had to repeatedly ask the receptionists/staff to give us access to our own room (stayed 5 days, four nights). They also accidentally gave us access to another room which I understand was a misunderstanding but a huge security concern. First time I slept in a hotel where the material within our pillows were very hard and lumpy. Pictures of the hotel were deceiving.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 17, 2016 by Sujan Patel, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review, I have passed the information to concerned department for investigation. We welcome you back for your future stay and We will make sure you have a comfortable one.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Found bed bugs

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Found bed bugs otherwise it's close to highway and free parking. Stuffs are good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 17, 2016 by Sujan Patel, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review, I have passed the information to concerned department for investigation. We have regular pest control check up all round the year. We welcome you back for your future stay and We will make sure you have a comfortable one. Sincerely, Sujan Patel
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fine for the money

Posted Aug 29, 2016
For money fine. Paid less than 110. Wouldn't of been too happy if we paid much more
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 17, 2016 by Sujan Patel, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review, We welcome you back for your future stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ottawa

A bit disappointing.

Posted Aug 26, 2016
The hotel is going through renovations, which is fine, but the pillows were terrible and the towels were old, hard and frayed. It seemed that at least the bathroom had already been renovated, so not really what you'd expect.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 17, 2016 by Sujan Patel, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review, I have passed the information to concerned department for investigation. We have all the bedding according to standards of travelodge. We welcome you back for your future stay and We will make sure you have a comfortable one.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Basically only needed the room for a night. Overall relative to other hotels in this price range it was not up to par. The bed wasn't very comfortable at all and the rest of the facilities were dated to say the least.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 17, 2016 by Sujan Patel, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review, We have our bedding according to standards of travelodge. We welcome you back for your future stay and We will make sure you have a comfortable one.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: Bathroom was updated and clean despite being dark
Cons: More than two pillows and two towels, better smell to the room, being able to watch tv and make coffee at the same time, staff respond to requests
Location: Was a quick drive to the zoo.
The hotel was our least favourite on our vacation. As a family of four, we found the room very cramped, only one of four light bulbs installed in the bathroom making it very dark. Two towels and then found one pillow per person was not adequate. When we asks for more the staff said they would bring some and did not. The shower in the pool room was not working and our tv worked only if the coffee maker was unplugged. There was a damp smell to the room as well a dour six year old even commented that she did not like this hotel!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 17, 2016 by Sujan Patel, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review, I have passed the information to concerned department for investigation. We welcome you back for your future stay and We will make sure you have a comfortable one.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

below standard

Posted Aug 20, 2016
small, poor amenities, no food in the restaurant, undrinkable coffee and watered down juice
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 17, 2016 by Sujan Patel, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review,Travelodge Toronto East is a mid sized hotel. Also restaurant is a chain group of Shoeless Joe's. I have passed the information to concerned department for investigation. We welcome you back for your future stay and We will make sure you have a comfortable one.