Ratings based on 552 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

STAY AWAY FROM HERE

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Pros: NOTHING. Ended up leaving and staying somewhere else.
Cons: EVERYTHING
When arrived to the desk was told there are no rooms available (Even though I had a reservation). Was sent to another extended stay hotel only for them to tell me that their computers are down and can't check in anyone for an hour. Stray cats running around. Very rude guest service. Would not recommend anyone with their right mind to stay here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2017 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
We want every guest to have a comfortable stay and I am truly sorry we fell short in making that happen for you. We can understand your disappointment regarding your reservation, and we're sorry for the inconvenience you encountered. We provide thorough training to our front desk associates, and we will redouble our efforts. We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future. Sincerely, Hotel Management
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati

room smells

Posted Sep 17, 2017
The room has a bad smell and no hair dryer in the room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Alperen, please accept my apologies for the experience you shared in your feedback. I am disappointed to know that you felt your accommodations were not clean. We take pride in providing a clean, fresh environment for our guest and I am sorry we overlooked something during your stay. I will discuss your feedback with my staff to ensure this does not occur in the future. We hope you will give us another chance the next time your travels bring you back our way. Sincerely, General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gardena

Nasty

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Roaches! 3 Roaches! I checked in 11pm and checked out by 9am. Nasty. I don't recommend it to no one.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Tray, we sincerely apologize for the situation you described. You are absolutely correct to expect a comfortable, clean and bug free environment when staying with us. Although we treat regularly, to uphold our company's high standards, we have contacted our pest control provider to address the issue as quickly as possible. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We work hard to make our guests happy, and we obviously failed in this case. Hopefully you will consider us as your hotel of choice if you are in the area again. Sincerely, General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 13, 2017
BEWARE! This is one of those hotels that hosts vagrants
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
On behalf of our entire team, we would like to offer our sincere apologies for not living up to your expectations. Although we make every effort to be perfect, sometimes we fall short. Please consider giving us a second chance in the future, so we can provide you with the superior hospitality you should always expect from us. Sincerely, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minocqua, WI

Hotel is close to the event that we were attended

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: Parking lot.
Cons: Need the ice machine, coffee maker and etc.
Location: Plenty of fast food restaurants and of course WalMart.
Nothing to compliment or complain about this hotel. Just a mistake of booking.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We apologize our hotel and amenities were not to your expectations. Our hotel is designed for guests staying a week or more at a time, who prefer a homelike living experience. So we certainly understand why you may have found our amenities a bit different than traditional hotels. Please know, we do not have ice machines on our property as we have fully equipped kitchens with full-size refrigerator/freezer which includes ice trays for your convenience. Kitchenware for your suite is available and kept at the front desk to ensure cleanliness. Thanks again for your feedback, and we hope to welcome you back soon. Sincerely, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fleas

Posted Sep 11, 2017
The hotel room we stayed at have fleas all over. Me and my husband had flea bites on our legs and arms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry we failed to provide you the clean and comfortable suite you expected when you selected our hotel for your lodging needs. What you encountered should not have happened as we have regular treatments from a professional service to ward off the type of unwanted visitors you mentioned. We have scheduled additional treatments so our goal of providing clean and comfortable suites can be achieved and to prevent this from happening again. We are confident your experience will exceed the high standards you have come to expect from our brand the next time you stay with us. Sincerely, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Pros: Quiet
Cons: Nothing
Location: Easy access, stores and restaurants
Convenient, quiet, easy access, excellent employees
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
On behalf of our team at Extended Stay America, thanks for the excellent review! We are pleased to read our location was ideal for your needs and that our associates thoroughly impressed you with their outstanding service. Your feedback is much appreciated, and we cannot wait to host you again in the future. Sincerely, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Very Nice!

Posted Aug 30, 2017
It was very quiet. I enjoyed my stay. I liked how the place was in the cut so you didn't hear a high traffic of cars eventhough the freeway was about a block away. Could have use a better & faster shower head though lol. Staff was very nice. I will definitely be coming back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience with us! It’s a pleasure knowing you loved the excellent service we offered and had a great time being with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon at Extended Stay America. Sincerely, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san jose ca

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Water in shower tub would not go down drain quickly could be cleaner
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by General Manager  , Hotel Management
Alma, thank you for your candid feedback. I apologize for the maintenance issues that you encountered. We have processes in place to make sure that every room is exceptionally clean. I am working with our team to make sure we correct our shortcomings. I encourage you to try us again in the near future. I am confident you will enjoy a better stay. Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Posted Aug 23, 2017
It was not bad. Easy to find out. Generally it is clean and has spacious but hotel facilities are not good. Staying several days will be ok but no more than a week. That's my experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Michael, thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel. We are pleased to know you enjoyed your overall visit and were impressed with the cleanliness of your room. However, I am sorry if any inconvenience was caused while you were here and regret the inconvenience it caused. We appreciate your business and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon! Sincerely, General Manager