Ratings based on 244 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bristol

Posted Jun 12, 2018
Just up Babbacombe Road - Very pretty looking building on approach. Its about a 10 minute walk from the harbour- although if you feeling lazy buses run up regularly just ask for the Museum. Very warm greeting, cake available in the hall and fresh milk (not UHT) in the rooms. Garden Suite - compact but charming, Bed extremely comfy, good sized Bathroom with a (V Large) freestanding Bath and separate shower. Living area which leads to patio (which can be used as your own private entrance), includes comfy Sofa. 3 Televisions in Total - 1 in each room - living room, bedroom, and bathroom (yes Bathroom). Breakfast fantastic (all local - tasty produce) and loose leaf tea. Pastries were really nice, and a really good selection on the buffet over. All sets you up for a day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, Georgia, USA

Lovely boutique Inn - highly recommend

Posted Jun 1, 2018
We so enjoyed our stay - outstanding gourmet breakfasts, clean, comfortable room & bed, good location, and incredibly outstanding hosts Peter & Helen whom we thank for making our stay so memorable. Highly recommend. Look no further than the Somerville Inn!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 4, 2018 by Peter & Helen, Hotel Management
Hi Guys Thank-you for your review ,It was a pleasure to meet you both , enjoy the rest of your trip
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly, well located, great breakfast

Posted May 25, 2018
Friendly owners, very engaging. Good local knowledge. Flexible.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Barnstaple

Five Star in every way

Posted May 24, 2018
Thank you Peter and Helen for providing us with such an excellent base from which we could sample the delights of the English Riviera. Our suite was superb and the bed so comfortable. Your breakfasts were out of this world with such a huge choice. We will return and recommend to others.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly, comfortable and hotel ideally situated.

Posted May 8, 2018
The Somerville is a quiet hotel ideally situated for everything we needed. We were made to feel extremely welcome by the friendly owners who clearly take great pride in their clean and comfortable private and public rooms. Breakfast was fantastic and enough to see us through the day and it was an enormous benefit to have good, free parking facilities as well as a strong (free) wi-fi signal. We recommend this hotel to anyone wanting good accommodation in a convenient area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lancashire

Easy access to town and all its facilities

Posted May 4, 2018
Pros: Helpful proprietor, close to all amenities ,but set away from noise.
Cons: There is no lift so anyone with disabilities may have problems.
Location: Situated close to all torquay has to offer yet away from noise.
Excellent breakfast attentive staff,and good car parking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 26, 2018
Exceptionally nice breakfast owner picked us up from the station which was much appreciated
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2018 by peter, Hotel Management
Thank-you for your comments and I`m sorry you had to leave early
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Better than hotel.

Posted Mar 12, 2018 on Hotels
Lovely welcoming B&B.great location,excellent breakfast in bright dining area.comfortable warm(cold weather) rooms.would stay again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Torquay's Best?

Posted Feb 23, 2018 on Hotels
Had a lovely night here in a very comfortable room with everything you could want in a B&B. Free cakes were a nice touch. Breakfast was good, but not outstanding although the marmalade was delicious. Good friendly hospitality and would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 19, 2018 on Hotels
Lovely break. Could not ask for more from a b&b!